We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
Nearby Hotels
$127
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Robledal(Alajuela)
$84
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,099)
Filter reviews
1,099 results
Traveler rating
594
392
82
18
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
594
392
82
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery half hourstrip mallsan josesmall mallcosta ricafree shuttleroom keynext morningbreakfast buffetfront desk staffrestaurant staffhotel is perfectan early morning flightroom ratebusiness centermangostayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
799 - 804 of 1,099 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is new and right now the prices are very low. The rooms are clean and everything's looks very nice. There's also free wifi.

I think there needs to be better communication about the free shuttles and how to take the shuttle from the airport to the hotel. We waited for almost an hour until someone helped us and called the shuttle. We were told the shuttle leaves the hotel every 30 minutes and that it picks you up from the airport everything 30 minutes.

Other than that it was fine. You can take the hotel shuttle to the airport and then hop on a bus to San Jose for 530 colones one way. We went to a nice restaurant and bakarey in China town. The bakery is very inexpensive.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lady_V808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with visitors in Costa Rica or planning to visit Costa Rica. Appreciate your recognition regarding value for price paid; in fact we do have best available rate promotions until the end of September. We are also working diligently with a restaurant at the Airport to use their facilities and phone to request and coordinate our shuttle pick up service; considering that our Airport facilities does not offer an area to pick up our customers, the name of the restaurant is MALINCHE opened until 7:00 pm and later their convenience store at the main exit door, hope we can offer this option in your next trip to Costa Rica. Certainly your recommendation to use the shuttle to reach the San Jose bus station at the Airport is a great option that will help other visitors to take advantage of the service bus.
PURA VIDA ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We travelled as a family of 6 and stayed in 2 rooms just for one night. The main hotel we booked for our vacation was in a remite area in Arenal volcano park which would have taken us 4 hours and we did not want to travel late night from the airport. As it is an airport hotel we did not expect much but I must say that the hotel did not disappoint us at all in terms of service and quality. As I am a Marriott member, I asked for a free upgrade. But since there were no rooms available for an upgrade, the receptionist was very kind to make rate much lower applying some code for one of the rooms. Thus we got to save some money. The breakfast service in the morning included buffet or ala carte service both of which were inexpensive. The rooms were quiet and we had a nice rest. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amynaadi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us is great to know that our staff was flexible to satisfy your needs regarding the upgrade request. Beginning your visit in Costa Rica visiting the Arenal Volcano was a great choice considering that our location has easy access to the road leading to Arenal and La Fortuna, Costa Rica is place full of different options, Our suggestion for your next trip to Costa Rica is to visit Poas Volcano which is the largest crater in the world and 45 min away from our hotel in addition to La Paz Waterfalls and Manuel Antonio National Park.
Thank you for your comments about our breakfast service; our restaurant is open 24 hours, for all those who arrive late and the next morning should start early. The breakfast buffet starts at 04:00 and so does our shuttle service to the airport, if you are in a hurry don’t forget that we offer items to go as well.
Hope you visit us soon; we are going to be so pleased to have you here with us again.
Pura vida ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Very great location if you have an early flight from SJO - just one minute from the airport. When you're here there is nothing else nearby.

The hotel is fantastic, and rooms very spacious. That being said, there were two very long hairs I found in my room - one in the sink and one on the bed. Otherwise, no issues whatsoever.

Staff at the bar were also extremely friendly and offered great service.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sivartyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we have shared your comment to our housekeeping staff to review and inspect rooms, our Housekeepers have to wear the hair nets, and this procedure has been revised with all of them to ensure compliance. They are committed to deliver the best product in Alajuela and your comment will help us to achieve our goal. Appreciate the comments regarding about the bar staff, I will be sure to thank them personally for their job.
Best Greetings from the closest hotel to the Costa Rica Airport,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel stay was great! The hotel is very clean and appears very new. Room, halls, and restaurant were perfect. All of the staff were friendly helpful and very honest. We took the hotel shuttle to the airport and unfortunately I forgot my iphone in the shuttle. We realized it after being at the airport about 30 minutes and finishing up our check in (we were foreigners). We frantically waited outside the airport for the shuttle to return (which is every 30 mins). As the van pulled up,the driver honked and waved, trying to get our attention to let us know he had our phone. Although we did not speak the same language, the understanding of honestly was universal. SOOOOO thankful there are still good hearted people around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the comments about our entire staff, it is a pleasure for us to know that your stay at our hotel fulfilled your expectations; the quality of service is one of our principals reasons of being.
Dear guest thank you for taking the time to recognize the honesty of our drivers, although it is a third party service I will make sure to recognize the driver who provide the service to let them know the impactful impression they were able to deliver.

Pura vida ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for last two nights. Everything is new, very modern. Includes shuttle to the airport every 30 mts. Departure Taxes can be purchased in the lobby. Free parking. It is near Poas Volcano like 40 mts, its near to sjo. Walmart is 2 mts walking distance. . It has all facilities for check in and airport is only 3 minutes away.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leon005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Guest I am delighted to know that your stay in our hotel met all your needs.

Besides the services offered by our hotel, we invite you to return to our country to meet the thousands of places you can visit, our hotel is within 40 minutes of beautiful scenery and volcanoes, among them we can mention the Poas Volcano, National Park Manuel Antonio, Arenal Volcano just to mention one of the most visited ones. The proximity to the beach and natural landscapes can be your next destination in Costa Rica, we wait with open arms and I’m glad to say: “see you soon”.

Best Regards from Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews