We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Rosa de America
Nearby Hotels
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$81
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pacande(Alajuela)(Great Value!)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Brilla Sol Airport(Alajuela)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$72
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (739)
Filter reviews
739 results
Traveler rating
432
228
58
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
228
58
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanana breadcosta ricaclose to the airportsan josefamily suitesuperior roomzoo avelast nightnice poolrental carbeautiful groundsbunk bedsceiling fannext morningwould definitely stay here againrooms are smallfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 739 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2011

This is a sweet little place not too far from the airport. It is clean, safe and the folks who run it are friendly and helpful. They were very kind to let us leave our car while we left Costa Rica for a week.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keenbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

After a horrific journey through Newark which included me having to cancel this hotel three times, we finally arrived.

The hotel hadn't charged a cancellation fee for the nights we missed and they had arranged our transport from the airport all over again.

When we got there, the night receptionist was all smiles and handshaking 'you made it' he beamed whilst offering beer and water. And it was the same the next day at breakfast, the staff were all beaming and helpful and genuinely pleased that our horrid travel nightmare was over.

I would have had no hesitation in staying in this hotel again (and almost did except that Monteverde and the rest of Costa Rica was so much fun - it was straight to the airport for us!!!).

More than the accommodation and the swimming pool and the grounds, all of which were fantastic, it was more the atmosphere and the genuine helpfulness and kindness of the people at this hotel which made a special place even more special!

Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Hotel La Rosa de America was an unexpected delight after a long day of traveling from the US. It felt very peaceful and secluded after driving through noisy San Jose. The grounds with all the plants and flowers was lovely, the rooms comfortable and roomy. Everyone was very friendly, and helpful in answering the questions we had. It was an easy trip out of the city to head up toward the Arenal region the next morning. If we had not already made other plans for the day before our departure, we would have returned here to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyMt_Airy_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

This hotel was lovely: beautiful garden grounds, simple but nice rooms, friendly staff. We arrived in Costa Rica that afternoon, and so after our flight, we just got a bottle of wine from the hotel and relaxed on our porch. The breakfast (included) was simple and good. And they directed us to a little local bar/restaurant down the road for dinner, which we enjoyed.

The only drawback to this hotel is its location. The area itself isn't bad, but it's VERY noisy, with (we guessed) many packs of dogs that barked loudly throughout the night. Because it was warm, we wanted to leave the windows open but had to shut them just to have a chance at some sleep.

I'd definitely recommend the hotel, but if you're a light sleeper, you might have some trouble.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ltwau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2011

We would like to thank our guest for taking the time to write into Tripadvisor with so many positive comments about our hotel! We are very happy that they found our service and gardens to be of a high standard. However, the discomfort experienced by our guest due to unacceptable noise levels is unfortunate, especially as this Hotel prides itself on being a very quiet, semi rural hotel for our guests..
As an Airport Hotel, we strive to ensure that all our guests receive the opportunity for a good night's sleep in an area far more peaceful, safe and tranquil then that of our competitors. Normally this is something that we excel at, in part due to our fortunate location, just outside the noisy city of Alajuela.
Unfortunately, on the night this guest stayed with us, a number of unlikely events seemed to occur all on the same evening thus leading to an unacceptable level of noise both within the hotel and in the surrounding area. This situation was compounded by the fact the Hotel was completely full to capacity and that some of the guests were arriving very late due to the extreme weather complications experienced in the New York area. Some of these guests were "releasing pressure" after having been stranded in airports for up to three days. Our night staff chose to focus on the noise disturbance outside the Hotel and once they resolved that problem, they then focused on the arriving guests. Unfortunately, barking dogs are a reality in Costa Rica, and in our area, there are not many, however, once the "Twilight Bark" starts, it can be very hard to stop. Since last week, the staff have been told to talk with the local dog owners and to request that they manage their pets more effectively. Of note, all the dogs in our area are actually owned, and are no danger to locals nor guests.
Again, we would like to offer our apologies to this guest. Though we do not know exactly who you are (sorry but this forum is anonymous to us!) the night you describe is so atypical of our area it stands out clearly for us. Please know that we have already taken steps to try to ensure peaceful nights for all guests and that all our staff are aware as well.
Notwithstanding the above problem, we are very happy that you still enjoyed our Hotel enough to recommend us!
Thank you;
Robert Hick
Owner
Hotel La Rosa de America

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Planning a tour for the first time in a new country, this airport hotel is simply ideal as offering budget rates with an easy to access location next to the airport. But above all unlimited readiness to support with various travel arrangements and an inexhaustable flexibility for last mintute changes. Rooms simple, clean and comfortable of different sies and bed arrangements.
Simply give them a try and you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strumpan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews