We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new hotel if you are flying in/out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great new hotel if you are flying in/out”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Scored a great price for one night at this new hotel. Extremely convenient to Wal Mart for all your travel basics. Apparently they are building a shopping mall directly in front of the property. Would stay here again if in town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    346
    66
    18
    13
See reviews for
257
314
66
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

New, clean, comfortable, friendly staff, good breakfast, short and safe walking distance to Walmart if you need a few things, and super convenient (free shuttle) to SJO airport. Great place to stay on your first day or last night in Costa Rica. We were on vacation, but this also seems like a nice business hotel if it were located close to your meetings or appointments.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed one night at the hotel and found it to be conveniently located to SJO airport. The shuttle service is great and the airport is literally a 5 minute drive away. The service was courteous, the room was clean and looked very new, in fact the hotel looked brand new as well. The added benefit was that it had laundry service and that was a life saver for us due to an accident with a cupcake! The restaurant however was disappointing. We ordered room service the night we spent because we did not want to venture out. We ordered a Margarita Pizza and Macaroni and Cheese. When they knocked on our door, they had a "margarita" as in the cocktail in their hand, not the pizza. We asked them what happened and they had misunderstood. They had also not noted the mac-n-cheese. Several minutes later, they called saying they can't make pizza and would send the m-n-c over. The pasta was funky tasting and quite salty and was not worth the price. Fortunately, we had a bunch of fruits and yogurt from the Walmart next door and we didn't exactly starve. But the food service overall in CR left a lot to be desired for us. May be we made the wrong choice, but it was not anything extravagant we were looking for, considering CR gets most of its tourist business from the US.
We ate breakfast the next day and that was fine, except they ran out of jam at the continental table. I ordered an American Breakfast and that was decent and filling. The worst part and the most shocking - the coffee in the room was TERRIBLE. They served the same coffee downstairs for breakfast and it was the worst coffee we had in more than a week in CR!!
I give it 4 stars because of the overall convenience and comfort, but the service could improve.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gg29_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

It's very nice newly built hotel within minutes of San Jose Airport in Alajuela. The rooms are nice, clean and spacious. The staff is courteous and helpful. The restaurant food is good and diverse. However, the restaurant closes at 9:00pm and do not provide room service. There is not much around the hotel, outside of the Walmart who is right next door.
Overall, would recommend if you need to fly out early in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julesvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
401 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel was just a few short minutes from the hotel which was very convenient for arriving late at night. They had a shuttle that was easy to find at the airport. The hotel was clean and comfortable and quite nice. The service was great. We would definitely stay here again or recommend it to our friends. We enjoyed out short visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenore R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Airport hotels generally take a real beating and the transient nature of their clientele often results in over-priced and mediocre service. The Marriott Alajuela Courtyard is a dramatic exception to this principle. It is still spanking brand new, with enthusiastic staff who are eagar to please. We had not intended to eat dinner there, but got rained out of our tour. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food--especially the black bean soup. We have never shopped at a Wallmart while on vacation. However, the hotel staff told us of a famous brand name Costa Rican coffee that was available for about half of the airport price at Wallmart. We walked 700 feet and started saving money! The free airport shuttle is another plus, as many hotels do not have shuttles. We had a very early morning flight, so the shuttle worked out very well for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawton1osuedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here the night before flying out of SJO. I'll just list the problems:

1. No hot water in the shower the evening of our arrival.
2. No hot water in the shower the morning of our departure.
3. Long black hairs on the white bathroom floor.
4. The room was unreasonably cold, and remained that way even after we turned the A/C off.
5. The rate we booked included a breakfast buffet, but during breakfast we were told they had no buffet, and we would get a continental breakfast, which included toast, cold fruit, and coffee. That's it.

I complained about these things at checkout and was given a percentage of my room rate back, but frankly I don't think it was enough. I also called Hilton to complain, they said they would send a letter onto the property manager who had 3-5 business days to respond, and I never heard from the manager.

I don't recommend this place. Even the decor is not great for a recently renovated hotel. The lobby is stark and sterile.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthewmagellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
2.5 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
3.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
834 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mango
Hotel Mango
#14 of 27 in Alajuela
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela

Property: Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, this LEED-constructed Alajuela hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing