We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good airport location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good airport location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you are arriving late or leaving early this is an excellent hotel choice. Quiet and clean rooms. I have been staying here for fifteen years. Don't let that put you off by implying this hotel is old. It has been totally remodeled at least three times during that period and is in near new condition. Good breakfast selection and, if you want, you can walk less than 200 feet to Denny's. be sure to ask at the front desk for a discount coupon for Denny's.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Onthebeachgene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Onthebeachgene, thank you for your comments. It makes everyone at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport very proud to learn that you have been staying with us for the last fifteen years. Comments like yours are a great source of motivation for us, since we strive to provide the highest standards of service to all our guests.
We hope that you will continue staying with us every time you come back to Costa Rica so we can continue making you feel right at home.
Thank you for staying with us and the entire team looks forward welcoming you back on your next visit.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    301
    68
    22
    17
See reviews for
173
280
59
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Spend the night here when my flight got canceled. The rooms are specious, clean and affordable. Room rate is $89 + tax for a room with a king size bed, work area and couch. The staffs are friendly and accommodating. They also have free airport transfers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len_114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Len_114, we are extremely happy that you found the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport of your liking.
We are fully committed in providing all of our clients with the best level of service and quality of product. It is very rewarding to know that when our guests leave our premises that they feel that their expectations have been fulfilled.
Thank you for choosing us and we will look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night because our flight was leaving at 6:30 the next morning. The front desk person was very nice and attentive. We got a nice room with everything we needed. My husband and I went next door to the Casino for a quick drink before heading to dinner at Denny's, which was also next door. The room was clean, the Internet access was excellent and the bathroom had shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. In the morning, we picked up our free bagged breakfast which was nice because we had to leave so early and the airport shuttle whisked us away quickly. We didn't need to reserve the breakfast or the shuttle. The airport is 5 minutes away. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank susieq444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear susieq444, thank you for your review, it is very rewarding for us to learn how pleased you were with our services, accommodations, and location of the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport.
Our job is to provide our guests with everything they need to make their stay a comfortable and satisfying experience.
It is a great source of motivation for all the hotel´s staff everytime our guests leave wanting to return because it shows us that we are doing the job we are required to do.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you visit us again soon.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We decided to stay here the night before our flight out of san jose, due to long travel time. The staff was very helpful and so nice. Free shuttle every 15 min to the airport. Free continental breakfast. The desk staff is pretty fluent in english and is so hepful!! Our room was very clean and a set up for quick travelers, we loved our stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nursesarah510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear nursesarah510, thank you for posting your review. It gives us great satisfaction to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
Here, at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, is our duty and our pleasure to provide our guests with the best services and accommodation. Our staff works very hard providing all of our guests with everything they need, so it is very rewarding when the guests recognize it.
It has been a real pleasure having you staying with us and the entire team looks forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here one night in transit out of San Jose and picked this hotel for it's location, which was perfect. Can't say enough about how well this hotel is set up for travelers who are just passing through for the airport. Free shuttle to the airport every 15 mins 24/7, electronic departure/arrival screen in the lobby, free breakfast, and if you have leave before 6am (which we did) there are to go bags set up with fruit, muffin, granola bar, and juice. Also, I can't say enough about how helpful the desk staff was when we got there. The only downside is that there's really nothing in the area. We were looking for dinner and the options were basically limited to Denny's and RostiPollo (meh).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bandito912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear bandito912, thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor; we appreciate you taking your time to write your review.
We are very pleased that we were able to to fulfill all your expectations regarding our services and accommodations.
We are very proud of our level of service and quality of product, so it makes us very happy when our guests recognize them because that is exactly the reason of the work we do.
Besides Denny´s and Rosti Pollos, there is the Pirate Bar & Restaurant located inside the Casino Fiesta, and if you desire other options you can ask our staff and they will gladly tell you about other restaurants nearby which are only a cab drive away. Also, we are happy to inform you that now the hotel is providing free dinner transportation to and from the hotel to Plaza Real Mall in Alajuela which is only about 5 minutes away. At the Plaza Real Mall you can find different kinds of restaurants that will please the most diverse tastes, such as Mexican, Italian, Japanese, Argentine etc. so next time you come and stay with us, you will have plenty of restaurants to choose from.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you the next time you come back to Costa Rica.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel could not be any closer to the airport unless it was in the airport. It is a perfect place to begin and end your trip, which is what we did. The free shuttle is efficient, the front desk staff are very helpful and nice and the hotel itself is very clean. The breakfast is very good and even has gallo pinto, so you get your typical Tico breakfast here. On our arrival night we had two nice rooms right across the hall from each other. On our departure night we were several rooms down, which I didn't like and the mattresses were SO much harder. The beds on our second stay actually hurt my husband's back. We were in room 213. Rosti Pollo isn't a bad dinner option. I wanted to walk farther to try something else but with three kids in tow I didn't want to on the busy road. My kids also enjoyed the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefairygodblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear lenzy484, we appreciate you taking your time to post your comments since they are extremely valuable to us because they help us improve our service.
We are very happy that you liked our complimentary Express Start Breakfast,( specially our ¨Gallo Pinto¨ ) since it enables you to try some of our regional culinary delights; and that your kids enjoyed the pool so much. Your happiness is a great source of motivation for us.
We are sorry that your husband hurt his back on your second stay and we apologize for the inconvenience. We appreciate that you specified the room number so we can take the necessary action to target that problem.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope that you stay with us the next time you come to Costa Rica.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Overall the hotel was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good. Staff was friendly and helpul. The free airport shuttle was greatly appreciated. Perfect for late night flights into SJO since it was a quick shuttle ride from airport exit to hotel entrance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j082aj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear j082aj, thank you for your comments. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport. Such candid reviews make us feel extremely proud since we strive for our guests to have total comfort and satisfaction.
Our shuttles to and from the airport take about 5 minutes since the hotel is less than 1 mile away from the airport. The shuttles leave the hotel every 15 minutes the 24 hours of the day, making it easier for our guests to get a little more sleep and rest before leaving.
Once again, thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you and we hope that you come back soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#14 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
3.5 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mango
Hotel Mango
#17 of 30 in Alajuela
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing