We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Constant quality!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vida Tropical B and B
Ranked #6 of 65 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have been coming to Vida Tropical for over 8 years and still love it! it is a great place to start and end a trip. The rooms are comfortable and and the showers have good hot water. They are wonderful people and helpful beyond a regular B and B. The breakfast is great and the attention filled with care. When they are booked they are helpful in finding another place to stay. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: The rooms in the front are on the road and can be a bit noisier - but it is a quiet street and I hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSSCentroEspiralMana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 261 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

Vida is a small house in a nice neighborhood within walking distance to downtown. There are four or five rooms, places to hang out, and they serve up an incredible breakfast. The owner, Jose, was a sweet man with a generous spirit (when he found out that my five-year-old wanted chocolate chip waffles he went out and bought some just for her). We could not have asked for better hospitality.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank TikkunOlam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosefromCostaRica, Owner at Vida Tropical B and B, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Fortunately, a nearby grocery store had Eggos, it was worth it for the smile, thanks for the nice review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have stayed in many places around the world and I must say , my experience here was arguably the worst place i have ever stayed in all of my travels.

First of all, I had a REALLY hard time finding the place. I don't know if it was late at night or what, but the directions provided on the internet need some serious improvement. There are basically no signs outside of the house (btw, it is really a "house") which makes it EXTREMELY difficult to find at night.

I was greeted at the door (definitely woke up whoever answered the door) and shown to my room. It was very small but here's the big issue: the bed/room reeked HORRIBLY of a dirty man smell/ body odor. It was about 11:15 at night and I was exhausted from my trip. I thought about leaving but was just too tired to leave. I tried to sleep but the smell of the room permeated through my nose. It just STANK. I was really frustrated. The room just didn't seem clean at all...I was afraid there might even be bedbugs.

After finally falling asleep at midnight I was awoken at 4 am by someone upstairs walking around. The walls /floors are paper thin so guarantee you'll hear someone if you are downstairs. At this point, I just wanted out, so I left.

It was a really bad experience staying here. Felt like a really raunchy hostel. I would think twice about staying here............

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank voodoo-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosefromCostaRica, Owner at Vida Tropical B and B, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Hi voodoo

I'm really sorry you were not happy with our humble place. Yes, it's not easy to find, there are no addresses in Costa Rica, so if the cab driver is not familiar with landmarks used, they might have a problem finding anything.

Regarding the room, we pride ourselves in cleanliness, so I don't know what you were smelling, we change bedding constantly, sweep and mop all rooms, etc, and have literally dozens of people using the rooms with no complaints, and we check all the rooms over and over to make sure all is OK. Yes, it's a house, and it can happen that a guest leaving for an early flight can be noisy, but we try to be as quiet as possible for the peace of the guests.

Again, I'm sorry you were so unsatisfied, we get so many good reviews that the bad ones really hurt and surprise us, just makes us try harder and not be complacent.

Thanks,

Jose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I arrived late at night but had no problems checking in. I somehow lucked out with a big room with a queen bed and private bath at the back of the garden. (maybe I paid more for it? I don't know what the other rooms are like...) I was just there for a night, but things were clean and the hot shower was welcome after a long day of travel.

The breakfast was by far the best part. I don't remember what i had, but involved countless tasty things like rice and beans, eggs, fresh fruit, and toast with nutella. I even got away with 2nds (and 3rds... on coffee). Their library is extensive and I found some good info from random (albeit a bit outdated) tour books.

The next morning they called me a cab to take me to the bus station. Because I had a late arrival/early departure schedule, I didn't get to explore the area, but it's within walking distance of a bank. On my way there I passed restaurants, pulperias, sodas, and a school, so I got the 'good neighborhood' vibe.

Room Tip: The room on the back side of the garden is very separate and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was our first stop in Costa Rica and the hospitality of the manager and staff left a very good first impression. Most memorable was our breakfast made with love by Sylvia, traditional guyo pinto. Isabelle is very friendly and helpful and we got to meet her adorable son too. We had plenty of room to spread out and we only stayed one night before heading into the jungle. We also highly recommend the driver that was arranged for us, Alex Hernandez. He spoke english and was awesome~ we hired him three times! He will take you any where in the country.

Room Tip: we had the front room but if i were to go back i would choose the room in the back yard that is se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We are B&B owners ourselves. We rely on Tripadvisor for our reviews and also research reviews to determine where we would like to stay while out of town. We found Vida Tropical on Tripadvisor. We called and spoke with Isabelle, who was very warm, informative, and welcoming. So, we decided to try Vida Tropical.

We were not disappointed with our choice. The B&B is located in a quaint area of town. it is walking distance to restaurants, bus lines, parks and shops. The kitchen in Vida Tropical has everything you need to make your own meals, if you wish.

You can take buses into Pavas or San Jose easily and save yourself quite a bit of money over the taxi fares. Isabelle and the staff know the various bus locations and schedules.

The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The bathroom is shared, but did not pose a problem at all. Very seldom do you have couples all getting up and going at the same times. (never in our case).

The staff is very helpful. There is a refrigerator with beverages for your purchase, same price you would pay at the store.

They also have a restaurant up the street. Jalapenos. This is a tex-mex restaurant with excellent food. The prices are very reasonable, and the owner, Norman (Isabelle's husband) is quite a hoot.

This is a great value for the money and comfort.

Room Tip: If you like to watch tv in bed, ask for one of the rooms with tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casitacorcovado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Close to the airport which was the main reason we chose to stay here.
Isabel, the manager, is very friendly and always available to help. Silvia makes an amazing breakfast (very good coffee too). The B&B is located in a residential area which makes it very quiet during night. We stayed here on two different occasions, the first time on the upper floor (3 rooms with one shared bathroom, although we were the only guest there that night) and the second time in the garden room which is more private (not the biggest room but alright for shorter stay).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
694 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
0 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
321 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#19 of 27 in Alajuela
93 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Pacande
Hotel Pacande
#3 of 65 in Alajuela
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vida Tropical B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vida Tropical B and B

Address: 300 meters East and 300 N from the courthouse traffic light | in front of the Academia de Natación, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: $54 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ADVANTAGES OF VIDA TROPICAL - 5 minutes from the airport, but not on the flight path; walking distance to the center of the city of Alajuela; on a nice, quiet, secure street, in a friendly residential area; transportation to and from the airport is available at any hour of the day or night with the official orange airport taxis or we can arrange pickup(fare is about $7.00); a base from which to do day trips in the Central Valley, or overnight trips to more distant points; a place to stay during your whole trip if you're here to check out business opportunities, real estate purchase or rental possibilities or if you want to experience daily life in the Central Valley to decide if you want to move here permanently or part of the year; s place to enjoy an extended stay at very reasonable prices. We´re in Lonely Planet, Let's Go, and other travel books, reviewed on TripAdvisor and airbnb,and recommended in Thorn Tree and other discussion boards. Established in the Last Millenium before Y2K (1999), and enjoyed by 1,000s of guests. We accept Visa and Mastercard but NOT with the new CHIP security system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Vida Tropical B and B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vida Tropical b And b Hotel Alajuela
Vida Tropical B And B Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing