We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Los Volcanes B&B
Nearby Hotels
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
$61
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveler rating
184
135
35
9
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
135
35
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree taxi to the airportsan josecosta ricacentral parklast nightnoise from the streetdelicious breakfastsuperior roomceiling fantown squareshared bathroomfruit smoothiesclean roomsfelt very safenext morningsmall hotelhome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 376 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2008

This is the perfect hotel to stay at to get to the airport on time! Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel one of the cleanest I stayed in in all of Costa Rica. Breakfast delicious and filling. Hotel close to airport, taxi service free of charge. Also close to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bre9581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

This is our third time to stay at this place. Clean, friendly, helpful.
It is only two blocks from the square and only 5 minutes from the airport. They pay for your cab from or to the airport. One or the other.
We find it convenient to stay there if you have no need to go into San Jose. They are also partnered with Mntezuma Expeditons for which you can get hotel stay AND transport ot the Nicoya Peninsula or they even have a coast to coast deal.
Breakfast is included in the hotel stay, but if you have a flight that leaves early you will probably not get anything. Breakfast time is 0700. Our flight was at 0730 and being at the airport two hours early we missed even coffee, which would have been nice.
There is free internet access.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2007

I booked the the hotel/shuttle to Montezuma pakage for our yoga retreat and we were so pleased. The rooms are clean, spacious and beautiful. The main building has high ceilings and hardwood/tile fools. The attached rooms have queen beds, good sized bathrooms and white tile throughout. The common room has free internet and a great place to chat. The patio where they serve breakfast is wonderful and the food (we had breakfast which was included) was great. Not only were they wonderful in the beginning of our trip but 6 group members were delayed 5 days because of a snow storm back in the States and they arranged for them to stay the night again and then helped them find accomadations for the remainder of their stay. The only thing I will mention to those of you who are not used to traveling in Costa Rica is that their hot water in the showers is electric and not very realible in some rooms. However, it is in the 80s and humid and this was a non-issue for our group. We will definitely stay here again for our next retreat in 2008.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank yogasurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2007

Hotel Los Volcanes in Alajuela, Costa Rica is a good place to overnight when transiting through San Jose International Airport. It is centrally located near the City Square and Cathederal in Alajuela, and is probably a good "home base" for anyone interested in a few days in that city. We stayed there at the start and end of our trip to Costa Rica.

The hotel covers the cost of your taxi to and from the airport - a nice touch.

The rooms are small and a bit dark - at least the ones we had - but they are comfortable and well-appointed. The showers claim to have hot water, but it is of the Central American variety - there is a small heater attached to the shower head. You may need the staff to tell you how this works. There was no AC in the room we used, but there was a good overhead fan. The rooms have a phone and a television set.

Street noise is a bit intrusive, but it didn't stop us from getting a good sleep.

Breakfast is included, and is very good. You will be ordering from a small menu - it is not buffet. The little courtyard where breakfast is served is very pleasant.

The Hotel has free Internet and a small library of books. The young man who was running everything when we visited is patient, polite, and very helpful - but a bit overworked ! Don't expect him to jump to your needs immediately - he will probably be checking one customer in as he checks another out while talking on the phone AND trying to eat his lunch. He will get to you - but give him time.

There are washers and dryers, but the signs say "laundry mats for hotel use only. If you need this service please ask staff." I imagine you could get your clothes washed and dried if you need this done.

All in all, a very nice little place.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WJP89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2006

Our entire extended family booked this hotel when my son was married in Costa Rica over Thanksgiving, 2006. The hotel is clean, very secure and comfortable. Coffee is usually ready by about 6 a.m. for early risers, and breakfast is prepared and served to order. Prices are reasonable, and everything was as it had been promised. The hotel works with Montezuma Expeditions and were able to arrange several day trips for wedding guests.
The hotel is only a few minutes from the airport, and is near the center of Alajuela, a safe and walkable town.
I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank claire1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews