We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool new hotel with outrageously expensive breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Really cool new hotel very convenient to airport. "Free shuttle" is actually $5 and breakfast buffet is $17. At a Courtyard, really? I mean, come on guys. If you don't plan on eating breakfast its a great place to stay for late night arrivals or super early departures.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tabarber99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYSJOAirport, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding Courtyard San Jose Airport.
We have added breakfast buffet to our menu starting April 1st, we are in the learning process to modify and adjust items to increase guest satisfaction, and certainly your comment regarding price will be considered, thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with us and hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,035)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

776 - 782 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, recently built, with nice rooms and friendly staff. The security is excellent. I stayed hear while traveling to the Pacific region on my way there and on my return. Though there was a problem with staff failing to follow through on a telephone request to change my transportation needs due to a flight change, they made it right and fixed the problem. This Courtyard hotel meets or exceeds in everything else except for the restaurant food quality which is average for a Courtyard. The restaurant staff seemed overwhelmed and not sure what they are to do, and the food is sometimes over cooked. Coffee is excellent CR!

Room Tip: I had two different rooms and they were convenient, quiet, and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCJim397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYSJOAirport, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your experienc at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela. We are glad to know you have found our service staff friendly and welcoming, I will certainly share your comment with them. Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We chose to stay here because of the proximity to the airport as we had a 6.30am departure.
The hotel itself is near new and rooms were well appointed and in excellent condition.Check in staff were friendly and efficient and I thought the room rate at $130 usd was good value for the quality of the property.The bar and meal service was good also although there were not a lot of meal choices. The courtesy shuttle to the airport was much appreciated and a great service !
Overall a good experience and I would stay there again..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pictonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYSJOAirport, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela. We are glad to confirm tha tour staff was able to provide with a warm welcome and shuttle service from a third party company was able to deliver great service. I will also take into consideration your comment about the variety of food that we offer in our Menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We spent a night at this hotel prior to connecting to a flight back to Canada in the morning.

The hotel is almost brand new. Very nice room, great bed, had an acceptable dinner in the hotel restaurant rather than taxi to somewhere else. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast the next morning as well.

The staff were very accomodating and spoke excellent english as opposed to our horrible spanish. Very attentive restaurant manager who asked us for feedback on what they could do different or better. Great young man.

We made use of the Walmart next door to stock up on CR coffee to take home. Looks like a strip mall is popping up on the adjacent property. I expect this means some shopping and dining options won't be too far behind.

Free shuttle to the airport runs every 30 minutes beginning at 4 a.m. It's a 5 minute ride which is one of the reasons we chose the hotel.

We were completely satisfied and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay there again based on our experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timwit61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYSJOAirport, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding Courtyard San Jose Airport.
I have share with our Restaurant and Kitchen staff your comments regarding your dinner and great buffet breakfast experience; certainly motivates them to strive for more options to serve and maintain consistency in our menu options.
Our Airport shuttle service is a great option and Transportation Management is always looking for options to personalized service. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. “Pura Vida”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here one our first and last night in San Jose, before and after long drives.

It was perfectly adequate. Comfortable and clean rooms, powerful shower with lots of hot water and friendly reception staff.

The only thing - breakfast was pretty poor. Go to Walmart right next door and borrow bowls etc from the hotel. Far cheaper and better choice.

Note that they no longer allow you to pay your departure tax before you get to the airport as advised in another review. The receptionist said it was causing problems, so unfortunately, you now have to queue at the airport.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TravellingOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYSJOAirport, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding Courtyard San Jose Airport.
Our buffet breakfast was implemented on April 2013 and working daily to adjust and include the appropriate products to exceed expectations regarding food options and recipes. I would like to thank you for your feedback it will help me and my team to look for options to improve and serve the best quality of food and service.
I have share your comment with our Front Desk Staff, regarding Airport taxes making sure we are still offering this service as it has been since the day we open, we will follow up on daily airport taxes availability.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Reserved the hotel for four nights during a recent stay in Costa Rica. The hotel is new, great staff but the cook for breakfast needs some serious training. I decided not to partake in the buffet breakfast with all the greasy meets in there, and opted instead for an omelette. The first day omelette was fine, the second day they managed to make it tasteless...
I requested a taxi on the first day and the person at the front desk directed me to a privately owned Toyota to take me to downtown. The cost was $60 for a twenty minute drive. Outrageous! Especially that on my way back from down town to the hotel it cost me only $25.00
This kind of rip off should have never been allowed to impact guests trusting the employees of the hotel for their needs in a foreign country.

I decided to leave the hotel after two days and stayed at the Holiday Inn downtown for the remaining of my stay.

This was really the only problem that marred an otherwise great time visiting a great country.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quite and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DVadala1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYSJOAirport, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding Courtyard San Jose Airport.
I am certainly disappointed that you have experienced issues with breakfast and transportation. I would like to apologize on behalf of our team we are committed to improve the quality of items and food preparation for breakfast by adding local and international items to our buffet, taking in consideration your comments regarding food presentation. Our cooks are open to receive feedback and adjust accordingly to satisfy needs ad exceed expectations.
Our hotel does not own the transportation service and it is disappointed to heard that you felt overcharged, I will share your experience with transportation Management to follow up on transportation charges and recommend to share with customers prices before service is provided this experience not only impact our hotel but the Costa Rican Tourism industry as well.
Please do accept my apologies and I do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future to demonstrate that we are working in a daily basis to improve our service and quality of food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is the best Courtyard we've been to so far, and we've been to many. It's new and modern, the staff is very courteous and helpful, the standard room with 1 king bed is clean and modern with a very comfortable bed, nice-sized bathroom, and wonderful A/C. They have multiple seating/eating areas on the lobby level with a friendly cafe for drinks. Free WIFI throughout and computer access in their business center. After fighting with bugs, heat and humidity in Drake Bay, this hotel was 5-stars to us. Plus, there is a Walmart right next door which was very convenient. The breakfast and parking are complimentary, although we didn't take advantage of either of them because we returned the car the night before and had to leave early for a 6A flight. The free shuttle service was excellent and took all of 5 minutes to get to the airport. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veggi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, with all details you receive during your stay in our hotel, definitely one of our assets is the commitment to serve from our staff and I’m glad you have been able to notice and highlighted in your comment in addition to other benefits related to our close location to San Jose’s International Airport including parking, shuttle service, WIFI, boarding pass printing station. I’m also pleased to communicate that we are now open for breakfast starting at 5:00 am for those customers with early departure flights that I’m sure you would love for next time you plan to visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
2.5 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
689 reviews
3.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
890 reviews
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela

Address: Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Plaza Los Mangos, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $125 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, this LEED-constructed Alajuela hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing