We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very happy. great location, good rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“very happy. great location, good rooms”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Was very happy with our stay my partner and I had departures about 7 hours apart so stayed here so could see me off and easy to get back to hotel. Room was good, service good, hot water, clean, breakfast very basic but good, shuttle mm efficient.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Katherine ect, thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is awesome that you and your partner were so happy with your stay here with us. We always strive in providing our guests with the highest quality of accommodations and services plus the bonus of having the conveniency of our location so close to the airport.
We are very glad that everything was of your liking because there is nothing we like more than to have our guests´ complete satisfaction so they can be sure that they will always get what we promise.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours truly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    328
    84
    24
    18
See reviews for
201
309
63
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is the best choice if you need to stay at/near the airport for a very late or very early flight. The airport shuttle runs to/from the hotel every 10mins. Contrary to random guys standing in the arrivals area of the airport, you do not need to call for the shuttle (these scammers will "call for the shuttle" for you, then try to demand a tip when the shuttle shows up....don't fall for it). Hotel is a 3min drive from the airport. Rooms are clean, roomy, and comfortable. Wi-Fi worked very well. There is a Denny's and a casino/bar on the other side of the parking lot (literally a 30 second walk from the hotel lobby). Only possible negative is that if you are a light sleeper you might be awakened by airplanes taking off and landing (the hotel is VERY close to one end of the runway at the airport). Didn't bother me, but I'm a heavy sleeper.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear RobbieNYC, thanks for sharing your review. It makes us very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that found you found our location and services so convenient and our accommodations so comfortable.

Here at the hotel, our staff thrives on the well being and complete satisfaction of all of our guests that is why we do whatever we can to guarantee them an excellent stay. We are glad to inform you that eventhough the hotel is so close to the airport, it was built with special materials that isolate any incoming sounds no matter how loud they might be, so our guests don´t have to worry about the quality of their rest because everything has been taken care of.

Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

lots of problems with check in and personnel. check in is at 2:00pm, at 1:59 would not check me in then but me at back of line. wi-fi not reliable at all. rather disgusting for the $141.50 a nite. breakfast not good. no veteran discounts available. how wrong is that for an american company that owes the veterans so much. staff not really friendly.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dowd70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear dowd70, thank you for sharing your review since it is very important for us to know exactly what our guests think about our hotel and the services we provide.
We are very sorry to learn that you were not happy with your stay because we are always trying to do everything we can to make our costumers happy not only with their stay but also with the services we provide.
Eventhough we do not have any veteran discounts we do offer other type of discounts such as the Triple A (AAA) Discount or the AARP Discount which we would be more than happy to make. Regarding the breakfast we offer and our costumer service, we are going to share your comments with our brands standards team so they can promptly resolve those issues since we take the comfort of our guests very seriously and any problems we are made aware of are always dealt with as soon as possible.
Finally, we always honor our Hospitality Guarantee which we can make it effective as soon as possible because we always deliver what we promise. Once again, we are truly sorry about your mishaps.
Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you.
Best regards, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Nice clean rooms, perfect location - barely a mile away from the airport - makes it a perfect stop for incoming and outgoing days. The rental car companies - Economy, Thrifty, are walkable from the hotel. And there is a Denny's for the American who has enough of Tico food on your last day out of CR, and there is a casino - yes, you read it right - attached to the Denny's for a drink or someone who is not convinced that they need to contribute more to the Costa Rican economy!

Overall, very satisfied with the book-endish utility of this hotel for an awesome trip. Only downside is that it is a good 20km away from downtown San Jose. So, a quick jaunt through the San Jose downtown is not really all that quick!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Easy_Traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Easy_Traveler_10, Thank you for posting such nice comments. It is great to learn of how convenient our hotel´s location was for you, being less than 1 mile away from the airport and having all those extras around ( the Denny´s, the casino and the car rentals!).
Also we are very happy that you found it so welcoming and comfortable, just the perfect place to rest before ending your vacation and returning back home.

It really was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you back soon.

Yours truly,
Marjorie E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our way out of Costa Rica and found it to be a very good hotel with great service. The hotel staff was very helpful in setting up a shuttle to the airport in the early morning and helped us with paying our airport tax before we left the hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable and the hotel offered all the amenities we needed. There are two restaurants in the same parking lot, but they are not the greatest.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Shannos S, we appreciate the time you took to write this great comments. It is very rewarding for us when our guests appreciates how our staff always go above and beyond to make their stay a wonderful experience.
Also, we provide them with the most comfortable accommodations so they can be sure to get all the rest they need before returning back home or after a grueling trip.

Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure to have you with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel is just 5 minutes away from SJO Intl. Airport, which makes it perfect for those who fly in late. The hotel offers a frequent and free of cost shuttle from and to the airport - we stepped out of the arrival area and there it already came! Great!
The rooms of the hotel are big, clean and fully equiped. The breakfast-buffet had everything we needed (fresh fruits, yoghurt, english muffins, scrambled and hard boiled eggs, coffee, tea, juices etc.).
After breakfast we took the shuttle back to the Airport, since we had to pick up our rental car there.

All in all a very convenient and relaxed start into a great trip through this amazing country!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ina9181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear ina8191, thank you for posting such an amazing review. It is a great source of motivation for the entire staff to learn when our guests leave feeling so happy about their stay with us.
We strive to provide our guests with super comfortable and convenient accommodations and with all the services they might need in order to make their stay with us all of what they expected and more. It is very important for us to never disappoint a guest since it is our plasure to see them happy and satisfied.
Once again, thank you for staying with us, it was a real pleasure having you here.
Best regards. Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Holiday Inn Express offers free shuttles every 15 minutes. You are literally 10 minutes from the airport. There are two restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, a casino and several rental car companies are close by too. There is a concierge where you can pay your exit tax or book transportation. They offer a free breakfast that is above average. The rooms are modern, very clean and quiet. The staff at the front desk is very professional. The pool area is very nice and we were lucky enough to visit when several orchids were in bloom. This hotel would be a great choice for anyone looking to stay the night of arrival or departure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear flsurfer, thank you for such an awesome review. It makes us so happy to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how convenient and comfortable our hotel was for you.
Here at the hotel, we strive to provide all our guests with the best services and the most comfortable rooms to make sure that they are completely satisfied and that they will never be disappointed with us.
We are very happy that you got to see some of our orchids in bloom ( we are very proud of them) and see how beautiful they are.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon.
Best regards, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mango
Hotel Mango
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#15 of 27 in Alajuela
259 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
661 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing