We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Rosa de America
Nearby Hotels
$112
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pacande(Alajuela)(Great Value!)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Brilla Sol Airport(Alajuela)(Great Value!)
$75
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (739)
Filter reviews
739 results
Traveler rating
432
228
58
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
228
58
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanana breadcosta ricaclose to the airportsan josefamily suitesuperior roomzoo avelast nightnice poolrental carbeautiful groundsbunk bedsceiling fannext morningwould definitely stay here againrooms are smallfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
466 - 471 of 739 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2011

This hotel was lovely: beautiful garden grounds, simple but nice rooms, friendly staff. We arrived in Costa Rica that afternoon, and so after our flight, we just got a bottle of wine from the hotel and relaxed on our porch. The breakfast (included) was simple and good. And they directed us to a little local bar/restaurant down the road for dinner, which we enjoyed.

The only drawback to this hotel is its location. The area itself isn't bad, but it's VERY noisy, with (we guessed) many packs of dogs that barked loudly throughout the night. Because it was warm, we wanted to leave the windows open but had to shut them just to have a chance at some sleep.

I'd definitely recommend the hotel, but if you're a light sleeper, you might have some trouble.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ltwau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2011

We would like to thank our guest for taking the time to write into Tripadvisor with so many positive comments about our hotel! We are very happy that they found our service and gardens to be of a high standard. However, the discomfort experienced by our guest due to unacceptable noise levels is unfortunate, especially as this Hotel prides itself on being a very quiet, semi rural hotel for our guests..
As an Airport Hotel, we strive to ensure that all our guests receive the opportunity for a good night's sleep in an area far more peaceful, safe and tranquil then that of our competitors. Normally this is something that we excel at, in part due to our fortunate location, just outside the noisy city of Alajuela.
Unfortunately, on the night this guest stayed with us, a number of unlikely events seemed to occur all on the same evening thus leading to an unacceptable level of noise both within the hotel and in the surrounding area. This situation was compounded by the fact the Hotel was completely full to capacity and that some of the guests were arriving very late due to the extreme weather complications experienced in the New York area. Some of these guests were "releasing pressure" after having been stranded in airports for up to three days. Our night staff chose to focus on the noise disturbance outside the Hotel and once they resolved that problem, they then focused on the arriving guests. Unfortunately, barking dogs are a reality in Costa Rica, and in our area, there are not many, however, once the "Twilight Bark" starts, it can be very hard to stop. Since last week, the staff have been told to talk with the local dog owners and to request that they manage their pets more effectively. Of note, all the dogs in our area are actually owned, and are no danger to locals nor guests.
Again, we would like to offer our apologies to this guest. Though we do not know exactly who you are (sorry but this forum is anonymous to us!) the night you describe is so atypical of our area it stands out clearly for us. Please know that we have already taken steps to try to ensure peaceful nights for all guests and that all our staff are aware as well.
Notwithstanding the above problem, we are very happy that you still enjoyed our Hotel enough to recommend us!
Thank you;
Robert Hick
Owner
Hotel La Rosa de America

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Planning a tour for the first time in a new country, this airport hotel is simply ideal as offering budget rates with an easy to access location next to the airport. But above all unlimited readiness to support with various travel arrangements and an inexhaustable flexibility for last mintute changes. Rooms simple, clean and comfortable of different sies and bed arrangements.
Simply give them a try and you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strumpan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed one night on our way to Playa Grande and on our way back because of its proximity to the airport. The staff really went out of its way to help us with car rental and answering questions that eased our stay in Costa Rica. The owner, also a very friendly man took time to talk to us and answered a bunch of questions and suggested plenty of interesting sites to visit. Although we didn't have time to visit Alajuela & San Jose area this time around they gave us a taste of the area and made us want to come back for a longer visit. I would definitely recommend Hotel La Rosa de America for people that are looking for a authentic local setting with clean rooms, good food and excellent and friendly staff.
Roch Lapointe
Ottawa Canada

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roclap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We spent our last night of a weeklong trip here and really liked it. We had the family suite which was two rooms with a hige bathroom. The kids slept in the front room with two beds and there was a double bed in the smaller room. The beds were comfy, the pool cld but refreshing. Sarah was amazingly helpful and friendly. We would stay here agin on the way in and out next time. Can't go wrong here. And, it s right down the street from the best food we had in CR- Delicias de mi Tierra. Yummmm...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby&Cody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of our trip and for two nights at the end. We took advantage of a special "three night stay" promotion which included pick up from the airport and a group tour to one of the volcanoes, Cartagna, and a coffee plantation. Be advised that if you do the tour you have to meet the bus at a hotel near the airport VERY early in the morning.
The LaRosa is a charming little place and the staff is very helpful.(Sarah did a super job with our laundry)! Rooms are rather small, but the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms well appointed. The grounds are lovely and it's nice to just sit and relax by the pool. Breakfast is good with a nice selection of fresh fruit. I'm not a banana bread fan but my husband told me it was very good.
There are a few restaurants within walking distance. I would caution anyone eating at Cherey's to avoid the fried meats.......both of us experienced severe discomfort the next day! That's about the only negative I can think of and is not reflection on the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JYA6768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews