We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay on your way in or out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
263 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Stay on your way in or out”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Holiday Inn Express at the airport is a great place to crash on your way in or out of Costa Rica. It has a shuttle that will take you to nearby restaurants as well as a Denny's and casino within walking distance. They have a nice outdoor pool and a small exercise room. For early flights, they also have small breakfast doggie bags complete with a muffin, juice and fruit. It's not much, but it'll do the trick until you board the plane. The shuttle also takes guests to and from the airport in about five minute's time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spankyandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear spankyandsarah, thank you very much for taking the time to write and share such delightful comments.

There is nothing we want more than to make all our guests feel total satisfaction and comfort while they are staying with us so they can always be sure that we really do everything we can to make their stay be a perfect hotel experience in which all their needs and requests are comply by the friendliest staff they have ever met. It is great that besides liking our premises so much you found ouur location so convenient and our services very beneficial.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, we hope to see you back again in the near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    327
    84
    24
    18
See reviews for
200
308
63
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hotel is barely 1 km from the airport, and we were luckly that our car rental was just 200 m in front of it (there was no possibility to know it before, we would have taken the car starting next morning if we knew that), but we just saw it when the car rental shuttle bus brought us to the office. After tens of hours of travelling it's a good way to start hollidays, especially if you land in the evening - from the plane to the bed, without having to travel more.
The room was extremely spacious with two queen size beds, a big bathroom and all the facilities. The decoration was OK, everything working and functional. We only slept there one night, so I can't say much more. Breakfast was not the most luxurious one, but it had the basics - coffee, small variety of cut fresh fruits, some local pastries and cornflakes.
I was not impressed by the willingness to help and explain things on behalf of the reception staff and the girl who was selling excursions.
All in all, a good place to spend a night when you are in or out the country, but definetely not a must.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_erre_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear a_erre_a, we really appreciate your review about your stay with us.

It is wonderful to know how convenient our hotel was for you, not only because of our location so near the airport and just across the parking lot from several car rentals (including the one you chose) , a casino and a couple of restaurants, but also because of the very beneficial and functional services we offer such as our complimentary breakfast, our free shuttle the 24 hours of the day and the free wifi.

We are sorry that you found our breakfast so basic since we really do try to cater to al the different tastes there are by offering both regional dishes ans well as more traditional ones such as eggs, waffles, hash browns, sausages and bacon besides tropical fruits, assorted cereals, pastries and different types of breads. We regrte to learn that you were not very happy with the way our front desk staff was willing to help you, so please accept our most sincere apologies and since our goal is to maintain the highest standards of service you can rest assure that our Manager will immediately look into it so it will never happen again because our guests´ satisfaction is the most important thing for us.

It was a pleasure being of your service, thank youu for staying with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose City, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Great service, very clean rooms - best Holiday Inn Express in which I have ever stayed! If you need to leave for the airport before 6:30 am - they have 'to-go' boxes prepared to take with you. Stayed here several times and shuttles are timely - no long waits or unexpected delays - unless there are many others needing to get to the airport at the same time. However, shuttle returns quickly (5-10 minutes) to pick-up the next load of people. Wonderful perk - international calls are only $1.99. Pollo (Chicken)Restaurant nearby has good food - many locals eat here and the casino is worth checking out - no smoking!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieWZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear BonnieWZ, thank you for posting such fantastic comments, you have really made us very happy and proud with them.

It is great to learn that you always stay with us and it is very rewarding for us that you think that our hotel is the best Holiday Inn Express you have ever stayed anywhere in the world. There is nothing that makes us happier, than to be able to serve our guests, to be able to comply with all their needs and requests, providing them with very comfortable and clean rooms and very convenient services to make their stay a very pleasant and successful experience which they will love to repeat time and time again.

It is always a leasure to be of your service, thank you so much for choosing us everytime. See you next time.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel is fantastic. I've stayed here multiple times as I'm living in Costa Rica for a year, and this hotel has become my "hub". I love when I have the opportunity to stay here. The staff is friendly and wonderful. The hotel has a wonderful breakfast selection, and even "to-go" breakfasts if you have an early flight. There is a lovely outdoor pool, and the rooms are spacious and super comfortable. Very close to the airport with a free shuttle to take you/pick you up. Right across the street from a few food options, including a Denny's. I hope to be back again and again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcross01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear jcross, thank you so much for sharing such a lovely review.

You have made us more than proud by learning not only that you usually stay with us whenever you´re visiting the country, but also because you consider us part of your extended family and because you´re always looking forward to your stays with us. We have achieve our goal by making you feel more than comfortable in our hotel by providing you with the highest quality of accommodations, very convenient services, and a very attentive and complying staff for whom it is always a pleasure to be able to serve our guests.

Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, it is always a pleasure to have you with us and the entire team looks forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
329 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Spent one night here before early flight am. Room was spacious, bathroom clean. A/C took a while to cool down the room. Paid my departure tax here at $33, saving me time at the airport.
Ate at Denny's across the road. Breakfast bag and coffee to go was available at 4am.
Luggage trolleys available.

Room Tip: Downstairs room may have better A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harmsenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear harmsenom, thanks for your very nice comments.

It makes us very happy that eventhough you only stayed with us for a night, you were able to experience a a satisfying and peaceful time where you were able to get all the rest you needed before your trip back home.

We are delighted to learn how convenient you found the services we offer, how comfortable our accommodations are and the very convenience of our location. We strive to provide total satisfaction for our guests and it is always very rewarding when we know that we achieved it because their happiness and satisfaction is our reason of being.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, we will look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Our flight was for 6:15 am and a 3rd party had made a reservation for us, we thought at Holiday Inn Express. Not so. The reservation had been made at a different Hotel and for the previous night.

We are expecting to check in and there isn't a reservation in our name.

The front desk was EXTREMELY helpful and courtesy to sort out this misunderstanding and could accommodate us, so we stayed the one night. (Talk about having egg on your face.)

For the few hours sleep I got - - - It was THE BEST EVER. WOW!!!!

The hotel provides:

1 - Express Check Out in the a.m.

2 - Brown bag continental breakfast around 3 a.m.

3 - You can pay the Departure Tax (plus service charge).

4 - Shuttle bus to airport.

With having to be at the airport around 4 a.m There were very few people in the airport at this hour, so there were No Line Ups to:

1 - Pay the Departure Tax

2 - Check in at airline counter

3 - Going through Security Check.

Yes, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackieb348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear jackieb348, thank you for sharing such a detailed review.

You don´t know how happy it makes us to learn about the comfortable and restful stay you had with us (even if it was only for one night) specially how much you liked and enjoyed the bed in your room. It makes us very proud to read that it is the most comfortable bed you have ever slept in and we are delighted about it. We want our guests to experience the most comfortable stay ever by providing them with very comfortable accommodations, very helpful services, a very convenient location (not only being less than a mile away from the airport but also having so many car rentals nearby and being just across the parking lot from a casino and a couple os restaurants) and by having the nicest and most cooperative staff any hotel might want.

We really hope that the next time you visit the country you can stay with us for more days so you can have all the rest you want and expect to feel realy invigorated before your trip back home.

It was a pleasure being of your service, and once again we thank you for choosing us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Close hotel to the airport, with perfect service, wifi, just 5 minutes from airport. You can rent car here or have some trip. I stay just one night after arrival and one night before departur and it was really perfect idea.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeneffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Katka K, we really appreciate your nice review.

Thank you for summarizing your stay as "a perfect idea" because there is nothing we want more than for our guests to have a perfect stay with us. By perfect we mean that we want our guests to feel totally happy and satisfied about having choosing us for their stay and that during that stay, they could have gotten all the most peaceful rest they might need to start the day totally renewed.

Our services are always thought for to benefit our guests in every aspect so they can achieve as much comfort as possible, and our location is so convenient that we are almost just across the street from the airport, have several car rentals, a couple of restaurants and a casino just across our parking lot, and infront one of the country´s main highways for our guests´ convenience.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, we hope that you can visit us again soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mango
Hotel Mango
#14 of 27 in Alajuela
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
257 reviews
3.6 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing