We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, great staff, great location, great price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Los Volcanes B&B
Ranked #2 of 65 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here for a night on each end of our vacation in Costa Rica. You can't beat the proximity to the airport. The hotel is very cozy and cute. On our first night, there was a confusion with our bed situation. We needed one room with 2 beds, and one room with 1 bed. We were given two rooms with only 1 bed. At first we were quite frustrated since I had email confirmations of the requests. However Eduardo was terrific and went above and beyond that late night. He was able to locate us an extra twin size mattress that we were able to put on the floor. Perfect solution since the hotel was completely booked. One of our rooms was at the front of the hotel, very near a busy street, and was very noisy. But, that is to be expected. We got there late, and the hotel is located in the city.

Our last night we were able to request rooms #7 & #8. GREAT rooms! They shared a small little alcove and were located in the back of the complex so it was very quiet. They were also right next to the garden sitting area and fountain. Great to be able to sit out and relax with a book before heading to bed for the night.

Great breakfast (included) by the way!

I can't say enough about Eduardo! He was at the desk for both of our stays. He was extremely friendly and helpful. A definite joy to deal with!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back. The rooms near the front can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjboatright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 369 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hotel los Volcanes continues to be an excellent stop-over choice for travellers transiting through San Jose. Since our last visit in 2009, the rooms have been upgraded (most notably with a modern hot-water system in the shower to replace the older "switch on the shower head" devices that gave North American travellers nightmares. Rooms are comfortable, if a bit small, but dimly-lit. If you read in bed, bring a clip-on reading light. Free breakfast in the morning is very nice. The patio seating area is not big enough to serve all hotel guests at once so be strategic if you want to eat and then catch a bus or a flight. Free Internet access and WiFi make checking your reservations easy. The staff are friendly and helpful. Although you have to reserve using a credit card, you will be asked to pay your bill with cash - US Dollars or Colones. ATM's are not necessarily open 24 hours in Alajuela, so make sure you have cash on hand if you have an early-morning departure. You can get an accurate map at the front desk that shows you where the nearest restaurants and ATM's are located. The Hotel does not serve any meals other than breakfast. We ate at Jalapeno's (see my review on Trip Advisor) and it was the perfect place for us - a family with a 6-year-old. Nearby attrations include the cathederal, which has a very beautiful interior and is worth a visit. The Hotel still offers a free taxi ride to San Jose Airport. Make sure you tell the desk man what time you are travelling and what time you want a cab. He will order the cab for you, and give you a small cardboard tag to hand to the cab driver. This will only be accepted by the cab that is actually called to get you, so don't try to hail your own cab.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street. Rooms that are off the courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WJP89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife, daughter and I actually stayed twice during our recent trip to Costa Rica -- our first night and our last night. Hotel Los Volcanes is located conveniently close to the airport. We had a rental car (and there's an affordable and secure 24-hour parking lot around the block), but I understand the taxi ride from the airport is very affordable if you don't.

Our first stay, we had a simple but clean, comfortable and functional room with a view of the hotel's courtyard, and the sound of the running fountain was a great way to wind down from the long day of air travel, rental car hassles, etc. The hotel is just a block or two from lots of conveniences -- restaurants (including a wonderful vegan/vegetarian restaurant, El Chante Vegano), the ICE/Kolbi office (great if the SIM card you bought at the airport wasn't set up correctly), grocery stores, bakeries, ATMs -- really, almost everything you might need is close at hand.

Breakfast was fine -- perhaps not the best we had in Costa Rica, but nothing to complain about (except that you might need to wait for a place to sit, depending on timing). Though tea bags and cups were available by the coffee urn, we had to wait for someone to bring hot water to our table; there was none available for self-service.

Our last night in Costa Rica we stayed there again. This time (maybe because we hadn't booked this stay much in advance), we had a room in the adjacent building, which perhaps used to be the carriage house or garage. It was again a decent room, but somewhat noisier, being much closer to the street.

There's a computer in a lounge area across from the desk that is accessible to guests until (I think) 10pm. The desk clerk allowed us to print our boarding passes from there, using the office printer. There's also a small lending library in the same lounge area if you need some reading material.

The price for three of us staying, including breakfast, was under $80 each time. (Not counting parking.) I think this was an excellent value.

One warning -- make certain that, if you pay at check-in, it's noted on the register sheet maintained at the desk or that you get a receipt. If you pay cash, make doubly certain! I need to stress that we didn't have a problem with this at Hotel Los Volcanes; the desk staff was uniformly excellent. But at another hotel on our trip, our departure was delayed by nearly an hour because the desk couldn't find any record that we'd paid, and insisted that we pay again -- even though their stated policy was that we *had* to have paid at time of check-in or we couldn't have had a room.

Room Tip: If you can, get one of the two (or three?) rooms at the rear of the courtyard, rather than one in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

A very loud hotel. As the hotel is on a main street in Alajuela, racing cars, loud buses and screaming motorcycles kept us up all night. We originally booked a night at the beginning and end of our vacation, but the noise forced us to get a different hotel for our last night in Costa Rica. I contacted the hotel 7 days before the date of our 2nd stay to cancel the reservation and get a refund for the one night, but the management refused to refund our money. Overall, not worth the money. There are several hotels of equal caliber in Alajuela, but Hotel Los Volcanes is by far one of the most expensive options. The breakfast was adequate, but don't order an omelette unless you like burned eggs. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thesprinklerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sal67, Manager at Hotel Los Volcanes B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thanks for taking your time to post a review . I would have been nice if you actually would say what really happens.

You had a reservation and try to cancel arguing a sudden return cause of a family death , unfortunately not on the seven days our cancellation policy requires.

Next step after knowing you were not on time and that the refund was not possible,you threat us you were going to post bad reviews , letting other travelers know our cancellation policy .

It is important to mentioned our cancellation policy are clearly written on our invoices.

You had no response from us , because we do not respond to threats.

It is too bad you simulate a family death and invented a review without ever staying at our hotel , just because we validate our cancellation policies same way as we validate our hotel reservations.

Thank again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Like others have said; clean, conveniently located close the San Jose Airport (5-10 minutes depending on traffic), staff were very nice, the room and bed were comfortable and we felt perfectly safe there. It was a bit loud at night from the traffic outside, but every traveler should carry ear plugs for these fairly common noisy situations. We were given directions to a Mexican restaurant 2 blocks away on foot called "Jalapenos Central". If you like good Mexican food you should eat there.
The no charge cab ride to the airport makes this stay a good value for your money. We didn't get a chance to have their included breakfast as we had an early morning flight. We would definitely stay here again if we needed to spend a night near the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Staff is cordial, friendly and knowledgable. Beautiful outdoor breakfast patio in garden like setting. Upon arrival we were checked into our rooms, changed and ready for bed less than one hour from arrival into San Jose airport.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

stayed here the last night in costa rica, the hotel has a really cool feel since its a converted old mansion (tall ceilings, outdoor garden). No A/C but you dont really need it with the overhead fan, cool temperature outside

pro
free 10 min ride to the airport
wifi and also desktop computer to use
close to restaurants (highly recommend the taco place a few blocks away)

con
bed was not very comfortable (though none really are in costa rica)
a few ants in the bathroom, we had a private bathroom (though were also ants in bathrooms in other hotels we stayed in)
doors are not very solid so you hear outside your door (luckily there werent other people around our room so it was not a problem

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
691 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
137 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
3 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
707 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#15 of 27 in Alajuela
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Volcanes B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Volcanes B&B

Address: Streets 2nd & Central Avenue 3rd | Behind the Alajuela Museum, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: $35 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former mansion converted into a nice little hotel just five minutes from the international Juan Sta Maria airport in San Jose Costa Rica. Convenient location in Alajuela city, includes free taxi from the hotel to the airport, full breakfast, free wireless and access to internet, friendly atmosphere Costarican management. Nice tropical decoration with beautiful gardens, a true oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Volcanes Alajuela
Hotel Los Volcanes Bed And Breakfast
Hotel Los Volcanes B&B Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing