We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding little gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Holiday Inn Express was a delightful little gem that I stayed at only one night, awaiting my departure back to Arizona the following morning. The front desk staff was fabulous and I was even offered a lower rate upon check-in than the internet rate I had booked. This hotel offers a "to go" breakfast beginning at 3am so that you won't miss breakfast even when your flight leaves very early in the morning. There is a free shuttle to the airport 24 hours a day too. Free internet, free parking and a cute little pool are additional features. And there is a Casino next door too! Very fun!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmsw55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Imsw55, thank you for sharing your wonderful comments.

First of all, we really want to thank you for calling us a "gem" because it means that you really did more than like us very much and that your stay with us was nothing short of heavennly. It is very rewarding for us to know when our guests are so satisfied with our facilities, accommodations and services because it means that we are doing the things we are supposed and that we are doing them very good. We really want you to know that for the entire personnel, this is more than a job, it is a pleasure to make sure our guests are getting all the rest and comfort that they desire and deserve and that we are able to comply with all their requests and needs in order to make their stay with us a perfect experience.

Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, it is a pleasure to have you stay with us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 815 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

Tip: pay the airport tax at the hotel to avoid the long line when departing. Well worth the $4 extra charge.
Highlights: Food: To go breakfast bags for early departures. We left to the airport by 4:30 am so that was nice. Next to Fiesta casino, Denny's and Pollo restaurants. Location: very close to the airport. Shuttle to the airport every 15-30 mins.
Lowlights: the beds were way too firm for me.

Room Tip: Room 213 has poor wi-if reception. You have be in the restroom or by the door to get a signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bacong F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Bacong F, we really appreciate you taking the time to write and share your comments.

It makes us very happy to learn how much you appreciated the services the hotel offers and its convenient location (being less than 1 mile away from the airport and just across the parking lot from a couple of restaurants and several car rentals). Our services are specially made to provide our guests with all the comfort and convenience so their stay with us will not only be a super comfortable and peaceful one, but also without any kind of hassle that may upset you and make your stay less than perfect.

We are very sorry to find out that the mattress in your room was a little too firm for you, perhaps if you had let the front desk know about it, they would have happily complied and change you to a room with a mattress more of your liking. Remember that we thrive on our guests comfort and satisfaction and we do anything to make them feel that way.

Thank you for staying with us, the entire personnel looks forward to your next stay.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

we were very pleased with our stay. we flew in and had to catch a commuter flight out in AM next day. staff at front desk were extremely helpful. the breakfast in morning was good. location is nice - literally right down from airport ---shuttle is easy and convenient. when you arrive - suggest asking one of the locals to call the shuttle - they will expect a small tip but worth it. Pool was nice - exercise room is a zero but not a big deal since stay is so short. very good restaurant next door - and couple others all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear David S, thank you for posting your review.

Making our guests happy and completely satisfied with their stay is everything we want, that way, they can always be sure that we are everything we say we are and that we can guarantee a great and comfortable stay.
Having super comfortable accommodations, great services, a very convenient location and a extremely helpful and amicable staff is what makes us who we are, a hotel whose main concern is to see each and every one of its guests leave with a smile of satisfaction on their faces saying that they will definitely stay with us again.

It was a pleasure being of your service, thank you for choosing us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We ended up staying here when another hotel we had reservations for in San Rafael, Heredia was not up to our expectations. The staff worked hard to get us checked in early. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
They have international calling for $2.00 a day!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taraland45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Taraland45, thank you for sharing such nice comments.

Eventhough it is very rewarding to know that you can always count on us when things don´t go as expected in other hotels, we are also very sorry about such a mishap happening to you. We want our guests to be sure that whenever they need comfortable accommodations, great services, a convenient location and the best personnel in the world to compy with everything they need, they can put all their expectations on us because we can guarantee their total happiness and satisfaction. Thank you for always keeping us in mind and trusting us so much.

It was a pleasure having you with us, we will look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

It is an airport hotel in every sense. 24 hour shuttle, free wifi, clean rooms, free brown bag to go breakfast, across the parking lot from Denny's, flight info monitors in lobby, luggage scale in lobby, pay departure tax ($4 fee per person) at front desk. It felt very much like being in the USA so I am glad that we were just here for the absolute minimum amount of time before our 6am flight back home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer_MP3891DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Jennifer_MP3891D, thank you for posting your review.

We are very happy to know how convenient our hotel was for your purposes. We strive to make our guests have all the comfort they deserve so that they can have quality rest either when they arrive from a long trip or before they depart to their home. We provide them with the best services possible so that their stay with us can be not only a peaceful and restful heaven but also a hassle free experience in which they can do and plan everything before hand arriving to the airport such as the luggage scale and the departure tax service.

Our guests´ convenience is very important for us, as much as their comfort and satisfaction so it is very rewarding to know that our guests really appreciate everything we do for them.

Thank you for choosing us, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Although it was like being fast-forwarded back to the U.S., this was an excellent place to stay near the airport before an early morning flight back home. The airport shuttle was ready and waiting when we went to the lobby in the morning. There was even a scale near the front desk to weigh our luggage, which was helpful in packing. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terah1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Terah1231, thank you for posting your comments.

We are delighted to learn how convenient and useful you found the services we offer. We strive to try to make our guests' stay as comfortable, restful and hassle free as it can be, that way we can ensure them everything they were expecting from a perfect hotel experience and much more. We thrive on our guests satisfaction and everytime we read reviews like yours, it lets us know that we are indeed doing everything we are supposed to do and in the best way possible.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, thank you so much for choosing us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one evening. It was great. It is conveniently located near the airport (5 minutes), has a free shuttle service every 15 minutes, is across from a Denny's (not fine dining but convenient), has take away breakfast from 2am and regular breakfast from 6am, the breakfast is good, the room was spacious, the beds and pillows were great, and the computers and printers in the lobby worked great! I have nothing bad to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: I wouldn't get a room in the main hallway - I think it would be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjc_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear mjc_travels, thank you for sharing such wonderful comments.

It makes us thrilled to know how much you liked staying with us and how you appreciated and found so convenient all the services we offer (specially our free 24 hour a day shuttle service and our complimentary breakfast). we thrive on our guests satisfaction and comfort, that is why we do everything within our reach to provide them with all they might need for a restful and comfortable stay.

Thank you so much for staying with us, the entire staff looks forward to your next visit.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#19 of 27 in Alajuela
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
274 reviews
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,425 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $110 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing