We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“perfect location to start or end your visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Vista, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“perfect location to start or end your visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed one night in December. Was very impressed with the entire staff. We visited quite a while with our waiter. Very impressed with his service and his English was good. He told us he was taking English lessons.(I think his name was Daniel). Gave us lots of info on his counrty and his service was wonderful. The hotel is new and very clean. Shuttle service prompt. I would love to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    295
    56
    16
    11
See reviews for
222
271
57
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Loved everything about this hotel! From the reliable complimentary hotel shuttle (every 20 min) to the room, the food, location, EVERYTHING was great!! Ok, the food was a bit overpriced at the restaurant as with any other hotel restaurants, but you can easily walk to Walmart right next door (2 min walk) if you're on a budget! It has a cafeteria there with decent food and a bakery. The hotel restaurant makes food fresh though and it was pretty good. One thing I liked about this hotel is that you always have options with everything. Service was excellent and there really is nothing bad I can say about this hotel. It really is nice and brand new. This is one of the first hotels where the management pictures online really matched and was on par with what you see when you really get there.

Room Tip: A room facing the front of the hotel was great as it let in lots of sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EternityMoment7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
412 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here the night before our return trip home, as we had an early morning flight. We flew up from Puerto Jimenez and had our hotel arrange the free shuttle for us. I heard the lady tell them we were flying SANSA and what time we were landing. She asked how we would recognize them and they said they'd have our names written down. We land at SJO and there's no one there. We wait 30 min and then ask the guy at the desk to call for us. They send us someone, but we waited there 45 min. We asked at the front desk why no one was there, and they had no record of her call and doubted our story that anyone called for us. Not how you want to start your stay. The room is very modern, quiet and comfortable. They have two bottles of water in your room at extortionate prices. There is a Walmart right next door. Go buy a 2L bottle for just under $2. They wanted $5 for a 1.75L bottle. The next morning there was a large queue at checkout and only one lady working. People were visibly becoming annoyed and anxious and we all had one eyeball on the shuttle to the airport. My other half just told her we used nothing and to charge it to the card we held the reservation with. Their inadequate service was a big disappointment.
I would stay here again, but only if I had an early morning flight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intlwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed at the Courtyard for the end of a trip earlier this year. We usually try to stay at any of the Marriott family of hotels because we've come to know what to expect. This was the first time we've been quite disappointed with our experience. Our first room was on the ground level which left folks on the pool deck able to look (and get access) into our room. Luckily, we were moved after a short wait. The restaurant downstairs was out of most food selections hours before closing time (no pizzas, pastas, most of the salads). The staff was less able to communicate with us than any of the other 5 hotels we had stayed at over the past 2 weeks (I don't expect fluent English in a foreign country, but the difference in the Courtyard was staggering). Unfortunately, I had to make a 1-800 call to my airline due to flight changes. Due to the length of call (being on hold) the cost was over $200USD. Hotel wouldn't budge. I understand that is their right, but a few streets down the Hampton offers free US calls (we got moved by the airline and found this out).

Bottom line, I'd recommend another airport hotel for travelers. The only nice thing was the airport shuttle, which is offered by other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 3rd floor or higher to avoid ground level access into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChakoDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

If you arrive at San Jose Airport late in the day and do not feel like travelling more, this is a quite convenient stop. It is only a few minutes from the airport, the rooms are well appointed, the grounds are very prettily done, staff is friendly and efficient and it has a pleasant restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel is minutes from the airport, with a good shuttle. It is quite American; not a Costa Rican experience overall but with very friendly and helpful Costa Rican staff and some local touches such as beer and some food items, so it is a good transition from US home locations. Large rooms. Restaurant and small sundries "market" on the premises, and the hotel is just across the street from a huge Walmart if you are stocking up for adventure travel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lowest floors at the back look out at a retaining wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We travel to Costa rica every year and usually have to stay at the airport on the arrival or return to get to Iguana Lodge. I tried the new courtyard and was pleasantly surprised. Nice clean comfortable hotel choice with a cute little cafe restaurant and funnily enough next to walmart.

Room Tip: I liked the front side for light. Away from elevators- they have a nice 2 room suite which works wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
3.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 9 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,513 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#7 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
1.6 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#13 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela

Property: Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, this LEED-constructed Alajuela hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing