We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vida Tropical B and B
Ranked #7 of 63 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 18, 2010

This is and always has been one of our favorite places to stay for a number of reasons. First , it's 10 minute cab ride from / to the airport. It is a perfect location for arriving and getting situated before your journey and also when it's time to leave this perfect paradise it's a good way to say good bye. and to make it to the airport in time which typically is early the am to depart. They have great referrals for rental cars, hotels, & tour guides. The hosts are wonderful and the breakfast as always in Costa Rica is amazing. fresh coffee, fruits, eggs, sausage, & of course the rice...mmm. the rooms are comfy and clean. If you're fortunate enough to meet Jose he is one of a kind cool guy.
we will always return here for our journey!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeyndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 257 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2010

Vida was the first and last stop on a long adventure for me...

I landed in Costa Rica in June 2009, and stayed for 5 days. Isabel, my hostess and her son Nickolas were so welcoming and helpful. Isabel helped me set up my travel in this new and exciting country, and even called and booked transit for me. I didn't have to worry.

I traveled through Costa Rica for 2 1/2 months, and ended up at Vida again, just before I flew to Peru, for the next leg of my adventure. Vida even let me store some things in their storage locker, because I knew I would be back yet again, before flying home to Canada.

So I visited Vida a total of 3 times, and every time I slept well, ate well, had help planning, and met really really nice travelers and families. It is a perfect place for a family, but also for a single gal like me, who enjoys peace and quiet and a safe place.

Would I go back? Absolutely. Next time I go to Costa Rica, and I will go again, I will definitely lay my head to rest at Vida Tropical.

Also, the owners of Vida, Norman and Isabel, also run a restaurant, not far away from Vida. It is called Jalapenos Central, and the food there is amazing! Norman cooks everything fresh, and is so incredibly kind and welcoming.

I thank everyone at Vida Tropical for making my first and last experience of my trip of a lifetime so memorable. They will always be in my heart.

So go there!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AquariusRising999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We have not been to Vida Tropical for a few years. Stayed with them in consecutive trips book ending each trip. On both arrivals our flights arrived at 9:30 and by the time you make your way out to the Taxi area (with the directions provided by Isabella) it is much later - there is still someone to great you at Vida Tropical, get you settled into your room and explain the honor system drinks.

They provide a map of town for exploring - check out Jalapenos - great food and conversation.

The provide wake up calls and taxi arrangements for those early morning departures either for going home or to you next destination, the breakfast is awesome.

In addition to meeting really great people that work there, Greg, Isabella, etc...the other travelers are amazing as well.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed at Vida Tropical en route to the cloud forest. The staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to provide assistance with our onward travel plans.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcw41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

I stayed for a week at Vida Tropical. I had been on a two week Volunteer Program with www.CrossCulturalSolutions.org in Puriscal and just needed to unwind and relax. Vidatripical provided the right atmosphere. It is not a large Hotel with all the amenities. Just a little Bed & Breakfast. It was Homey. Breakfast was Great. Free Internet was good too.. Massage Therapy is exactly 1/3 the cost of what it is in America where I live. It had been recommended by a friend of mine from America. If only the Weather had been so nice. It rained very hard every day. But then that's Costa Rica in the Summertime..

Eating at Normans Resturant was also good. I recommend both

Dewey Kerr
Ohio USA

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VounteerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

My wife and I have stayed here many times over the past few years. The staff is always friendly, and very helpful. The accommodations are comfortable, clean, and we have always had a restful stay. The hotel is situated in a safe, quiet neighborhood, and within short (5 minutes) walking distance of restaurants. We recommend this place, and plan to continue to stay here in the future..

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRtravelers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I'm usually a good sport, but this hotel was just too rough for me. It hardly qualifies as a hotel or bed and breakfast. First of all, it is VERY difficult to find (don't trust their directions). Second, you'll be sharing a bathroom, and it's not especially clean (that's usually my only qualification for a hotel). Our bedroom was tiny, musty, and had old bedding.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateandEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosefromCostaRica, Owner at Vida Tropical B and B, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2010

Well, nothing like an unfavorable review to bring you back down to earth, we´ve had so many nice ones. I´m sorry this nice couple had such a bad experience, but you can´t please everyone, and they are definitely entitled to their opinion, We´ll keep trying!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
880 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
679 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pacande
Hotel Pacande
#3 of 63 in Alajuela
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel II Millenium
Hotel II Millenium
#15 of 63 in Alajuela
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vista Linda Montana
Vista Linda Montana
#4 of 63 in Alajuela
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vida Tropical B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vida Tropical B and B

Address: 300 meters East and 300 N from the courthouse traffic light | in front of the Academia de Natación, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: $54 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ADVANTAGES OF VIDA TROPICAL - 5 minutes from the airport, but not on the flight path; walking distance to the center of the city of Alajuela; on a nice, quiet, secure street, in a friendly residential area; transportation to and from the airport is available at any hour of the day or night with the official orange airport taxis or we can arrange pickup(fare is about $7.00); a base from which to do day trips in the Central Valley, or overnight trips to more distant points; a place to stay during your whole trip if you're here to check out business opportunities, real estate purchase or rental possibilities or if you want to experience daily life in the Central Valley to decide if you want to move here permanently or part of the year; s place to enjoy an extended stay at very reasonable prices. We´re in Lonely Planet, Let's Go, and other travel books, reviewed on TripAdvisor and airbnb,and recommended in Thorn Tree and other discussion boards. Established in the Last Millenium before Y2K (1999), and enjoyed by 1,000s of guests. We accept Visa and Mastercard but NOT with the new CHIP security system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vida Tropical B and B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vida Tropical b And b Hotel Alajuela
Vida Tropical B And B Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing