We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh and Healthy food created with REAL PASSION !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Chante Vegano

El Chante Vegano
Ranked #2 of 177 Restaurants in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: El Chante Vegan is located in the heart of the city on Avenida 5 near the Post Office. Secured parking is available across from or next to the restaurant. The hours are 12:00 a.m. to 08:00 p.m. Tues. –Sat; noon to 4:00 p.m. Sundays.
Queens Village, New York
1 review
“Fresh and Healthy food created with REAL PASSION !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

This place is an oasis for vegetarians and vegans. Fresh Made Delicious Juices. Homemade Fresh Buns, straight from the oven to your plate. Young Owners aka Educated Chefs aka Servants - they really make you feel welcomed at their restaurant and the food is AMAZING! Very impressed and HIGHLY recommended !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MITHIKBLOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    25
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Vegan restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We are vegetarian and we found this restaurant on trip advisor and gave it a try. The menu was decent and the dishes (tomato soup, Garbanzo patty burger, burrito, smoothies) were delicious.
This place opened recently and thus they were not set-up to accept credit cards (as of April 2, 2014) and we had to pay by cash only. Most of the ingredients were organic and even the burger buns were house made. Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ram k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Traveling with a group of 4 that are all vegetarians and this was a great find for lunch. Very fresh ingredients (I think one of the people there actually ran out to the store to pick up an ingredient for our order) and great food, def recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Paolo and Glenda are great chefs and their food is out of this World!!! We were recommended by
another neighboring Restaurant went we wanted a more organic vegetarian fare. We ordered the
to start the Onion rings which were accompanied by this Chante special sauce the was very delicious, The we had the garbanzo burger with house potatoes and potabello mushroom burger. Both were stupendous. These young owners are very charming and we were delighted that they took time to talk to their clients. I highly recommend. I am just sorry that time was not there as we promised to come back for dessert!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Soarizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Burrito!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I'm not a tofu loving vegan. My tastes are not esoteric. I like real, everyday ingredients that don't involve animal death or exploitation. I'm always fearful of the weird when approaching vegan restaurants, but this place was wonderful. We ate here twice, our first day in Costa Rica and than again just before we flew off. It has a lovely atmosphere with indoor/outdoor seating. Staff were friendly and helpful and the menu was not at all "out there". I absolutely loved my burrito. I tried several smoothies (thanks to my companions) and loved them all - even the one that had kale in it. Okay, that was a little weird, but I couldn't taste it. It was fun to see the variety of patrons - young, old, couples, families. Pricing was good. Can't see why anyone wouldn't love this restaurant!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank koolyaidkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chante Vegano also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to El Chante Vegano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing