We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel before or after a flight”
Review of Hotel Pacande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pacande
Ranked #3 of 58 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marblemount, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel before or after a flight”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a great hotel for staying the night you arrive in Costa Rica or the night before you leave. Close to the airport, very clean, friendly family owners who wanted to be helpful in any way possible. Fresh paint on the walls, nice fruit and coffee breakfast. The only oddity was the emphasis they placed on taking the specific taxi company that they would be sending to the airport to pick me up. They were very clear that I was not to take any other cab.......but the company that I "was required" to take wasn't anywhere to be found at the airport. Getting a regular cab was easy so there was no problem, it would just be simpler if they didn't place such an emphasis on a ghost service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marblemount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    52
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
82
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at Pacande after arriving at the airport at about 3 a.m. We were warmly welcomed even at that hour by one of the staff. This is a repeat stay at this hotel for us. The manager and all the employees couldn't be nicer. The manager was very helpful in giving us directions to the Carribe bus station. The room was clean and comfortable. A nice breakfast of homemade bread, assorted fresh tropical fruits, juice and coffee. You can even eat in a little sun-filled courtyard if you want. The only problems were the water pressure was a bit weak and a little street noise which one would expect for a convenient location like this. I suggest asking for a room away from the street.

Room Tip: Upstairs and not by the street would be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

stayed 3 nights as a stopover and slept in 3 different rooms, hotel run by a lovely and helpful family, 10 rooms in a tiny place, but all clean and safe. good breakfast with lots of fruits and cereal, 4 minutes by taxi from the airport, so we didn't have to stay in san jose. many buses leave also from alajuela

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 2travellers4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent our first two nights and last two nights in Costa Rica at Hotel Pacande. Very convenient to the airport and to central valley attractions. The place was spotless and very secure. The staff, especially Fabian and Carla, are very friendly and helpful. The videos of the rooms on Hotel Pacande's website make the rooms look a little nicer than they actually are. However, we had no complaints about room quality. We traveled by bus throughout Costa Rica and this hotel was conveniently located for us - i.e., walking distance to bus stations, ATMs, grocery stores, places to eat, etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bvastag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

After a long trip to Costa Rica, it was just what we needed. Small, but clean room. Dark and quiet. In the morning there was a nice little breakfast of coffee, toast and fruit. The owner is a very nice man who chatted with us, and helped with directions to the bus terminal. No, it isnt the Ritz, but this is Central America, and for $25 after a long journey it is perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwrinkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Since our flight was delayed for more than 15 hours we needed to find a Hotel near the airport to spend the first night and we were more than excited about the Pacande Hotel. The room was big, nice, clean and cozy. We had a perfect rest and a good start in the day after an unexpected little breakfast. The owner is very friendly and cares for his guests. He provided us with all the information we needed to continue with our trip. It is a nice place to start and end with your journey to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Group_of_4_btw_25-30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Pacandé is a wonderful B&B in the heart of Alajuela. The hotel is very cozy, comfortable and within very easy walking distance of all the major sites to see in Alajuela. The staff at Pacandé is what really makes the difference. They are the most friendly hotel staff I have ever met. Breakfast is a great time to chat with the staff, who love to talk and get to know their guests. They will also help with any questions you have about Costa Rica in general.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan234553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
0.1 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#13 of 27 in Alajuela
104 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pacande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pacande

Property: Hotel Pacande
Address: Avenida 5, calles 2 y 4, Alajuela 4050-1928, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pacande 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Pacande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacande Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing