We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean, comfortable, convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Used points to stay for a night at the end of a 10 day trip. Room was clean, comfortable and had air conditioning (very welcome). Free shuttle to airport takes 5 minutes and breakfast to-go is set out for early morning departures. We had pizza and beer at the Pirates Bar in the Fiesta Casino (half price on Sunday!) for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pbc315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Pbc315, we appreciate you feedback and are very happy about being able to fulfill your expectations of your stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport. To provide our guests with total satisfaction is our main goal and your comments assures us that we are doing our job properly.
As you mentioned before, our free shuttle service is every 15 min. 24 hrs. a day and the ride is only about 5 min. since the airport is less than 1 mile away, so our guests get to sleep more than if they stayed farther away.
The Pirate Bar& Restaurant in the Casino Fiesta is open every day of the week ( Denny´s Restaurant next door to the Casino Fiesta is open everyday too) and the guests can either go there, or if they don´t want to go out, the order can be deliver to the hotel room ( the same as Denny´s).
Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    295
    62
    21
    16
See reviews for
169
269
58
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Got in after a long flight. I was told that someone will wait for me at the airport holding a sign with my name, but this didn't happen... So the people at the airport that try to "help" anyone who just arrived directed me to the very close shuttle and then said they are working for tips... Oh well. Just ignore them and cross the road to wait for the shuttle. The shuttle is free and it takes about 5 minutes at most to get to the hotel. It runs quite frequently.
The hotel is clean and the facilities are very good (by any standards). Staff is very friendly (although the concierge did not provide any useful advise that you would expect from an expert - but he was extremely nice). Breakfast was very good.
I would recommend getting a room that faces the pool and not the road.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room that faces the pool and not the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteSlope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Antonio H, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear WhiteSlope,

First, thank you for the two important situations that you are reporting.

Your reports are very important to us in order to verify our procedures and correct what we need to, to reach our most important goal: Your satisfaction! by delivering our promises all the time.

We apologize for the inconvenience that you had at the airport. Being an Airport Hotel, having an executive waiting for you when we arrange it before and our shuttle service, is one of our most important benefits that our guests that are arriving to a different country expect. For sure we´ll verify our procedures in order to improve, same as your comment about our concierge: as you say our guest should have an expert who can help them get information, find places, offer suggestions, etc. We will also work harder on this issue.

I would like to contact you directly in order to get more information about these two situations, if you agree please send me an email with your contact at: jpaniagua@gmhiex.net



Best regards,

Jorge Paniagua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playa tamarindo
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great hotel near the airport with free shuttle. It is also located next to Denny's, the pick up location for Interbus and Grayline shuttles to destinations throughout Costa Rica. Rooms are nice and comforatble, free breakfast is great with typical Costa Rican dishes. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Just be carefull when you book online via the HI Express website, the advertised price is based on single occupancy even if you searched for 2 people in the room. There is a surcharge for the 2nd person in the room. Apart from that, would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_K_TNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Antonio H, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Mr./Mrs. K_K_TNO,

We appreciate your comments about your experience in our facilities.

We understand that when you travel, our guests look for a brand that delivers memorable experiences, excellent quality in service and product and of course consistency according at their expectations.

About the reservation issue, We would like to recommend that when you reserve trough our Web Site, if you have more than one person in the same room, at the bottom of the Single Rate, a text will appear with the rate for extra persons in the same room, same as the rest of the Intercontinental hotels. Hope this helps our customers to have accurate information about rates.

Thank you again for your important feedback, it helps us to improve our service everyday!



Jorge Paniagua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Normally a Holiday Inn in the US would not be at the top of my list, but this location definitely changed my perception of the chain. My husband and I had a one night stay in the hotel after a long day of travel from Peru. My husband thought it would be best to just stay near the airport instead of going to a hotel directly in the city since we were leaving early to drive to Limon the next day, he was right. We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff at the front desk. Our room was clean and comfortable, just what we needed after an exhausting day of travel. One of the best amenities at this particular Holiday Inn was the fact that they offered free calls to the States. That was HUGE for us because we had been traveling for a week through South America and hadn't really been able to check in with our family in the US. I loved the bed, we had a great night's sleep. The complimentary breakfast was very satisfying and just what we needed before we hit the road. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Antonio H, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear kdl19,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments.

It Is nice to hear that our guests get a nice rest and enjoy their stay in our facilities! Some people might think that the noise of the airplaines will affect their night sleep, for being right in front of the aiport, your comments confirm that this do not happen.

One of the most important benefits are the Unlimited International and Local Calls, to keep in touch with family, work and friends.

We´ll be glad to have you soon as our guest and happy you now have a different and positive opinion about our brand.


Regards,

Jorge Paniagua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here last night after flying into Costa Rica. I am giving it an excellent rating not because it is the most luxurious hotel, but because the customer service here is wonderful. The room was very clean and comfortable. Beds were firmer than I am used to, but were in good shape with lots of pillows and clean linens. The free breakfast was very tasty and had quite a few options including eggs, sausage, potatoes, fruit and many bagel, bread pastry choices. The attendant was very friendly and helpful. The real star of this hotel, though, is the front desk attendant, Fabian. Muchas gracias to him for being a phenomenal help to us! We bombarded the poor man with so many questions about restaurants, shuttles, money,etc and he was consistently helpful with a wonderful attitude and big smile. He was so friendly and we truly enjoyed talking with him. He even changed out a very large colones bill with smaller ones for us and explained where to use larger bills and smaller ones (restaurants versus roadside stands, etc.). I wish our hotel workers in the U.S. were half as helpful and friendly as Fabian! Another lovely surprise was that the Denny's next to the hotel turned out to be a great choice to grab a late night snack. Ordinarily, I avoid Denny's at all costs, but this one was cleaner than anything you'll find in the States. Our server was incredible, so helpful, friendly, prompt, everything you hope for in a server. And the food was definitely better than any Denny's I've been in. We were so thankful to have found such a great hotel to stay at after an extremely LONG day of traveling. I most definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone flying into or out of Costa Rica. And I hope you get the chance to meet Fabian!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazmo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Kazmo77, we appreciate you taking your time to write these comments. When guests leave our hotel feeling the way you expressed in your review, it makes us feel that we have accomplished our ultimate goal which is to give you our best service.
We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and that you were satisfied with our Express Start breakfast which offers such a variety of options.
As you could see, Denny´s is open 24 hours a day and if you wish to stay in your room, they will gladly deliver your order without any extra charge.
Thank you very much for choosing us and we hope that you visit us again soon.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here one night...well if you can call it that since we left at 3:15am. We stayed at the Holiday Inn due to its proximity to the airport, I don't think you can get much closer. We knew that we weren't going to do anything but sleep that so this was an excellent option.
The Holiday Inn is very clean and seems fairly new. The rooms are tight on space but not too bad. The night we were there they were full but it was still pretty quiet.
In the morning when we were leaving they had a table full of "to go" bags for breakfast. It was just a muffin, fruit, and juice but certainly a nice touch. The staff were friendly and helpful...perhaps not as much as we had experienced in other areas but still nice.
They offer a service for paying departure tax at the hotel to avoid lines at the airport. It was an additional $4 per person so I took advantage of it. At 4am the airport was pretty quiet so it probably wasn't necessary.
Good hotel if you just need to be close to the airport for a night (or part of one).

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_D90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Mike_D90, thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We are very happy that your brief stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport was of your liking.
As you could see, eventhough we are less than 1 mile from the airport, our rooms are able to provide our guests with a peaceful and comfortable stay. We are also very glad that you liked our "to go" breakfast bags since we know that sometimes our guests have to leave the hotel very early and need something to eat before their airplane departs.
Once again thank you and we hope to have you stay with us again in the future.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here the night before we flew out and it was very nice. Hotel is clean and nice, the little pool is much nicer then I expected for a hotel pool - the kids enjoyed it. There are a couple of restaurants basically in the same parking lot so you don't need to have a car or overspend on dinner. Breakfast was included and was very generous. Gallo pinto - yum! And the shuttle to the airport was clean and timely. Would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kateandevesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear kateandevesmom, thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Here, at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, we strive each day to make each and every guest happy by providing everything they need to make their experience as comfortable as possible. When guests leave our hotel with a smile on their faces, we know that our efforts to provide a great service have been accomplished.
Our complimentary Express Start Breakfast is very satisfying since it offers a variety of options, including some typical dishes from the region. Also, some of the restaurants near the hotel such as Denny´s and The Pirate Bar&Restaurant in the Casino Fiesta can deliver your orders to your room is you don´t want to go out.
Once again, thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#13 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,512 reviews
4.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing