We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vina Romantica
Nearby Hotels
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Rosa de America(Alajuela)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Robledal(Alajuela)
$84
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
37
19
2
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
19
2
7
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 67 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This small bed and breakfast was beautiful and a great way to end our trip in Costa Rica. The rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfortable! If you have a chance to have the cook make you dinner, it is a little pricey, but the fettuccine was outstanding! I highly recommend Vina Romantica!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank accyq9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Very conveniently situated. Rooms a bit of the small size but clean and comfortable. We arrived late in the night and we were welcomed with excellent cocktails and a wonderful tropical fruit salad served in a lovely little terrace. The whole B&B has a very local cozy feeling to it, that is a perfect intorduction to Costa Rica. Owner very nice and proactive guy
Excellent value for money too

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaestroAndMargherita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed here for two nights before heading to the coast. This was one of our top two favorite places to stay. Tim & Sherry were fabulous as were the rooms. I can't say enough about how lovely our stay was. We were greeted with welcome drinks after a rough drive to Alajuela which immediately helped us relax.

The rooms were beautiful and we had a great view of the garden and volcano. If you have cocktails on the small balcony in the garden, you will likely see some hummingbirds whizzing through.

Sherry creates a spectacular breakfast which is always delicious and unique. We had french toast one day with chocolate and nuts, and fresh tropical fruit.

We had dinner one night at the B&B and another at a local spot called La Luna. Both meals were fantastic. We went to Poas Volcano as well as the Doka Estate Coffee farm. The waterfall gardens were closed due to the earthquake but Poas is beautiful, be sure to get there early.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meshelle_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed with Tim & Sherry in February at the front & back end of our two week Costa Rican vacation. The hotel is comfortable and clean. We very much enjoyed starting our day each morning on the outdoor patio area where we were welcomed by a delisciously prepared breakfast served with local coffee.

Pros - close to the airport and to the Poas volcano. We very highly recommend taking the coffee plantation tour at Doka Coffee Estate. This tour was one our favorite parts of our entire two week trip. Nice way to kill a few hours before taking a shuttle or flight elsewhere.
Cons - the hotel is in a very noisey neighborhood (barking dogs, loud motorbikes, etc - mostly just typical urban noise) Also, if you choose to schedule a dinner with the B&B we would recommend not eating there more than once. The menu felt a bit over-priced given the entree selections served. There are other local dining options - be sure to ask or research before arriving.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank we_bHiKe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We spent our last night in Costa Rica before our flight the next day. From the outside I thought I had made a mistake, it looked small from the outside. But once you walk in you realize you are in a little paradise. Tim and Sherry were awesome. We arrived on Good Friday and hadn't eaten all day. No restaurants were open and Vina's cook had the night off. Within minutes Sherry and Tim had set up little ho'rderves and a mango cocktail. It was lovely. The next morning was stunning. The views of the area were amazing, Sherry brought us coffee on the terrace and then served a beautiful breakfast of banana pancakes, sausage, fruit, juice and coffee. We didn't have to head out to the airport until 11 and we had the place to ourselves. We lid in the hammock, read, the internet is available for use, it was quite a lovely time. This is the perfect spot for a beginning or end of the trip!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennygirlmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews