We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely basic accommodations”
Review of Hotel Pacande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pacande
Ranked #3 of 61 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely basic accommodations”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

After a long trip to Costa Rica, it was just what we needed. Small, but clean room. Dark and quiet. In the morning there was a nice little breakfast of coffee, toast and fruit. The owner is a very nice man who chatted with us, and helped with directions to the bus terminal. No, it isnt the Ritz, but this is Central America, and for $25 after a long journey it is perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwrinkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    51
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
82
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Since our flight was delayed for more than 15 hours we needed to find a Hotel near the airport to spend the first night and we were more than excited about the Pacande Hotel. The room was big, nice, clean and cozy. We had a perfect rest and a good start in the day after an unexpected little breakfast. The owner is very friendly and cares for his guests. He provided us with all the information we needed to continue with our trip. It is a nice place to start and end with your journey to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Group_of_4_btw_25-30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Pacandé is a wonderful B&B in the heart of Alajuela. The hotel is very cozy, comfortable and within very easy walking distance of all the major sites to see in Alajuela. The staff at Pacandé is what really makes the difference. They are the most friendly hotel staff I have ever met. Breakfast is a great time to chat with the staff, who love to talk and get to know their guests. They will also help with any questions you have about Costa Rica in general.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan234553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was a little nervous when we drove up to hotel, but was pleasantly surprised when we walked inside. It is a very cozy and typical B&B and our room was perfect (#1). The owner was super friendly and the staff were very helpful. They pointed us to a nice little bar / restaurant on the corner that served late. The only thing I was a little disappointed with was the breakfast. The fresh fruit was good but the cereal and bread were not so good. With all the wonderful food in this country, they could make breakfast a little yummier for not much more money. Otherwise, everything was great and I will be returning another night near the end of my trip.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marietta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I had been to this hotel before and I loved it last time, so this trip i decide to come back, they have remodeled many things, I like the new decoration, care and cleaning are still excellent.

the people who work in there help me a lot with everything, I had a small problem with my bags and they were very nice and try to help me always!
The breakfast was also great, it's an excellent hotel, I recommend it!

Room Tip: I'm always looking for good places, but also cheap! so i took a room with shared bathroom! the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxik42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Well maintained rooms. Close to Alajuela airport. Nice family hotel with good breakfast and a nice garden. Helpful staff if you want to find a restaurant, call a cab or anything else. Close to the parque central.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulesDeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

By far this place is miles above the backpacker hostel next door. We were so impressed to find clean comfortable rooms at a very reasonable price ($30 with shared bathroom), a great breakfast garden area and really friendly and kind staff. Everything you could wish for as a traveler...I highly recommend! Another bonus for anyone with a car is that they have a secure lot to park the car at no extra charge!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
2.6 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#13 of 29 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pacande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pacande

Property: Hotel Pacande
Address: Avenida 5, calles 2 y 4, Alajuela 4050-1928, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pacande 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pacande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacande Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing