We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine service and amenities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine service and amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Although it was like being fast-forwarded back to the U.S., this was an excellent place to stay near the airport before an early morning flight back home. The airport shuttle was ready and waiting when we went to the lobby in the morning. There was even a scale near the front desk to weigh our luggage, which was helpful in packing. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terah1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Terah1231, thank you for posting your comments.

We are delighted to learn how convenient and useful you found the services we offer. We strive to try to make our guests' stay as comfortable, restful and hassle free as it can be, that way we can ensure them everything they were expecting from a perfect hotel experience and much more. We thrive on our guests satisfaction and everytime we read reviews like yours, it lets us know that we are indeed doing everything we are supposed to do and in the best way possible.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, thank you so much for choosing us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    321
    78
    23
    17
See reviews for
193
299
61
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
185 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one evening. It was great. It is conveniently located near the airport (5 minutes), has a free shuttle service every 15 minutes, is across from a Denny's (not fine dining but convenient), has take away breakfast from 2am and regular breakfast from 6am, the breakfast is good, the room was spacious, the beds and pillows were great, and the computers and printers in the lobby worked great! I have nothing bad to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: I wouldn't get a room in the main hallway - I think it would be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjc_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear mjc_travels, thank you for sharing such wonderful comments.

It makes us thrilled to know how much you liked staying with us and how you appreciated and found so convenient all the services we offer (specially our free 24 hour a day shuttle service and our complimentary breakfast). we thrive on our guests satisfaction and comfort, that is why we do everything within our reach to provide them with all they might need for a restful and comfortable stay.

Thank you so much for staying with us, the entire staff looks forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is by and far the worst experience I have experienced at a hotel. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL. I had booked this room 2 months before on Hotels.com and pre-paid in full. I emailed the staff my flight and arrival time and they said they would send a shuttle to pick up my girlfriend and I at the airport. We arrived at the airport at 1am and there was no shuttle. We waited while being pestered for some time for the shuttle to arrive and had to borrow a phone to call for the shuttle. Upon arriving at the Holiday Inn Express, the front desk employee informed me that all the rooms were booked. I said that this is impossible since I have a guaranteed reserved room which I already paid for. He said that the best he can do is get us a room at a 'sister' hotel located 25 minutes away. He didn't either offer us transportation to this other hotel until we pushed him. After 12 hours of travelling and nearing 2am, this was the absolute worst experience to start our vacation. Bottom line - they are unreliable and incompetent. I wouldn't risk your patience, sanity, or vacation by staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Golfer1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Golfer1616, thank you for sharing your comments, they are very important for us because they provide us with invaluable feedback of what our guests think about the hotel, its services and the attention from its personnel and what we can do to improve them for their complete satisfaction.

We apologize for the inconvenience you experiene of having to be transfered to another hotel due to the overbooking of all the hotels in the area near the airport which was beyond our control. Our hotel has a partnership with other hotels who are also characterized by their high quality of services and accommodations, one of those hotels is the hotel right next door which we would have happily sent you there since they are right next door from us, but as I wrote before all the hotels in the area were overbooked. That is the reason why we sent you to another partner hotel which a little away from the airport and it also is a hotel that always maintains the highest quality of services and accommodations.
Once again we are really sorry and will like to apologize for everything that happend, we can assure that overbookings like this very seldomly happens, unfortunately it did happen when you were here and would really like to contact you privately so that we can offer you a compensation for the hassle you experienced.

It was a pleasure being at your service, we would really appreciate if you can give us another chance to demonstrate our commitment to you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, WA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We reserved two rooms for just one night stay. Our rooms were very clean, beds and pillows were comfortable, we had free wi-fi, fridge and free phone calls. The airport shuttle was very easy to use and quick, the lobby PCs were also easy to use and convenient. Every one of the Holiday Inn staff were friendly and helpful, especially the reception and breakfast service staff - excellent customer service. Very close to the airport so real convenient for arrivals or departures. We stayed here for our last night in Costa Rica so this property can't compare to the rest of our stays near beautiful jungles and beaches, but the solid service makes this a comfortable, clean place if you need to be close to the airport. There is a Denny's across the parking lot but I'd suggest you venture a bit farther to one of the local restaurants to enjoy a better meal. We walked down the block to Don Mateo where we had cold beers, helpful service and excellent food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear lynnkid, thank you for writing such great comments.

It is awesome to learn when guests are completely satisfied and happy about everything in our hotel, starting with our very convenient location (less than 1 mile away from the airport so our guests can get more rest before departing or after arriving to the country, also we are just across the parking lot from several car rentals and a couple of restaurants and a casino), our excellent staff who is always going above and beyond to make our guests feel happy and welcome, all the great services we offer such as our delicious complimentary breakfast, the free wifi, our shuttle to and from the airport the whole 24 hours of the day ect., and last but not least, our super comfortable and cozy accommodations that entice our guests t a peaceful and long rest. Eventhough you and your family only stayed for a night, it is very rewarding to see how much you appreciated us.

We really do hpe to see you back with us very soon and we thank you for staying with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

As another reviewer stated below, this is a hotel that knows its market and succeeds in meeting the needs of that market. We stayed here the night before our early flight out of San Jose and wanted a place close to the airport. The staff was extremely helpful. We especially liked being able to pay our exit tax at the hotel rather than wait in line at the airport. You should know that the hotel charges a small ($4) fee for that service, but it is well worth it. The rooms were excellent and everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn. It also has a pool and small fitness center. There are 2 decent restaurants within walking distance (I would not recommend eating in the restaurant at the adjacent casino) and the hotel runs a free shuttle into Alajuela in the evening if you want to eat elsewhere. The hotel runs an airport shuttle every 10 minutes and we had no problem getting to the airport on time. If you have an early flight as we did, the hotel offers bag breakfasts which are ok and coffee is available at all times (coffee also is available in the room). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank East_Coaster28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear East_Coaster 28970, thank you for posting such lovely comments about your stay with us.

There is nothing more rewarding besides being able to serve our guests the best way we can than to see how they appreciate what we do to make them feel cmpletely satisfied and comfortable in order to make their stay with us a perfect and restful hotel experience.

We are thrilled that you found our accommodations very comfortable and our services so convenient, specially to be able to pay at the hotel the exit tax in order to avoid the enormous line at the airport, and our "to go" breakfast among other services.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, we really do hope to see you back again soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
194 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Excellent hotel....top notch service....perfect location.....friendly staff....clean comfortable rooms....delicious breakfast......quick and efficient airport shuttle service! Close to many car rental agencies and discounts offered at nearby restaurants. All my communications by email were answered quickly! The manager, Juan is very friendly and makes you feel like a welcomed guest.
We have stayed here before and will be returning later in the year! You can even pay your departure tax at the hotel.
Bravo....a well run operation!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear gayla, thank you for writing such a candid review. We also would like to thank you for making us your favorite hotel and deciding to stay with us every time you visit the country. Knowing how guests like you feel about the accommodations and services we provide is very rewarding because we can see that we are doing everything we are suppose to in making each and everyone of our guests feel so satisfied and comfortable while staying with us.

Our staff´s main concern is to compy with every need and request our guests may have in the friendliest and most attentive way so they can immediately can feel right at home, from the first time that they step inside our door.

It was a pleasure being of your service, the entire staff is looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Here is a hotel that understands the reason they were established and works hard at fulfilling its role. It is right across from the airport and caters to travelers and business people passing through SJO. They have 24/7 shuttles to and from the airport. Best of all, if you've ever waited on the long line to pay the exit tax at the airport, breathe easy, you can pay that tax right there at the hotel and save yourself at least a half hour at the airport. Our room was quiet with all the amenities you'd expect at a Holiday Inn, king sized bed, roomy bathroom with all the personal items, hairdryer, shampoo etc., in room wi-fi which worked well but is on the Holiday Inn system meaning you have to jump through a couple of hoops when signing in. I never heard the planes taking off or landing. There was no mini-fridge and the safe was extremely narrow with no room for a wide camera. It did hold passports and mini-computers(on end). The lobby was nice and roomy with comfortable chairs if you are waiting for the shuttle etc. The breakfast area was right in the lobby with the standard fare. There is a little gift shop for last minute purchases but it is convenient, not cheap. There is not much to do within walking distance of the hotel but it is a good jumping off point. The Denny's right next door is a a stop for other shuttles to take you to other parts of Costa Rica and other sites. We left Costa Rica rested after a long tour thanks to the staff and simple comforts of the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WintersR4beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear WintersR4hotels, thank you so much for writing such a candid and thorough review.

We are more than pleased to learn how much you like and appreciate our hotel because there is nothing we want more than to treat our guests as they deserve, provide them with very comfortable accommodations, the best and most convenient services and the most friendly and attentive staff so they can rest assure and know that they can always count on us for a restful and comfortable hotel experience. Since our guests´ comfort is so important for us, when the hotel was built, special materials were used that isolates any incoming sounds no matter how loud they might be, to ensure our guests´ undisturbed rest.

Thank you very much for choosing us, the entire staff looks forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#17 of 29 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing