We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK way to spend a few hours”
Review of Zoo Ave

Zoo Ave
Ranked #2 of 38 things to do in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: While educating the public about local wildlife, this zoo also breeds endangered animals for eventual release to the wild.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK way to spend a few hours”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This park is well done. The birds (macaws, parrots, etc.) and monkeys are the best. Signage is good with information about what you are seeing. Although the park advertises things like big cats, they hide/sleep during the day and it's not very likely to see them. Same goes for most of the larger mammals. Parking is very convenient. If you have a few hours to spend before leaving town, this is a good thing to do.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    194
    47
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KlamathFalls, OR
Level Contributor
125 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Must see. Beautiful grounds”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I hate to see animals cooped up. However, the cages and grounds of this zoo were very nice with natural vegetation. The grounds were immaculate.
Interestingly, they don't have any sloths!
The zoo is very informational about the threatened situation of many of the animals, and does a good job of educating people about the loss of habitat, etc.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jsdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An enjoyable park!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great park to see many birds. Good cover throughout so you don't get too warm or sunburned. Very enjoyable!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maezing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An introduction to some of the wildlife in Costa Rica”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I spent about 3 hours here. We were most interested in seeing some of Costa Rica's bird species as casual birding would be one of our activities while we were in the country. We were pleased to find large animal enclosures that were full of plant life. The birds weren't always easy to see which to us was a good thing. It means the Zoo provides the animals with good habitat for them to move around and hide in. We also saw a number of species of monkeys, a native squirrel, iguanas (not captive), and peacocks that roamed freely.
We had a light snack from the snack bar -- inexpensive and tasty.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pigeon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Check out scarlet macaws”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Mostly birds, but very impressive ones in realistic enclosures. An easy walk around the paths with good explanatory signs.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathyandMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoo Ave also viewed

Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
 
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Zoo Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing