We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Family own inn by SJO” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Brilla Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Brilla Sol
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Family own inn by SJO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is a family own inn by San Jose Airport. The family who operates this place were friendly, accommodating and helpful- the provided map of CR and made sure we had the right shuttle service to get to our destinations. There is delicious home cooking available for lunch and dinner. The price includes traditional breakfast.

With that said, the accommodation is better suited for singles traveling on a budget andinternational students who are looking for a nice place to stay. The walls and windows were not very insulated from the outside/airport noise. While all right after midnight, light sleepers might not find it very tolerable.

In short, good buget inn for the first/last night in CR.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Setsuna_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    107
    37
    18
    17
See reviews for
54
89
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed here the first night of our honeymoon, just for a place close to the airport because they had lost my bags, and we had to go back the next day. The staff is amazing and most of them have been here for years. Free transportation to or from the airport, so it is a great place for your first or last night in Costa Rica. Complimentary breakfast which includes tropical fruit juices, eggs, and typical tico rice beans etc.....Computers if you didn't bring your own or WiFi by the restaurant. The room is basic but clean and the tropical plants inside the premises are the beginning beauties you will see throughout Costa Rica. It is very secure with cameras and a gate they only allow their guests to pass. It is between 70-50 dollars and the service alone is worth it to me. also if it is your last day of your trip and your close smell like mildew, as did mine....they will do your laundry for you. also a pool, lime tree, and other beautiful plants. They did not charge me a pet fee and I have a chocolate lab that is 80 lbs. Thank you Brillasol...Julie and Joe
P.S. we have now stayed here 3 different times and it is always the same. A great experience!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliejilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Va, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed here in Feb 2012 for 4 days. The rooms were clean, the food is great and the owners were very helpful to me as I was coordinating some activities. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is close to the airport (perhaps too close as an early morning flight always woke me when taking off) and they will pick you up or deliver you as needed. It's a bit far from downtown Alajuela if you plan on spending time there but all in all though I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 19William19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neot HaKikar, Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Hotel Brillasol is located around 10 minutes from San Jose airport.It is a very clean and friendly place to stay either before or after your vacation in awesome Costa Rica.
The rooms are spotless,and comfortable.
Breakfast is included,and is delicious
The staff is friendly and VERY helpful,and are a asset to the hotel.
The only downside is it can be very noisy here when you are trying to get rest before or after your trip.An example of some of the noise...jets landing,dogs barking,car alarms,motorcycles,roosters crowing,birds chirping,ect.ect.I also heard a cow mooing as well !!!!
If you are a light sleeper,I would look for alternative lodgings.

Room Tip: All rooms arevery clean,spacious,and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetskrtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
233 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Inexpensive overnight stay. Got there late and left again early, so never got to see it in broad daylight.
Food we had was nice. And value for money is good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Blue_Sea_Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

All reviews are pretty accurate in that this is a very basic cheap hotel/motel. However, the staff try their best to accommodate by providing delicious inexpensive meals and great service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crbungalow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

The first thing that went wrong was that the complimentary hotel shuttle service from the airport arrived 40 minutes late. Standing alone outside at the airport waiting and waiting and waiting for these people angered me as I saw person after person get picked up by their hotel. I later realized it was because they waited for another couple (whose flight arrived after mine) to pick us up all at once. Better to make me wait than to do two trips.

Once I arrived, the person at the desk said he wanted cash for my room; he didn't want my credit card. MUST PAY IN CASH?! This was not written anywhere and mind you, the couple that came in at the same time as me used their card, hence why I said I'd like to pay with my card, too. Taking advantage of my exhaustion and the fact that I am young and was traveling alone, he continued to demand cash until I reluctantly handed it over. It was literally all I had on me.

The pool was filthy. Every piece of furniture by the pool was mismatching and broken. The grounds needed some major manicuring.

The wireless did not work, and of the two computers in the "lobby" area one connected to the internet and the other did not.

The room was clean enough, but totally bare bones in terms of amenities.

You will not get sleep at this place unless you are ok with sleeping on a landing strip. Yes, this hotel may as well have been on the runway. Honestly, please imagine sleeping right where jets take off and land. I can sleep through everything except that. No sleep for me.

Two stars only because I had a good dinner there. And two of the numerous staff members were friendly.

If you don't heed my warning and stay there, at least demand to pay by credit card. Don't let them rip you off like they did me. Oh, and bring giant noise cancellation headphones so you can sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyndsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alajuela hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#13 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#9 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
5.1 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brilla Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brilla Sol

Property: Hotel Brilla Sol
Address: El Roble de Alajuela, Alajuela 17274050, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Brilla Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Brilla Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brilla Sol Hotel
Hotel Brilla Sol Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing