We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay close to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Whether looking for a place to go that first night after you have arrived late at the airport or wanting a place close to the airport that will be convenient for your escape on the last day in country, the Hotel Brillasol is a great choice. The rates are NOT over the top, the complimentary breakfast in the morning is excellent and they have a shuttle service that can pick-up or deliver to the airport if you organize it ahead of time. That, alone saves quite a lot on the taxi ride. There is an internet cafe conveniently located a couple of blocks away on the main road and a nice suburban community where you can find anything from a pharmacy to a haircut at a reasonable price.

The Employees are always friendly and helpful. They will even advise you on travel and sightseeing plans. This is my preferred first and last stop when I visit Costa Rica.

Room Tip: You can ask to see the room before you select. I have never had a "Bad" room. The garden...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sams_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Brillasol Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 308 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is a very nice place to stay the night before you fly. The rooms are clean. The staff is very nice. The garden and the vines growing on the porch are beautiful and create a relaxed atmosphere. Once inside the walled grounds, it is easy to forget you are in a city neighborhood behind the airport. There is a little shop for last day gift purchases. Meals are delicious, simple, and affordable. Sometimes it can be a little noisy but that is a trade-off with being so close to the airport. The free shuttle will get you there in 5 to 10 minutes!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatureLove35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

recommended by taxi driver as close to hotel with 5 minute shuttle included..wonderful optional meal at night... chicken lasagna with salad and homemade bread am for $9 US.. kind wonderful managers who will give you lots of tips for your trip but speak minimal english

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Owned and operated by Costa Ricans, this hotel epitomizes the best of small businesses. Staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are simple but clean and breakfast is "typical" foods.
We live here most of the year and have looked for a long time for a hotel like this close to the airport. It is reasonably priced and our favorite place to stay overnight when leaving or returning to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvey38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We've stayed here several times and have not been dissapointed yet. Nothing fancy, but clean,secure, friendly, free shuttle to/from airport and full breakfast is included. Little office area with computors and internet access at NC.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizardofawz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you a morning departure, or night arrival from or to the airport. The shuttle is free and quick. A good breakfast is included. Meals are available for a reasonable price in the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skoehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I spent two great nights at the Brillasol. The staff is friendly, the property is safe and the food is fantastic! Great value for the price.

Rooms & property:
- Rooms are basic and clean; no issues (and no bugs that we could see, which is rare in Costa Rica). The rooms aren't fancy but they do the trick. Our second night was on an upper floor (we stayed at the beginning and end of our trip), and was a bit nicer than our room on the main floor. No air conditioning in our rooms, but we didn't notice the heat.
- The outside of the building is quite lovely and surrounded by trees; feels like an oasis.
- If you're not used to the sounds of Costa Rica, you are going to hear the roosters and birds pretty early in the morning, but that's just the way it is.

Service:
- We really enjoyed talking with the owner Luis, and the service was excellent throughout. We were encouraged to eat as much as we wanted at breakfast. Luis' brother served us at breakfast and dinner and it felt like we were visiting with friends rather than eating at a restaurant.
- The free shuttle service is invaluable, especially in this part of San Jose. We were always picked up promptly and didn't have any issues getting to and from our destinations.

Food:
- The breakfast (included in room rate) is excellent. Fruit, cereal, fresh juice and coffee (oh, that coffee...so good) are available, and you also get a hot meal. We had eggs, toast and rice & beans -- I'm still thinking about how great the food was.
- For dinner (not included in room rate), we ordered fried rice (my husband and I are vegetarians) and the portion was huge and delicious. My house salad was fresh and yummy as well. My husband ordered a side of french fries; they must have been cooked in coconut oil because they were amazing!

We loved the Brillasol and look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eikoleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
263 reviews
2.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brillasol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brillasol Airport

Address: El Roble de Alajuela, Alajuela 17274050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range: $42 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Brillasol Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Brillasol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brilla Sol Hotel
Hotel Brillasol Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing