We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convenient and Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Blue River
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient and Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The standard expected of a Marriott was as expected, very pleased. Very good breakfast. Very convenient to airport but to visit the downtown it is an expensive, long taxi ride. Pool is very small and cold.

Room Tip: If taking taxi, don't use the hotel recommended taxi. Better quality from independent operator a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue River R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me begin thanking you for choosing Courtyard San Jose Airport, your home away home will be waiting for you and your family anytime you are planning to come back. Is good to find out your stay was pleasant.

Our hotel offer service transportation for your convenience and it is a third party company, if by any chance you experience any inconvenience with them, please let me know at daniela.conejo@courtyard.com I will be more than glad to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    291
    56
    16
    11
See reviews for
220
268
55
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada Hills, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Nice, clean and comfortable rooms. We had to take an early morning flight and this was a very good choice for overnight stay. Free Wi-fi and free shuttle to the airport beginning 4:00am.
Will stay again in the future

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Harry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Harry,

Thank you so much for your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor, your comments are a good recommendations for all our visitors and I am glad to know that our services contribute to have a perfect overnight. We are looking forward to see you soon in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was really impressed how neat and clean the hotel was and the professionalism of the staff. I would rate it 5 star. What was more impressive, was the cost to stay there....very affordable. I couldn't have asked for more! You have me hooked when I visit Costa Rica. I will be a happy customer for life. Pura Vida

Room Tip: Since I have only stayed there for the first time.....I can't comment on which side is better, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank scott b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Scott,

What a magnificent way to begin the morning reading your comment, we are glad and full of joy to know that you will consider us again in your next visit to Costa Rica. I will share your comment with our staff; they appreciate your public recognition. Hope you had the opportunity to visit all the beautiful places around Alajuela in Costa Rica; we will have open arms to receive you and your family during the next visit to our green Costa Rica.

Have a wonderful day,

Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed one night on my way to Spain, nice soft beds, nice, service minded staff, and a good restaurant. Its so close to the airport, you can walk. (They have pickup service.) Nice for a night going out/in to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johntenerife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor, I am glad to know that your stay with us was memorable; our team is looking forward to welcoming you again, for your next stay in Costa Rica try to plan more than one night to visit all the beautiful places around Alajuela such as Poas Volcano and La Paz waterfall.

Once again thank you so much for your feedback, your house will be with open arms to receive you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed on the night of September 30th. Requested an early check-in for 11am via their booking site, arrived at 11:30am and was let into the room. Clean! Hand-written note from housekeeping, quiet. The view was of the pool below and local housing. Hotel is right off of the highway, so would request this back view if possible to ensure no street noise.

Headed to Wal-Mart next door in the evening, was told by front desk that it was a safe walk and open until 10pm. I passed two security guards on the way and was pleasantly surprised how neat and clean the store was as well. Both buildings seem to be new construction.

Wifi was fast, reliable. TV was clear and had plenty of options for English and Spanish. Plenty of movie channels! Big bottle of water in room for $5.00, drink this instead of the big bottled water in lobby if needed as it's the same price but more ounces.

No restaurants in walking distance but good menu at the hotel restaurant- had portobello avocado mushroom sandwich to-go. Was a very good sandwich but only until room did I discover I did not receive napkins or plasticware. Breakfast was excellent- options galore. Waffle bar, omelet bar, smoothie station, breads, cakes, fruits. Man who made smoothie delivered to my table and ensured it was to my liking, very polite.

Airport shuttle was quick and ready to go- driver polite except seemed to receive a personal phone call on the way. Overall- a great stay minutes from SJO, comfortable, and friendly staff and will stay again when need the comforts of home during a layover.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the pool/local housing in the back of the hotel to avoid possibility of road n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and share your review with Trip Advisor readers, is great to see a comment where we as a hotel were able to meet your expectations and deliver the room early in the morning, our front desk and housekeeping staff are willing to assist whenever is possible.
Our building received a SILVER LEED certification and all our staff is working with love to offer and provide service. Thank you for recognizing the quality of our Portobello avocado sandwich and our breakfast buffet options certainly your review motivates us to continue looking for options to improve and deliver the best service. For your convenience the construction in front of our building was finished and is in the process to activate their restaurants and stores, they are schedule to open by November, and it would be a great addition to our hotel to complement our services and providing additional option for our guests.
Thanks for considering our hotel as your HOME this is certainly one of our priorities, thanks for sharing your feeling in your review.
PURA VIDA ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mio, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this newer hotel. Free shuttle (currently operates on the hour & half hour), seconds away from the San Jose Santa Maria airport with quiet, comfortable, clean rooms, free internet in lobby for printing board passes & finding good restaurants in San Jose, have food and beverage service on site which was so convenient for us, flexible 'check in" that accommodated our travel schedule. Has pool and exercise area which we were too busy to use.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Christine:
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and share your review with Trip Advisor readers it is such a great motivation for our staff when a guest would recommend and plan to come back to stay with us.
The main reason of our business is guest satisfaction and reading your review is helping us to achieve our goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Finished our weeklong trip at this Courtyard before we flew out the next morning. Free shuttle to airport. Standard CY with the usual amenities, free WiFi, shuttle, etc. Right next to a Super Walmart for last minute purchases. Not any restaruants close by but we had a shuttle take us to a small restuarant row area in a strip mall. Good place to stay if arriving late in San Jose or leaving early for home. Can pay your departure fees at the Courtyard for $4 premium. Opted not to and there was no line at the airport departure fee area. Also found some liquer prices actually pretty good in the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell1078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and share your review with Trip Advisor readers. I would like to share with you the opening of the Plaza Mango Park located across the street in front of our hotel offering various restaurants and convenience stores and more. If you are planning to visit Costa Rica again please come to our hotel and enjoy the newest plaza in Alajuela.
Pura Vida ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
2.6 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
1.6 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#13 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela

Property: Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, this LEED-constructed Alajuela hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing