We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Our flight was for 6:15 am and a 3rd party had made a reservation for us, we thought at Holiday Inn Express. Not so. The reservation had been made at a different Hotel and for the previous night.

We are expecting to check in and there isn't a reservation in our name.

The front desk was EXTREMELY helpful and courtesy to sort out this misunderstanding and could accommodate us, so we stayed the one night. (Talk about having egg on your face.)

For the few hours sleep I got - - - It was THE BEST EVER. WOW!!!!

The hotel provides:

1 - Express Check Out in the a.m.

2 - Brown bag continental breakfast around 3 a.m.

3 - You can pay the Departure Tax (plus service charge).

4 - Shuttle bus to airport.

With having to be at the airport around 4 a.m There were very few people in the airport at this hour, so there were No Line Ups to:

1 - Pay the Departure Tax

2 - Check in at airline counter

3 - Going through Security Check.

Yes, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackieb348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear jackieb348, thank you for sharing such a detailed review.

You don´t know how happy it makes us to learn about the comfortable and restful stay you had with us (even if it was only for one night) specially how much you liked and enjoyed the bed in your room. It makes us very proud to read that it is the most comfortable bed you have ever slept in and we are delighted about it. We want our guests to experience the most comfortable stay ever by providing them with very comfortable accommodations, very helpful services, a very convenient location (not only being less than a mile away from the airport but also having so many car rentals nearby and being just across the parking lot from a casino and a couple os restaurants) and by having the nicest and most cooperative staff any hotel might want.

We really hope that the next time you visit the country you can stay with us for more days so you can have all the rest you want and expect to feel realy invigorated before your trip back home.

It was a pleasure being of your service, and once again we thank you for choosing us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 811 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

Close hotel to the airport, with perfect service, wifi, just 5 minutes from airport. You can rent car here or have some trip. I stay just one night after arrival and one night before departur and it was really perfect idea.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeneffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Katka K, we really appreciate your nice review.

Thank you for summarizing your stay as "a perfect idea" because there is nothing we want more than for our guests to have a perfect stay with us. By perfect we mean that we want our guests to feel totally happy and satisfied about having choosing us for their stay and that during that stay, they could have gotten all the most peaceful rest they might need to start the day totally renewed.

Our services are always thought for to benefit our guests in every aspect so they can achieve as much comfort as possible, and our location is so convenient that we are almost just across the street from the airport, have several car rentals, a couple of restaurants and a casino just across our parking lot, and infront one of the country´s main highways for our guests´ convenience.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, we hope that you can visit us again soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Holiday Inn Express was a delightful little gem that I stayed at only one night, awaiting my departure back to Arizona the following morning. The front desk staff was fabulous and I was even offered a lower rate upon check-in than the internet rate I had booked. This hotel offers a "to go" breakfast beginning at 3am so that you won't miss breakfast even when your flight leaves very early in the morning. There is a free shuttle to the airport 24 hours a day too. Free internet, free parking and a cute little pool are additional features. And there is a Casino next door too! Very fun!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmsw55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Imsw55, thank you for sharing your wonderful comments.

First of all, we really want to thank you for calling us a "gem" because it means that you really did more than like us very much and that your stay with us was nothing short of heavennly. It is very rewarding for us to know when our guests are so satisfied with our facilities, accommodations and services because it means that we are doing the things we are supposed and that we are doing them very good. We really want you to know that for the entire personnel, this is more than a job, it is a pleasure to make sure our guests are getting all the rest and comfort that they desire and deserve and that we are able to comply with all their requests and needs in order to make their stay with us a perfect experience.

Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, it is a pleasure to have you stay with us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Tip: pay the airport tax at the hotel to avoid the long line when departing. Well worth the $4 extra charge.
Highlights: Food: To go breakfast bags for early departures. We left to the airport by 4:30 am so that was nice. Next to Fiesta casino, Denny's and Pollo restaurants. Location: very close to the airport. Shuttle to the airport every 15-30 mins.
Lowlights: the beds were way too firm for me.

Room Tip: Room 213 has poor wi-if reception. You have be in the restroom or by the door to get a signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bacong F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Bacong F, we really appreciate you taking the time to write and share your comments.

It makes us very happy to learn how much you appreciated the services the hotel offers and its convenient location (being less than 1 mile away from the airport and just across the parking lot from a couple of restaurants and several car rentals). Our services are specially made to provide our guests with all the comfort and convenience so their stay with us will not only be a super comfortable and peaceful one, but also without any kind of hassle that may upset you and make your stay less than perfect.

We are very sorry to find out that the mattress in your room was a little too firm for you, perhaps if you had let the front desk know about it, they would have happily complied and change you to a room with a mattress more of your liking. Remember that we thrive on our guests comfort and satisfaction and we do anything to make them feel that way.

Thank you for staying with us, the entire personnel looks forward to your next stay.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

we were very pleased with our stay. we flew in and had to catch a commuter flight out in AM next day. staff at front desk were extremely helpful. the breakfast in morning was good. location is nice - literally right down from airport ---shuttle is easy and convenient. when you arrive - suggest asking one of the locals to call the shuttle - they will expect a small tip but worth it. Pool was nice - exercise room is a zero but not a big deal since stay is so short. very good restaurant next door - and couple others all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear David S, thank you for posting your review.

Making our guests happy and completely satisfied with their stay is everything we want, that way, they can always be sure that we are everything we say we are and that we can guarantee a great and comfortable stay.
Having super comfortable accommodations, great services, a very convenient location and a extremely helpful and amicable staff is what makes us who we are, a hotel whose main concern is to see each and every one of its guests leave with a smile of satisfaction on their faces saying that they will definitely stay with us again.

It was a pleasure being of your service, thank you for choosing us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We ended up staying here when another hotel we had reservations for in San Rafael, Heredia was not up to our expectations. The staff worked hard to get us checked in early. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
They have international calling for $2.00 a day!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taraland45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Taraland45, thank you for sharing such nice comments.

Eventhough it is very rewarding to know that you can always count on us when things don´t go as expected in other hotels, we are also very sorry about such a mishap happening to you. We want our guests to be sure that whenever they need comfortable accommodations, great services, a convenient location and the best personnel in the world to compy with everything they need, they can put all their expectations on us because we can guarantee their total happiness and satisfaction. Thank you for always keeping us in mind and trusting us so much.

It was a pleasure having you with us, we will look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

It is an airport hotel in every sense. 24 hour shuttle, free wifi, clean rooms, free brown bag to go breakfast, across the parking lot from Denny's, flight info monitors in lobby, luggage scale in lobby, pay departure tax ($4 fee per person) at front desk. It felt very much like being in the USA so I am glad that we were just here for the absolute minimum amount of time before our 6am flight back home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer_MP3891DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Jennifer_MP3891D, thank you for posting your review.

We are very happy to know how convenient our hotel was for your purposes. We strive to make our guests have all the comfort they deserve so that they can have quality rest either when they arrive from a long trip or before they depart to their home. We provide them with the best services possible so that their stay with us can be not only a peaceful and restful heaven but also a hassle free experience in which they can do and plan everything before hand arriving to the airport such as the luggage scale and the departure tax service.

Our guests´ convenience is very important for us, as much as their comfort and satisfaction so it is very rewarding to know that our guests really appreciate everything we do for them.

Thank you for choosing us, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.2 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#19 of 27 in Alajuela
89 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $116 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing