We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to SJO”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Los Volcanes B&B
Ranked #2 of 58 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Convenient to SJO”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I selected this hotel for its price and location. We were arriving late and needed a safe, clean but modest place to rest before our 5:50 am pickup. The hotel served that purpose.

The young man who greeted us got his job done but displayed no warmth or smile. I thought it was because of the late hour but he was even more aloof in the morning. We left too early for breakfast and learned we couldn't even get coffee, which was understandable but disappointing.

The room was adequate size but very tiny bathroom with no water cup. The high wooden ceiling was gorgeous and reflective of the elegant construction of times past.

Our room was in front so we couldn't avoid hallway or outdoor noise.

Overall, it was okay for a brief stay but a bit pricey by local comparative standards.

Room Tip: Ask for rear, more quiet location if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    129
    33
    9
    13
See reviews for
62
146
51
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Charming, quaint, convenient. This small hotel is conveniently located in downtown Alajuela, a few minutes from the airport. It is an historic building converted tastefully, with helpful English-speaking staff. They serve a delicious breakfast to order, and a free ride to the airport is included in the very reasonable price. Nearby are a good restaurant (Monteleones), a pizza joint, and a little further away, fast food. Very pleasant and comfortable.

Room Tip: Be prepared to pay in cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We travel from Australia to CR every year (when possible). We stay at Hotel Los Volcanes upon arrival (two nights) and before we fly out (two nights).
Don't stay just one night ... this whole area deserves more ...
There are great restaurants, bars and cafes within EASY walking distance from the B&B.
The rooms are spotless, you have a room safe and brekky is served in a very Costa Rican garden.
The cabs at the airport know the place ... and it is close the the markets and beautiful church.
(not that it matters ... BUT ... the hairdresser a few doors up is FABULOUS! George!)

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back ... quieter ... but all rooms are individual and lovely x
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very reasonable price for what you get. The location is great, very close to restaurants and shops yet only 15 minutes taxi ride to the airport. The hotel was friendly and very clean. Breakfast included and you are served in a quiet courtyard with a choice of freshly made breakfast dishes.

Helpful staff. Free transfer to the airport (although they do not pick up).

What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: The superior rooms are just a little more expensive and worth paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyloo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel the night before our departure from Costa Rica. We had a wonderful experience everywhere we went. When we arrived later in the night, some in our group were worried about the location of this hotel. Don't worry at all. It is very well done inside, and a lot bigger than it looks. Jose was very nice and we enjoyed our short stay. He arranged for the shuttle to get us to the airport early the next morning. It was seriously only 3 minutes to the airport. We did not have air conditioning in our room, but we did have a fan. We did not need AC though, so that was not an issue. This was very convenient and easy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a geat place to begin or end your trip in Costa Rica. In a clean and safe part of Alajuela, the place is comfortable, cozy and friendly. The staff was very helpful, the breakfast was great. Would return!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank floyd t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Or
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Like many reviewers we stayed one night before taking an early flight out of SJO. Our experience was mixed. It was comfortable and clean. Staff was helpful. Our room AC didn't work and it was a pretty warm night so that was unfortunate - and apparently there was no other place to move us to. We had a room in the back of the property - that area looked like an add on to the original building. I don't agree with some reviewers that is is old world charming. While it wasn't completely shabby - it felt just old and used. Our room and bathroom were small and simple. But it was inexpensive and for a one night sleepover it was fine - but I can't rate this as a 5 or 4 star experience. It was just average. The clerk provided some recommendations for restaurants nearby which was helpful - we wound up eating at a Mexican restaurant which was OK.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiddle_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.1 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#13 of 27 in Alajuela
104 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
2.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Volcanes B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Volcanes B&B

Property: Hotel Los Volcanes B&B
Address: Streets 2nd & Central Avenue 3rd | Behind the Alajuela Museum, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former mansion converted into a nice little hotel just five minutes from the international Juan Sta Maria airport in San Jose Costa Rica. Convenient location in Alajuela city, includes free taxi from the hotel to the airport, full breakfast, free wireless and access to internet, friendly atmosphere Costarican management. Nice tropical decoration with beautiful gardens, a true oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Volcanes Alajuela
Hotel Los Volcanes Bed And Breakfast
Hotel Los Volcanes B&B Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing