We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A calm and lovely base from which to explorethis most interesting & varied country.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rosa de America

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off Mid Season Rates!
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
White Rock, B.C.
1 review
“A calm and lovely base from which to explorethis most interesting & varied country.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Beautifully landscaped and manicured grounds.
Very friendly, informative and helpful resident owners and staff.
Charming Mediterranean style "cabins" - comfortable and well maintained.
Unique fruit plate and excellent "banana bread" offering for breakfast.
Reasonable rates for the offered accomodation and services.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fusser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    167
    44
    14
    4
See reviews for
177
232
51
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

We stayed at Rosa de la America for one night, before departing Costa Rica. The location was great--about 10 minutes' drive from the international airport and walking distance from a couple of restaurants. The grounds are beautiful with different blooming flowers and trees even labeled. A wall surrounds the property, keeping out noise and dirt from the street (which isn't very loud, actually) and providing security. We arrived too late for a swim, but the pool looked like it would be great on a hot afternoon. The (Canadian) owners clearly work hard to ensure guests are happy, paying attention to little details that make the difference. The rooms were very clean, freshly painted, and had attractive new linens (unlike other places we stayed in Costa Rica in the same price range). There were several soaps in the bathroom and plenty of nice towels (but no hooks or towels rods to hang them on). The beds were moderately comfortable, the best one might hope for in Costa Rica. Each room has a shaded patio at its entrance, with a wooden chair next to raised beds of flowers. The breakfast included decent coffee, juice, fruit and banana bread. Our children chose Frosted Flakes, and toast was also available. The lobby had a computer with internet access for guests as well as a collection of books in several language. My only complaint: Our room had a ceiling fan that worked very well, but the room was still warm, even at night, especially for our children in the bunk beds. While the outside temp. in the evening was coolish, there was no cross breeze in the room because the windows were on just one wall. (There is no air conditioning.) However, this is probably only a problem in the hottest months of March and April. Without a doubt, we will stay here again when we return to Costa Rica. Rosa de la America was the nicest place we stayed during our vacation.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank EEDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

We took the Zimar service from the airport and was impressed by their quick and very kind staff...only 10 minutes!

Justin was wonderful as he welcomed us and stayed to speak to us. He was our first introduction to the country and he was very very courteous and helpful.

The room was simple. The beds weren't bad, but maybe, we're just spoiled at home with ours.

The breakfast was delicious and healthy! The only recommendation that I might make is one of our family members really really desired coffee as the first item, but the gentleman serving breakfast seemed to have DESIGNATED routine. The other family member had a similar request, but it was not heard or ignored.

Regarding the set-up of services for us, the staff did a tremendous and kind gesture for us by using the U-Save car rental company. The "free" phones which were supposed to come with the car come with a catch! They charge a minimum amount of cell phone minutes used per day...I can't recall exactly, but I recall $8.00 per day.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseyJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, Maine
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

I spent 3 nights here on the tail end of my recent trip to Costa Rica. The gardens are lovely. The pool was clean, refreshing and attractively situated. Breakfast was pleasant. The staff are very helpful - they arranged transport and tours for me.
The room was immaculate and I was able to get some laundry done - a nice extra.
Internet Access in the lobby - spotty wi-fi service.
Several typical tico food restaurants are within walking distance and an ATM is at the end of the main street. I would certainly stay here again.
Plan on bringing a book to share - they are involved in a program of donating books to local grade schools. And its a good place to leave those paperbacks behind - to make more room in your luggage for the coffee you will want to take home.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris, france
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We have spent 2 nights in this hotel when arriving to Costa Rica from France. We arrived at about 8pm after a very long flight and appreciated the short distance from the airport (in addition, the hotel is easy to locate and we had clear instructions from the hotel).
the rooms are clean, the hotel is very quiet and the garden and swimming pool clean and beautiful. We also appreciated the team.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thfra75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Quiet, clean and perhaps the best maintained B&B that we have found in the 15 years that we have visited Costa Rica. The owners of La Rose de America obviously take pride in their hotel. It is a short drive or cab ride from the airport, off the road, but the signage is clear. The rooms are impecably clean and practically appointed with attention paid to what a traveller needs. Breakfast is included and adequate. We will definitely make this our regular jumping off point.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DriftwoodTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weedon (Qc) Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

A beautiful place to stay for one night and more. We appreciate the courtesy of the canadians owners, we met only the young wowan but she was very fine. Much more quieter than any place we tried before and we strongly recommand it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick_2960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
5.5 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#2 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
4.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#5 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#8 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Property: Hotel La Rosa de America
Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing