We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for airport or if passing thru”
Review of Hotel Pacande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pacande
Ranked #4 of 59 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Branson, Missouri, United States
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for airport or if passing thru”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was a little nervous when we drove up to hotel, but was pleasantly surprised when we walked inside. It is a very cozy and typical B&B and our room was perfect (#1). The owner was super friendly and the staff were very helpful. They pointed us to a nice little bar / restaurant on the corner that served late. The only thing I was a little disappointed with was the breakfast. The fresh fruit was good but the cereal and bread were not so good. With all the wonderful food in this country, they could make breakfast a little yummier for not much more money. Otherwise, everything was great and I will be returning another night near the end of my trip.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marietta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    52
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
83
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I had been to this hotel before and I loved it last time, so this trip i decide to come back, they have remodeled many things, I like the new decoration, care and cleaning are still excellent.

the people who work in there help me a lot with everything, I had a small problem with my bags and they were very nice and try to help me always!
The breakfast was also great, it's an excellent hotel, I recommend it!

Room Tip: I'm always looking for good places, but also cheap! so i took a room with shared bathroom! the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxik42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Well maintained rooms. Close to Alajuela airport. Nice family hotel with good breakfast and a nice garden. Helpful staff if you want to find a restaurant, call a cab or anything else. Close to the parque central.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulesDeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

By far this place is miles above the backpacker hostel next door. We were so impressed to find clean comfortable rooms at a very reasonable price ($30 with shared bathroom), a great breakfast garden area and really friendly and kind staff. Everything you could wish for as a traveler...I highly recommend! Another bonus for anyone with a car is that they have a secure lot to park the car at no extra charge!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My friend Evelyn and I stayed at Pacande for 4 nights in between travels to various parts of the country. Jose, Fabian and Luis welcomed us with open arms, warm smiles and were willing to help us with anything. It is such a friendly atmosphere and that's what made us keep coming back for one more night! we even cancelled a beautiful b&b in atenas because it just did not have that friendly and homelike atmosphere. WE LOVE PACANDE AND WILL BE BACK :) ps: if you can get it, room #1 is fantastic!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyLovesCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our family stayed here twice, before flying out of San José international airport (SJO). It's a very short (5-10 min) cab ride from the airport, and is located in a central Alujuela. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We particularly enjoyed room 8, with it's little loft area (mind your head!), that worked we for us as we have two teen children and it was good to have the extra space. Breakfast is basic, but does include fresh fruit and coffee (is anything more needed?). Very friendly staff -- some have excellent english, some almost none. Wi-fi is there, but doesn't reach all rooms. It's great to be in the center of town, as there are several restaurants and many local shops right outside. Definitely 99% non-tourists in this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natanya
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We arrived to the hotel, they booked for us the best tours, they kept our luggage safe while we were on tours, even for days, an exelent point as basis, 10 minutes away from the airport and the main road, just 10 minutes from San jose. We called them when we had a problem in Arenal, just as if they were our family and they solved our problems. If you are their guest you know that you are safe in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage ask for first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daliazl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 26 in Alajuela
664 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.1 mi away
1915 Hotel
1915 Hotel
#12 of 26 in Alajuela
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#8 of 26 in Alajuela
302 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
1.2 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pacande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pacande

Property: Hotel Pacande
Address: Avenida 5, calles 2 y 4, Alajuela 4050-1928, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pacande 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Pacande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacande Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing