We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mango(Alajuela)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mi Tierra(Alajuela)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartotel Obelisco(San Antonio De Belen)
View Hotel
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose(San Antonio De Belen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (843)
Filter reviews
843 results
Traveler rating
355
345
96
26
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
345
96
26
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expressfree shuttlesan josecosta ricafree breakfastrosti pollonext morningan early flighthour shuttlerental carshuttle runsoutdoor poollast nightrooms were very cleanbagged breakfastshuttle serviceconvenient place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 843 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The location is a couple of minutes from the airport with 24 hour shuttle service. The concierge will help arrange local transportation and other services if needed. Because it is close the the airport it can get a little loud when planes take off.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colorado_adventure_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear colorado_adventure_1, thank for sharing your review. We are delighted to find out how convenient and comfortable you found our hotel and its services. We always try to make our guests´ stay as comfortable as posible, that is why we are always doing everything we can to comply with all their requests and needs.
We thrive on our guests´ happiness and complete satisfaction, there is nothing that makes us happier than to know that their experience with us was a complete success. Since the hotel was built so near the airport, special materials were used that isolates any incoming sound no matter how loud it might be so our guests can have all the rest they deserve.
It was a pleasure having you with us, we hope that you visit us again very soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Good location close airport, some minor plane noise, clean, good bed, breakfast your usual with great Costa Rica coffee, free wifi. Good place to book tours. Staff was very friendly. We would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Albertageorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Albertageorge, thank you for writing this review.
We are thrilled to find out how much you liked staying with us and the services the hotel offers. We always try to make our guests feel totally satisfied by providing them with all they might need in order to make their stay with us a great experience.

We make it our duty to take extremely good care of our guests, that way, they can be certain that everytime they stay with us they are never going to be disappointed.

Thank you for choosing us, it was a pleasure to have you with us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here the first and last night of our week-long trip to Costa Rica. It was absolutely PERFECT for what we needed. We wanted a hotel that was close to the airport but not directly in San Jose. The location is great and there is an airport shuttle that runs every 5 minutes, all day and night. The staff was polite and very friendly, and they were eager to help and answer our questions. They even did "rapid checkout" both nights, which means they run your card the night before you check out, so we didn't have to pay in the morning on the way out (this was especially nice on our last day since our flight was early). The rooms were clean and spacious. There is a nice pool and a small gym. Breakfast was much better than expected. By the end of my trip around Costa Rica I was actually looking forward to getting back here for our last night to take a "real" shower and sleep in a nice bed. Plenty of parking (if you have a rental car) and there are 3 restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. We will be back if we are ever in Costa Rica again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Caitlin R, thank you for sharing your review. We are thrilled to learn how great you found our hotel, not only for the super comfortable rooms, the high quality of services and its very convenient location but also because of the great warmth and friendliness of our entire staff.
We thrive on our guests´ total satisfaction and well being, so reading a review such as yours makes us see that we did indeed achieve our main goal with you and your boyfriend. It makes us really proud to know that the next time you visit this country, we are going to be your hotel of choice. Thank you for staying with us, it was a plleasure being of your service and we hope to see you back very soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel is under 5 minutes from the airport. Just walk outside, cross the street and look for the free shuttle with Holiday Inn logo. It has another hotel logo too, so look closely. The rooms are clean and have everything you expect at Holiday Inn, plus there is a beautiful outdoor pool, gym and free breakfast. The staff was excellent with all kinds of help and direction. Going to the bank to change money requires a long line. They will exchange $100 per day for you, plus they accept credit cards for the room and any extras. Local calls are free too. This is a great choice if you are arriving late at SJO airport. Denny's is across the street if you arrive hungry.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micarooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear micarooni, thanks for posting such a nice review.
It makes us extremely happy and proud that you enjoyed so much your stay with us and that you found our staff so helpful and accommodating. As you were able to see, there is nothing we want more than to provide our guests the most comfortable and hassle free hotel experience, that way, they can always be sure that we keep our promises and that their satisfaction is always guaranteed.
It was a pleasure having you with us, thank you for choosing us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is our second stay at the Holiday Inn Express Airport hotel. We were so pleased with our first stay that we will continue to stay here each time we visit Costa Rica (which is a lot). There's nothing to add to my original review (and others' positive reviews). I highly recommend this hotel when you need to be close to the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernAlberta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear NorthernAlberta2, thank you so much for posting this great review. We are overwhelmed with pride to learn that we are your hotel of choice every time you visit the country.
We have indeed reached our goal which is to be our guests´ home away from home, providing them with the best services and accommodations so they can have a perfect hotel experience with us.
There is nothing we want more than to be the first choice in our guests´ lists and it makes us extremely happy to learn that we did accomplish it with you.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we will be looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews