We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect rest stop when travelling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brilla Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Brilla Sol
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect rest stop when travelling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here one night before and one night after Costa Rica tour. Rooms are clean and TV has lots of channels. The restaurant is well priced (8$ mains) and the food is fresh and good. The hotel will take care of all transports you need also in minutes notice. The location is near airport and feels safe behind a gate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olli-Pekka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    106
    36
    18
    16
See reviews for
53
86
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our cab driver recommended this place and we were very pleased. The place is very nice, close to the airport and has nice grounds. What we want to share is the great staff. Just as we arrived at the hotel from another part of the country, my wife fell quite ill with 'traveler's sickness'. The staff was so very helpful and caring in helping us get her to a clinic and offering food and drink if she needed it. Then, to top it off, the hotel's shuttle driver went way above and beyond by detouring to a couple of farmacias for us as we needed to find someone to administer an antibiotic shot that my wife needed before we went to the airport. We will always stay at this place when coming in and out of Costa Rica from now on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foliageutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family and I stayed at Hotel Brilla Sol in June the night before heading back to the U.S., and we found it to be very charming, secure and comfortable. The restaurant served us a delicious, custom-made meal. The shuttle to the airport was reliable and quick. I recommend this place on your way into or out of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
172 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here several years ago and returned on this last visit. It's about 5 minutes from the airport by free shuttle, so traffic jams aren't a problem. It has a lovely garden and pool area to relax by if you have a later flight. The breakfast (included) offers eggs, plantains, cereals, bread, fruits and beverages. The rooms are large with large washrooms (in the centre building). The water pressure in the shower was not strong. There are ceiling fans and screen doors but no air conditioning. Wilfredo is a happy go lucky guy and very pleasant. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 45-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We returned recently from our ninth trip to Costa Rica. For most of these trips we have stayed at BrillaSol on our arrival and our day before departure days. We have always found it to be a pleasant place to stay for a night. The people are helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean and adequate, the food is simple, home-cooked fare. We enjoy the pool and garden area, and there is internet access now too. Our arrival day/night worked out fine as usual on this trip, but when we returned about ten days later, we were told that there was a problem with our room...they had given it someone else because they had a large group of students and the place was full. They did not try to contact us ahead of time to let us know. We were told that we would get a discount. We were given a very small, dark room off the reception area with two twin beds. The ceiling was only a little higher than my husband's head. One wall was glass, covered with a see-through curtain, which looked out onto the common computer and T.V. room. There was a T.V. in the room which didn't have cable, only rabbit ears that didn't work. We had use of a very tiny bathroom across the hall. Needless to say, we only stayed in our room to sleep, though this was hard at first because three of the staff were watching the very loud T.V. right outside the glass wall and were also talking loudly. They might as well have been in the room. I felt claustrophobic and was trying not to have a panic attack. Even though the owner apologized and they took $15 off our room rate, I have to say that I hesitate to go back. I can't guarantee that it won't happen again and i really do not want to have the situation repeated. I don't think it's right to give pre-booked rooms away and then not contact you. I think we should be given a guarantee that they won't do it again...and i think we should be given a free night on top of that. I feel badly about this because we enjoyed going to BrillaSol so many times. I felt it was worth letting people know.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank osalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Va, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

What a great bunch of folks at Brill Sol. Friendly, clean rooms and great food. I just visited again in March 2013 and this was my second visit. I can't say enough about the pleasant atmosphere and great food. I hope one day they will finish their pool area and get it ship shape, but otherwise this is a great place for a day or two on your way to or from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 19William19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sask
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We booked rooms for our arrival and departure at the brillasol back in early fall, the good things are on arrival there was a shuttle to pick us up on time, the rooms were clean and the staff was helpful. On our departure we arrived to find out they oversold rooms to a large group and we then had the option of a cabin with just a bed or a back room next to the kitchen which had a shower and tv at least. We are not fussy people and the price we paid was not overpriced for he discounted the room because of there mistake which was all right and the fact we were leaving early next day we could live with the mistake. We would probably book with them again because of location and price as they did try to help make things better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#7 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
3.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#13 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
0.9 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#8 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brilla Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brilla Sol

Property: Hotel Brilla Sol
Address: El Roble de Alajuela, Alajuela 17274050, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Brilla Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Brilla Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brilla Sol Hotel
Hotel Brilla Sol Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing