We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unexpected Home...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villas Colibri
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have stayed in this Villa for a week and I just now have read the reviews.. the good and the bad. I will respond to the bad reviews first. This is a hotel thats ment to be a home. For the one night stays yes its hard to get settled and arranged with the staff but if you manage then the location is very much a treat for you. This hotel is surrounded by tropical trees in which, each night the wind tree rubbish flys into the pool. Durring my stay I noticed the pool was cleaned every two days so it did not mind me much. YES! Its cold water in the pool and I do not know alot of peoples opinions but in a tropical country with the heat factor... COLD IS GOOD!! Loved it. The rooms are typical costa rican rooms. The bugs you may see are small ants and mosquitos like the entire country has but again.. not to bad. I believe the people whom wrote the poor reviews may not have really experienced costa rica before... or central america.

Now The good. The location is close to the airport. Pricesmart. Walmart. This is a GREAT place to stay for a week or month at great rates. Even has a restruant for breakfest in the morning and tennis courts!

I have stayed in Boquete Panama, David Panama, Cuidad de Panama, San Jose CR , Cartago CR and San Carlos CR.. This is among one of the best places to spend some time.

Room Tip: This hotel has villas. Get a villa for a month or two if your going to do the long term stays. It...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villas Colibri
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 18 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2011

Both parties (there were 10 of us that arrived in two different groups at different times) were greeted at the airport by Pablo. He was so nice. Our rooms were clean and affordable. Breakfast was nice too. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! We only stayed the night because we were all travelling down to the Osa Peninsula but would have enjoyed staying here longer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckierstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

If you want to stay at a place where you can spend your first day washing dishes that have old food caked on them and grime from the walls, then this is the place for you. The kitchens are very sparsely supplied, for example one glass and you cannot get more from the owner. We had to go out and buy more glasses and cups! The mattresses are lumpy with springs popping out! The unheated pool is filthy, just a step above from pond scum. My advise is keep looking, there are better places available.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank touristticotimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Stayed three different times and totally enjoyed the experience. If you wat true Costa Rican hospitality...here is where you want to be! Close enough to all emmenities yet far enough secluded to be restful and secure. Friendly atmosphere. You want anything? JUST ask! Trips, restaurants, novelity shops, casinos, everything close by yet not in your face! Try them....you'll enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirlWauchula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

I would not recommend staying here if you have a late arrival or an early departure.

We were told that a late arrival would not be a problem and that we would be reimbursed for our taxi. When we arrived, there was no one awaiting our arrival at the compound. The huge gate was closed for the night. We were able to get the taxi driver to call the phone numbers we had for Villas Colibri on his cell phone several times before anyone answered. Someone eventually opened the gate, showed us our room, unlocked the door and disappeared as we moved our luggage into the room. We didn’t even have a chance to ask the few questions that we had.

There were bugs throughout the room, old food in the refrigerator, the electric shower was not functioning correctly, and the beds were uncomfortable. We were not comfortable in our room and we were happy we were only staying there for hours, not days.

We had an early flight to catch, so we were leaving early. In trying to check out, we were able to find someone at the compound who called the owner. The owner wanted us to wait until someone could arrive to check us out. We just left the keys and money with the guy. We didn’t bother trying to get reimbursed for our taxi—we were just happy to leave.

The hotel was not too far from the airport, but much further than expected. You will be better off staying at somewhere more reliable, especially if you have a late arrival or early departure.

Also, everyone I spoke to only spoke Spanish. I am able to speak and understand enough Spanish to get by. If you don’t speak Spanish (and are arriving late or leaving early), it might be a difficult stay for you.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave_man2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

This is a tipical Costa Rican hotel, run by very friendly tico family. We stayed there for a week and we had a great time It was quiet, it has a pool and tennis court for the kids. The rooms are very comfortable. They pick you up and/or drop you off at the airport free of charge.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karla_0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

After a long day of travel, we arrived late-night via taxi to a compound where no one was expecting us even though we had a reservation. The taxi driver used his own cell phone to call the number on the sign and eventually the night guard showed up to open the gate (it was locked). He was not expecting us either since he too had to call the manager to ask for a key. He showed us to a room, the taxi driver dropped off our stuff and we entered to the worst night of our trip.

The room was dirty with a lot of bugs crawling throughout -- we thought they were fireants, so we never got comfortable watching where they were crawling. We had some water and food from traveling, but the refrigerator wasn't even plugged in. There was not one piece of paper products in the place. No toilet paper nor paper towels. I had to knock on another person's door to borrow some of their toilet paper. After a long day of travel and preparing for the early morning flight to the beach, we couldn't even take showers since there weren't any towels in the bathroom!

We decided to suck it up and get what sleep we could, but the bed was completely warped. I constantly had to roll to the other side of the bed to feel like I wouldn't roll out of my side.

I talked with the Manager the next day and she only wanted to take $5 off the cost of the room.

We had to stay there since we didn't have a cell phone nor phone service in the room to call a taxi to take us somewhere else. The taxi had already left and the security guard was nowhere to be found to get some toilet paper. The compund gate was already secured and the area didn't seem too safe to walk around at night to look for another place.

As mentioned, we didn't get a good night's rest since we were worried about the fireants, the bed was completely uncomfortable, and we were just unsettled since we couldn't use the toilet nor take a shower.

I would never stay here again and I would recommend that no one patronize this business since despite the conditions, the manager only wanted to credit $5 USD off the total.

There was no pride in the management of this facility.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingPhool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#18 of 27 in Alajuela
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 27 in Alajuela
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Colibri

Address: Barrio San Jose, Alajuela 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range: $54 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villas Colibri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colibri Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Villas Colibri Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing