We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly welcome”
Review of Vina Romantica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vina Romantica
Ranked #42 of 63 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 13, 2008

After a 17 hour flight / travel we were exhausted but as soon as we got to Vina Romantica all that disappeared. Such a friendly welcome, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel like we had come to visit old friends. The owners really know how to make your stay a pleasant one. The restaurant is exceptional, and you will struggle to find food better anywhere in Costa Rica. Even if you decide not to stay at Vina Romantica, you would be a fool not to eat here.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank 6363nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 67 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the vina romantica on the last day of our trip before flying out from sjo the next morning. The rooms of this small B&B were nicely appointed and very comfortable. They also offered wonderful views of the surrounding mountain ranges and Doka coffee estate. We were greeted with some excellent cocktails which we enjoyed on the patio overlooking Doka. The dinner at the restaurant was outstanding. Tim drove us over to Doka the next morning for the coffee tour and actually hung out with us during the tour and drove us out to the airport for our departure all at a much more reasonable rate than a taxi would have offered us. We very much enjoyed sitting around together with the owners of the restaurant and hotel and chatting about their experiences in Costa Rica and beyond. I would definitely book a stay with them again upon return to San Jose.

Pura Vida,

Matt and Jodi Huggins
Brevard NC

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank yetimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2007

Vina Romantica was the first place my wife and I stayed while on our honeymoon. We wanted something close to the airport that was quiet and relaxing while we acclimated after our trip. Little did we know of the level of hospitality that we were to receive. We were greeted with 'welcome drinks' and woke up to fresh coffee and tea on the deck just outside of our room.

Our room overlooked coffee fields of the central valley and their cozy backyard. The bed was very comfortable, the shower hot and with good water pressure.

What separated Vina Romantica from other B&B's was not only the hospitality but the FOOD. Sarah's cooking was EXCEPTIONAL. She used only fresh, local ingredients that she personally chose. Two other guests, who happened to also be hotel/restaurant owners had commented to us that "you won't find food like this in any other B&B". They were absolutely right....though we ate well in Costa Rica, we often wished that 'Sarah was here' to make us dinner!

Sherry, Tim and Steve were not only warm and informative but also a lot of fun. We felt so comfortable that it was truly like hanging out with old friends.

We can't wait to get back to Costa Rica for Costa Rica itself, but also to see our 'new old friends' Sherry, Tim, Sarah and Steve.

Thanks for making our honeymoon as great as it was.

John and Steph.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank acutherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2007

Tim, Sherry, Sarah and Steve treated us like family! We were instantly comfortable when we arrived! The "Hello/Goodbye" package is amazing - to say the least! Drinks on the balcony over looking the Central Valley, watching falling stars at night, cuisine that tantalizes your eyes and your taste buds (Go Sarah!), the hospitality, full body massages and pedicures... in Costa Rica... I think it's pretty darn close to Paradise! First rate in our book! Thanks for everything Vina Romantica!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mishieru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

Turbo Tim and Sherry really know how to kick off a visit to Costa Rica. We started out at their quaint little bouquet B&B and found it very comfortable and down right homey. These folks were very personable and eager to please by doing whatever it takes. They have a nice little dining room that serves up some really delish plates compliments of Sarah and her husband Steve. After dinner and one of Sarahs great dessert dishes, sit back and relax and enjoy a good cigar and shot of scotch or wine (this is where Steve comes in), while Turbo Tim tells you all about his adventures in Costa Rica. There isn't much this guy hasn't seen or done here. The perpetual spring weather there made for a really great stay and nice camaraderie as we sat around and told about our ventures abroad! Everyone that I met there had this look of total satisfaction on their faces as we shared our adventures with one another. I highly recommend this place as a great starting point and a place to finish up after exploring Costa Rica..(the airport is 15 minutes away). We are looking forward to our next visit and hopefully will be able to see our new found friends at the B&B when we do return. Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank captkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Cute, clean, quiet, comfortable beds, safe, great views, friendly owners, delicious fresh food, reliable transportation with quick and easy access to/from airport - everything we wanted and needed at the beginning and end of our trip! These owners just started about 3 months ago and are doing a great job!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jabonkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

My boyfriend and I spent over 2 months in Costa Rica and Vina Romantica was the best place we stayed by far! We were amazed at how the owners made us feel so comfortable by offering beverages and simply taking the time to ask how we are doing! The food is amazing and the rooms are really cozy! It was a perfect escape and halfway point in our trip! I am planning a trip for my parents and this hotel will be where they spend their first and last night! I know they will love it as much as me!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelinggirl011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0 mi away
Vida Tropical B and B
Vida Tropical B and B
#7 of 63 in Alajuela
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pacande
Hotel Pacande
#2 of 63 in Alajuela
190 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
700 reviews
2.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
890 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vina Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vina Romantica

Address: Metres Sur de Hotel Buena Vista 50 | Las Pilas de San Isidro, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: $54 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vina Romantica 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vina Romantica is located just 5 kilometers from the International Airport. We are located in a tiny rural village at an altitude of 4200 feet. It is tranquil and the views of the volcanoes are magnificient. We are on the road to many of the tourist attractions that can be seen in one day. There are many very good restaurants in the area. You can relax and enjoy the true Costa Rican life style while staying at Vina Romantica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Vina Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vina Romantica Alajuela
Vina Romantica Hotel Alajuela
Vina Romantica Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing