We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“just ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Brilla Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Brilla Sol
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
sask
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We booked rooms for our arrival and departure at the brillasol back in early fall, the good things are on arrival there was a shuttle to pick us up on time, the rooms were clean and the staff was helpful. On our departure we arrived to find out they oversold rooms to a large group and we then had the option of a cabin with just a bed or a back room next to the kitchen which had a shower and tv at least. We are not fussy people and the price we paid was not overpriced for he discounted the room because of there mistake which was all right and the fact we were leaving early next day we could live with the mistake. We would probably book with them again because of location and price as they did try to help make things better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    110
    37
    18
    17
See reviews for
55
94
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The day before I was due to arrive in San Jose, I received an email from Brilla Sol that the room I reserved was no longer available. They had a very large university group come in as a class and I suspect my room was given to them. They offered me a "cabina" instead, saying it had no A/C or TV. Since I was only looking for a good night's rest before 24 hours of travel, I said I did not care about those things.

Well.... the cabinas have only screens for windows so my whole family heard every rooster, every dog, every airplane, and the university class talked and laughed in groups until midnight a mere 20 feet from my bed. The worst part was that it was windy and the wood shutters banged against the wall all night long. It sounded like fifty wooden spoons pounding on all the walls at once. Needless to say, none of us slept at all.

We had to walk into the office to use the bathroom, which was open at midnight and at 5:30 a.m., but locked at 3 a.m., creating an uncomfortable situation.

I did not get to try the breakfast because we left at 6 a.m., but the dinner the night before was very good. The shuttle was prompt, the pool was too cold to enjoy and dirty. The grounds were beautiful, with lots of fruit trees. Next time I will stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building may be fine, but I would not recommend the cabinas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaublue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Afordable, dependable, comfy hotel near airport. We've been 4 times to Costa Rica throught San Jose airport and always stayed there. In fact, we were there 3 times before and this time didn't need a hotel near the airport since our flight was so early; we could reach our final destination in one day (Manuel Antonio). But because of bad weather, our flight was very late and we would reach the capital at midnight with no reservation. I emailed them from our transit airport and without proper reservation or credit card info, they were at the airport with a sign with my name on it. Free shuttle to the hotel, took 5 minutes. They kept the reception open for us so we could buy drinks before heading to bed. They woke us up at the perfect time, in time for a great breakfast. Buffet of fruits, bread, cereals, juice and coffee and service of eggs and gallo pinto. And then, free shuttle to the Sansa airstrip for our flight to Manuel Antonio. And all that for an unbeatable price!

The grounds of the hotel is great. Peaceful garden with flowers and fruits trees. Birds. Quiet neibourghood. There is a pool with patio, outdoor restaurant, little path throught the garden, and some kind of large reception area, a covered large table for 20 peoples maybe. The hotel itself is 2 stories with outdoor patio. All the furniture is great big dark wood. The room itsfelf is large with a sinle and a double bed, couch, dresser, armoire, tv, fan. Don't think there was AC, but we don't need it in the mountain like that. The bed were always a little uncomfortable, too soft. That would be my only concern. The batroom is large, with a large shower and hot water. Not recently renovated, but still clean and functional.

To us, for the price, you can't find better hotel that could be so dependable, servicable, easy, comfy, serein. Going in and out of Costa Rica, we will always chose this place.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank geebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel twice now, and it is a perfect, simple overnight Hotel close by the airport if you don't feel like trekking all the way into the center of town. Very quaint, clean place . Staff is super friendly . You can't beat the price which includes airport transfer and breakfast . It will make your travel easy. The owner is wonderful . I had problems with my credit card, and she let me stay anyway, when I assured her I would pay the next morning . I thought that was very kind .

Room Tip: I liked room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UlrikN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sams_pa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Whether looking for a place to go that first night after you have arrived late at the airport or wanting a place close to the airport that will be convenient for your escape on the last day in country, the Hotel Brillasol is a great choice. The rates are NOT over the top, the complimentary breakfast in the morning is excellent and they have a shuttle service that can pick-up or deliver to the airport if you organize it ahead of time. That, alone saves quite a lot on the taxi ride. There is an internet cafe conveniently located a couple of blocks away on the main road and a nice suburban community where you can find anything from a pharmacy to a haircut at a reasonable price.

The Employees are always friendly and helpful. They will even advise you on travel and sightseeing plans. This is my preferred first and last stop when I visit Costa Rica.

Room Tip: You can ask to see the room before you select. I have never had a "Bad" room. The garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sams_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is a very nice place to stay the night before you fly. The rooms are clean. The staff is very nice. The garden and the vines growing on the porch are beautiful and create a relaxed atmosphere. Once inside the walled grounds, it is easy to forget you are in a city neighborhood behind the airport. There is a little shop for last day gift purchases. Meals are delicious, simple, and affordable. Sometimes it can be a little noisy but that is a trade-off with being so close to the airport. The free shuttle will get you there in 5 to 10 minutes!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatureLove35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

recommended by taxi driver as close to hotel with 5 minute shuttle included..wonderful optional meal at night... chicken lasagna with salad and homemade bread am for $9 US.. kind wonderful managers who will give you lots of tips for your trip but speak minimal english

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#14 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#8 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
5.1 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brilla Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brilla Sol

Property: Hotel Brilla Sol
Address: El Roble de Alajuela, Alajuela 17274050, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Brilla Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Brilla Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brilla Sol Hotel
Hotel Brilla Sol Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing