We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pura Vida Retreat & Spa
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
268 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Second Visit”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My second visit to this beautiful property was just as good as the first. The same wonderful staff that help to make the place so special were all still there doing what they do best - making sure their guests are comfortable and happy. Seems many of the guests feel as I do, I talked to people who have been returning there for 7,8, even 13 years in a row which says a lot. Love this place and plan on going back whenever possible!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have noise from the road which can be quite bothersome at night. It is the only do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smarkow314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    41
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
31
49
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I went for a Bikram yoga retreat here for a week. The entire place is beautiful and immaculate. The staff manage the place very very clean and comfortable. I used their taxi service several times and the drivers were ALWAYS punctual and professional. The reception staff are very knowledgeable and helpful with whatever you need and the kitchen staff are very efficient and friendly. Everybody at this retreat place is busy cleaning, cooking, and helping all day everyday. They're all very courteous, quiet, professional, friendly, and patience. The food was fantastic. They had great varieties everyday. I eat mostly vegetables but they had fish and chicken everyday too. The yoga studios are so beautiful and clean. All the yoga gear are provided - Manduka mats, towels, props, blankets, straps, etc. They clean the mats everyday also so you don't have to. Basically, this place does everything it can to make you feel comfortable and relaxed. I especially loved all the hammocks they put everywhere. They're shaded so you don't have to worry about getting a sunburn.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our tour of Costa Rica. Tamara, the yoga instructor was great and I did 2 classes with her at the end of both days having been out walking during the day. Pura vida's yoga studios have great views too, over the valley. The food was great as were the serving staff. We had a large spacious room that overlooked the valley and walking through the gardens was a delight. The treatments were, frankly, too complex to understand and a little pricey
all I wanted was a straightforward sports massage so I waited until I got home.

Room Tip: Every price range catered for, top end very luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have lead yoga retreats yearly to this facility since 2000 through Global Yoga Journeys and every time has proven to be perfect. Accommodations cover a spectrum from tentalows to individual chalet doubles. Food is abundant and caters to those who like chicken and fish and vegetarians will be very happy. Eco adventure tours are varied and fairly priced. I will return in February 2014 with another group.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yogis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I spent 7 days at Pura Vida and loved every minute of it. The landscaping was lush and beautiful, creating a private, tranquil environment. We stayed in the Pagoda, a luxurious and spacious cottage with a lovely outdoor shower. The food was fabulous, healthy, innovative, and delicious. The yoga instructors on staff were excellent ( we had Marysol), and the spa treatments were to die for. I especially recommend Alex for a facial. The staff were friendly and accommodating. I can't say enough good things about the place. My only criticism, a minor one, is that they didn't provide enough toiletries and you have to ask for fresh towels and a hair dryer. As I say, very minor issue. The experience overall was "pure bliss" and I will definitely return.

Room Tip: The Pagoda is ideal for a couple who want luxurious and spacious accommodations. The outdoor stone s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A great place, the quality of the rooms was very good, large glass walls overlooking the forest. Nice birds flying around, beautiful flowers and plants; reception staff quite friendly.The food was very good, I wish deserts were healthier, such as with agave syrop or stevia, but not full of sugar. There was no yoga every day as mentioned, but did not really needed it as the place was awesome and invited to meditation.
Cons:
-rooms have no phones and you are not able to call the reception in case you need something
-quite cold, both in the wet and dry season; very rainy in the wet season and cold at night, and aparently even colder in the dry season, I wonder if it is ever warm and how do they do when colder and with no heating...
-prices for massages/treatments are high (they are higher than in the US)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MABrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
268 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I returned home last week after spending 9 wonderful nights at this beautiful resort. This was my first time to a yoga retreat and I wasn't really sure what to expect but this place totally exceeded my expectations on every level.

I really enjoyed getting back in touch with nature.The grounds are very well maintained and simply gorgeous with beautiful flowering plants full of hummingbirds and fruitbearing trees loaded with papayas, coconuts, mangoes and citrus all along the walkways. It is the perfect setting to relax, unplug and rejuvenate.

The food was healthy and delicious and served buffet style in the Dining Hall, the spa treatments were outstanding to say the least, my room was spacious with an amazing view of San Jose and kept spotless by the housekeeping staff. The instructors in the yoga classes were second to none.

I could go on and on but what really makes this place so special is that every single member of the staff is genuinely kind, caring, nurturing and completely dedicated to ensuring that every guest gets the most out of the experience and that is why I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smarkow314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
1.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
675 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
363 reviews
10.2 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,252 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Retreat & Spa

Property: Pura Vida Retreat & Spa
Address: Mts SW From Minisuper Pavas 800 | Pavas, Carrizal, Alajuela 20103, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pura Vida Retreat & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-Class yoga instruction, acres of natural beauty, delicious healthy cuisine and spa services unrivaled in Costa Rica await inside the cloistered walls of this magical retreat. Tropical rain forest, active volcanoes, mountain cloud forests full of rainbows, breathtaking beaches and exhilarating white water rafting beckon the adventurer in you, all within a few hours drive of our eco-chic spa and wellness resort in the world's greenest country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Pura Vida Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Spa & Yoga Retreat Hotel Alajuela
Pura Vida Spa And Yoga Retreat
Pura Vida Wellness Retreat Spa
Pura Vida Retreat & Spa Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing