We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast to go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed there on the night before our flight back to Denver that leaves at 6:00 Am
so we had to leave the hotel around 3:30Am. When registering there were crowds of people, but the young staff handled this very well. They also speak very good English.
The room was clean and pleasant, we were afraid that this close to the airport we will not be able to sleep, but the airplanes did not bother us much.
The best thing: the shuttle works all night and for folks leaving this early there is tbreakfast to go in a brown bag.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anyta277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear anyta277, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport. Our hotel and staff excels in providing our guests with the best service possible, so each and every guest leave us with a smile on their face.
And yes, for all those guests whose flights depart before 6:00 a.m., we provide them with our Grab and Go Breakfast so they can have something to eat before boarding the plane.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Yours Truly, Ana J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 827 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. We were only here for one night at the end of our trip and had an early morning flight back to the U.S. Despite our rather early departure a bag breakfast and a shuttle to the airport was provided. I only wish they would have let our family of five stay in one room--we arrived late and had to leave very early the next morning; but, we were required to pay for two rooms.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Roz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Roz M, thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your brief stay with us.
As you mentioned, we offer our complimentary Grab and Go Breakfast for all those guests with early departure schedules because during the very early hours of the morning there is nothing open at the airport for the passengers to buy food to eat before boarding the airplane. Also our airport shuttle leaves to and from the airport every 15 minutes 24 hours a day.
Thank you again and we hope you come back soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Landed at 11 pm from Miami. Shuttle was across from baggage claim, just ask someone where it is but don't get sucked into a taxi...they want to drive you there and you have to walk through a gaggle of taxi and shuttle drivers looking for your business. Airport should move those guys out, not a great way to start a trip.

Shuttle was great, check in was great, hotel was perfect way to ease into life in CR.

Room Tip: I was so tired any room would have worked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfaul98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear jfaul98, thank you for your comments. We are very pleased that liked our hotel so much since we try to make your experience with us as comfortable as possible, not only with the accommodations we offer but also with the other services we provide because we know that they will make your stay with us more pleasant.
For example, our shuttle to and from the airport (which leave every 15 minutes), we offer complimetary Wi Fi Internet as well as unlimited national and international phonecalls. We also provide our guests with our complimentary Express Start Breakfast, among other things. All this services in order to give or guests the best service.
Once again, thank you for choosing us and we hope you return soon.
Yours Truly, Ana J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel, just minutes from the airport, runs a free shuttle 24 hours a day, with breakfast available as early as 3 am for early morning flights. If you would like a nicer dinner than the Denny's next door, the nearby restaurants will provide a taxi or shuttle; just check at the desk. A Peruvian restaurant just up the street had tasty ceviche. Free calls to Canada and the USA, free internet service, and helpful staff made this a convenient hotel for an arrival or departure day.

Room Tip: Considering the airport and the road, the second floor of the hotel was quiet; there is an elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Free shuttle, free breakfast, and a fast, efficient check in/out. Hotel is really close to the airport and an easy exit in a rental car to all points Costa Rica. For our last night of vacation we chose to stay again and visited the casino across the street for dinner and entertainment (playing the slots while waiting four our departure flight). Fun!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper this may not be for you.... lots of flights overhead and although we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilly003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

very clean and big rooms. 4 of us shared a room and were very comfortable as there were 2 double beds. we had an early morning flight, so the hotel gave us a nice breakfast to go at 5 am. Airport shuttle's very convenient. great place to stay if you're in san jose for a night...

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank AnishaIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have traveled all corners of the world but feel this particular hotel has absolutely the right formula, hassle free check-in/out service due to its excellent policy of free internet, free calls anywhere in the world, no mini bar and no restaurant (there is one across the hotel). SO you don't waste time being nickel and dimed over stupid little things at reception.
There is a free 24 hr airport shuttle to the airport which is minutes away. The beds are wonderfully comfortable and the pillow cases are great.
The service is excellent and prompt. This is the only hotel EVER that i got a call after i settled in my room to make sure everything was ok!
If you are spending a night before or after your flight, look no more! This is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyGuy1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#20 of 27 in Alajuela
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
278 reviews
1.8 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,876 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $114 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing