We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great room, great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pacande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pacande
Ranked #6 of 57 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great room, great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We are staying here on our last night in CR, heading to the airport tomorrow. We think we have the best room in the house. Room number 8. Off the back patio, up a very skinny spiral staircase. A private balcony overlooks the back garden. The room is completely paneled in wood, has two beds downstairs and then a loft with a double bed. Very roomy, it would be a good room to stay in if you had kids with you. But perhaps not little kids because of the skinny spiral staircase.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 9 are upstairs and are bigger than the rooms off the downstairs hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaInGreenValleyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    46
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
68
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
120 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Very well maintained property.
Nice lobby with a receptionist 24/7. Free internet use.
We were charged 30 dollars for a private room with a shared bathroom and with a breakfast in the morning. The shared bathrooms rooms on the first floor are basic, but very clean. All of them have a TV with cable (buch of English language channels).
There is one shared bathroom per 2 rooms, and it's located right where those rooms are, so you don't really share bathroom with too many people.
The backyard (as well as kitchen) are superclean and well maintained.
It takes only 10 min to/from airport to this hotel.
The hotel called us a taxi in the morning (we had a very early flight) and it cost us only $5 dollars.
The hotel is also very close to the public buses to San Jose (Tuasa bus), volcano Poas etc etc. There is a cute soda place right across the hotel.
Very friendly staff and the owner, who is originally from Colombia.
A+ to this property.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krolikv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The owner was really friendly and offered us free use of internet. He was very helpful in recommending places to check out while we were in town. The rooms were small, but so nicely furnished. It's a little gem.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a few nights and had a lovely time. The room was comfortable and great value for money. Cecilia and Jose-Manuel were extremely welcoming and friendly and gave us good advice on where to go around Alajuela. Nice breakfast. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stian23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

I made a reservation on line and thought that we would get a room with a double bed. Instead the room had two single beds and was cramped and uncomfortable. The shared bathroom was very small and cramped. The complementary breakfast was nice though. This hotel is adequate for one night. On our last night in Costa Rica we stayed at a much better hotel which was cheaper and cleaner.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

The staff at hotel Pacande made the stay there like visiting relatives!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArkansasGoatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

My wife and I stayed twice in this hotel (two different nights). Located a couple of blocks from the center, and 10 minutes drive from the airport. A very pleasant, clean hotel, with comfortably sized rooms. The breakfast is basic but very tasty, and served in a very nice patio. The staff is helpful and friendly, offers good advice on restaurants, transportation and also local attractions.
Overall, at 40$ a night (low season, 2010) this is a great budget choice in Alajuela!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liamalpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#13 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
2.2 mi away
Hotel Mi Tierra
Hotel Mi Tierra
#20 of 30 in Alajuela
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#7 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#2 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
3.1 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pacande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pacande

Property: Hotel Pacande
Address: Avenida 5, calles 2 y 4, Alajuela 4050-1928, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pacande 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Pacande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacande Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing