We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“None closer, cleaner, or more convenient to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“None closer, cleaner, or more convenient to the airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

After spending a week in Costa Rica and seeing the traffic that leads from San Jose to Alajuela Airport, I knew I wanted to stay close to the airport the night before my morning flight. I did quite a bit of research concerning hotels in the area and boy did it pay off. The room was fabulous, the staff was top-notch, and the location was perfect. I had an evening meal at the hotel. While there weren't too many selections, the food I had was hot and tastey. If you're one of those who forgets things, there is a LARGE WalMart right next door. When I go back to San Jose I will definately stay at this hotel again. Great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Barnett,

! WOW! if you can see how joyful we are of your comment, is overwhelming to know that you are taking your time to share your experience, let me begin thanking you for staying at Courtyard San Jose Airport, this home will be open for you and your family anytime you came back.

I would like to share with you that the new plaza Mango Park is going to be open soon, is the plaza in front of our hotel, just a few steps, with so many restaurants, and options for your convenience. Our green Costa Rica can offer you so many awesome places; hope you had the opportunity to visit all these beautiful places like the crystal clear water in La Paz waterfall or the amazing white sand in Manuel Antonio.

We are looking forward to see you in your next vacations.

Sincerely,

Daniela C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    335
    65
    18
    13
See reviews for
250
305
65
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
151 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really close to the airport. Our flight arrived at 12:30 am so we stayed near the hotel instead of traveling to the Los Suenos Marriott in the middle of the night.

The Courtyard is in a beautiful modern building. The lobby and rooms look like a typical Courtyard in any American city, right down to the yellow/orange carpet in the room. The check in/out was very efficient. the guest agent was really nice and escorted us to the elevator.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagofran2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel during your visit to Costa Rica, appreciate you are taking the time to share your experience in our Courtyard. I am really glad to know that our services helped you accomplished the purpose of your stay in our Hotel.

Would like to comment that Plaza Mango Park will be fully operating by end of November offering a great variety of restaurants and options for your convenience. We hope you’ll have the opportunity to visit us again and the opportunity to know a little bit more of Costa Rica and its nature.

Sincerely,

Daniela C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've taken early morning flights home from SJO twice and this was my first time at the new Courtyard by Marriott. Last time, I stayed at the nearby Holiday Inn Express. I chose this hotel so that my two friends and I could share one room. We had a larger room with a living room and bedroom. It was perfect for the three of us and very affordable! If you're familiar with the updated look of Courtyard by Marriotts, this hotel is very much in line with the rest of them. The decor is simple and modern, it's very clean, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. We stayed on the 6th floor and our room was very quiet. However, we arrived at 7:30 in the evening and left at 4:30 am the following morning, so we did not spend a lot of time at the hotel.

We had dinner in the restaurant. Again, the food was very typical of other Courtyard by Marriotts. We had an okay pizza (nothing special, but good) and a few glasses of wine. After a long drive from the Nicoya Peninsula, it was nice to be able to dine at the hotel.

We paid our departure tax at the hotel. The extra charge to do this was $4 more than at the airport, but it was worth it! The lines were VERY long at the airport the following morning, and despite arriving 90 minutes before our flight left, we boarded our plane the moment we finally made it to our gate, and that was without waiting in the departure tax line! It's a nice service at the hotel that I think is worth the $4 and the extra 30 minutes of sleep.

We took the 4:30 am shuttle to airport for our 6:15 am flight. The shuttle ride probably only took 5 minutes, but it did take a few minutes to load up the shuttle, which was completely full. Shuttles only run every 30 minutes at this hotel, so make sure you plan for that.

I will stay at the Courtyard by Marriott at the San Jose Airport, again. It's quite, clean, updated, and affordable. The staff was also very friendly and professional.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor (6th) of the hotel and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with visitors in Costa Rica or planning to visit Costa Rica. We certainly appreciate your preference over the other available options as mentioned the building is new and most important our associates are very well committed to serve, fulfill and exceed expectations. As mentioned in your review one of the most recognize benefits is ability to pay the Airport Tax and saving time in your Airline check in as well as the boarding pass printers available at your convenience in the business center. Our go board with direct access to the Airport Arrivals and Departures boards so you can confirm your flights schedules available in the lobby area.
On behalf of our team thanks again for your review, hope to see you soon in your next trip to Costa Rica. Pura vida ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights when we first got to Costa Rica and for one night before leaving the country. The service was great, and the staff was very friendly.

The breakfast buffet was decent (although not enough signs indicating that there's a special buffet section which we were not allowed to have). The battery in our safe was also dead, but they fixed that in 15 minutes so it wasn't an issue. There are no handheld showers here.

The hotel has a good location (very close to the airport and a good hub to reach certain sights such as La Paz waterfall gardens and Poas volcano which are around 1.5 hours away). The checkout was quick. I recommend this hotel if you have an early morning flight the next day or if you have a few day trips planned.

After staying in a few hotels in Costa Rica during our trip that had bug infestations it was so refreshing to come back to the Marriott which had absolutely no bugs at all and was very clean as it is in a very new building. We also shopped for a few things at the Walmart next door which was very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tipster_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are glad to know that you have found our convenient location enjoyable to accomodate your trip and visits to main parks and attractions.
As you mentioned we are conveniently located close to main roads to visit the Arenal and Poas Volcanoes, also you can visit the Central Pacific Coast by driving within 1 and 1.5 hours to enjoy Puntarenas and Jaco Beach very well known for surfing and other activities.
Hope to see you soon in your next visit to Costa Rica, Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
283 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a new property very close to airport so nice if you have a late flight in or early flight out. Not so much for a lengthy stay. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly; let us use their phone to call car rental company which had agreed to pick up our rental at the Marriott. Room was excellent, clean and for probably first time, they actually had extra towels laid out per my Marriott Rewards preferences. We used as we arrived and for our last night before early flight out the next day. We were not charged for the shuttle. There is a new super Walmart next store which proved to be a good option for our Britt coffee and candy gifts for the family. All priced a bit cheaper than the airport Britt shop. Food in the hotel restaurant is a little overpriced and not very good but everything else was wonderful and convenient.

Room Tip: Don't think you can go wrong; don't worry about getting a view unless you like to see Walmar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelernottourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, I'm glad to know that our staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating your request as per your Elite status, I willl share your comments with them to recognize their attention to details that was able to create a very good impression during your stay with us. I'm glad you had found our location accomodating and I'm glad to share with you the addition of a new Plaza with several food options within walking distance and right in front of us across the street. Hope to see you soon in yoiur next visit to Costa Rica, Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Really cool new hotel very convenient to airport. "Free shuttle" is actually $5 and breakfast buffet is $17. At a Courtyard, really? I mean, come on guys. If you don't plan on eating breakfast its a great place to stay for late night arrivals or super early departures.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tabarber99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYSJOAirport, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding Courtyard San Jose Airport.
We have added breakfast buffet to our menu starting April 1st, we are in the learning process to modify and adjust items to increase guest satisfaction, and certainly your comment regarding price will be considered, thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with us and hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
142 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, recently built, with nice rooms and friendly staff. The security is excellent. I stayed hear while traveling to the Pacific region on my way there and on my return. Though there was a problem with staff failing to follow through on a telephone request to change my transportation needs due to a flight change, they made it right and fixed the problem. This Courtyard hotel meets or exceeds in everything else except for the restaurant food quality which is average for a Courtyard. The restaurant staff seemed overwhelmed and not sure what they are to do, and the food is sometimes over cooked. Coffee is excellent CR!

Room Tip: I had two different rooms and they were convenient, quiet, and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCJim397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYSJOAirport, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your experienc at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela. We are glad to know you have found our service staff friendly and welcoming, I will certainly share your comment with them. Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
3.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
4.3 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela

Property: Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, this LEED-constructed Alajuela hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing