We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed March 3, 2009

We stayed at La Rosa for 1 week at the end of January, and really enjoyed our stay. For longer stays, they offer a discount off their already very reasonable rate, plus a free transfer to/from the airport.
La Rosa is located in a suburb of Alajuela, and is 100 metres off the main road. Consequently it is a quiet oasis in the busy central valley, but with services nearby. There is a bar, bank and convenience store within a 5 min walk, and 2 local restaurants within a 10 minute walk.
The hotel itself is lovely, cute white buildings with stencilling, beautiful landscaped grounds and a goodsized pool, and lots of shade and lounge chairs. Everything was super clean.
The room itself was on the small size, but we were only in it to sleep as there are lots of place to sit outside or in the lounge/restaurant area. Ours had a beautifully renovated bathroom.
Robert and his staff provide excellent friendly service and advice. During our stay they arranged tours and ordered taxis, ordered a pizza delivery for us when we were too tired to go to a restaurant, and even stored something in their freezer for us. We felt like it was a home away from home.
Included in the rate is a delicious, filling continental breakfast which consists of a fruit plate with 5 different types of fruit, a big bowl of cereal, toast or a homemade sweetbread and an excellent up of tea or coffee. They do not serve lunch or dinner, but do have drinks (beer, wine, tea, coffee, pop, juice, bottled water) available all day at a very reasonable price. We were always out at lunch time, and for dinner usually walked to one of the local restaurants (Mi Tierra was our favorite). One night we took a taxi (only $2) to a very nice restaurant at a local resort. Robert has a binder in the lounge with all the local restaurants listed and comments on each of them, which was very helpful.
We didn't have a car, but travelled around with a combination of local buses, taxis and tours for less than a car rental would have cost. To get to other parts of the country we used the Interbus tourist bus. The bus to Alajuela passes by every half hour, and there is a shaded bus stop where you can wait by the convenience store. It costs less than 50 cents to ride to Alajuela, and from there you can catch a bus to San Jose or other local towns for less than $1. Just be prepared that there are several bus stations within about 4 blocks in Alajuela and you may have to change from one to another. If you speak a bit of Spanish, the locals are happy to direct you. Riding the bus is great to enjoy the local culture. One day a Tican university student who had lived in the US for a couple of years struck up a conversation with us, and on another we chatted with an American ex-pat who was living in CR full time.
We found lots to do and see in the area during our week's stay. We visited Zoo Ave (Bird Zoo) which is only 1 km away to identify the local birds and animals which we hoped to see in the wild later in our trip. Other excursions were to downtown San Jose (beautiful parks, some historic buildings, don't miss the precolumbian gold museum), Doka Coffee plantation, Poas Volcano, a cart workshop in Sarchi where the machines were run by waterwheel, Inbiosphere Environmental park and the beautiful Orosi valley.
It was a great week, sorry we had to leave!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaycrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    198
    51
    14
    4
See reviews for
204
268
59
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2009

We had a pleasant stay here at the beginning of our holiday as it's close to the airport (20 mins taxi - $15). We paid $75 incl tax (cash) for a double room with a bathroom per night (it's $80 if you have to pay by credit card). The price excludes airport transfer but includes breakfast (fruit, juice, coffee/tea, cereal, toast, cake).

The owners are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and light. The room had fan but no a/c (although it wasn't needed).

There are a handful of local places to eat within walking distance but there's not a lot going on in the area. Rob helped us to book a tour (ziplining) and helped us find another hotel to stay at for our second night as his was full.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BananaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

When you arrive in SJO late afternoon, and don't want to drive at night, this is a good option, about 10 minutes from the airport but very easy to find if you follow the advice on their website.
Basic rooms around a garden that could be much better with a little design flair, nice pool, decent breakfast, and helpful owners. Rooms are quite close one to the other, we were awaken early by noisy children.
Not my favorite place in Costa Rica, but considering the price for value ($75 with taxes in february 2009), this is definitely a place to recommend!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Didierz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We stayed at La Rosa at the beginning of our recent trip to Costa Rica and it was nice. The hotel has a nice, quiet setting with comfortable rooms and a decent breakfast. It is not a luxury resort, but it isn't priced like one either. It would be a good place to stay at the beginning or end of a trip becaus it is only ten minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILoveToEatOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights: the first night we arrived in Costa Rica and the night before coming home. I really do not have enough words to say what a wonderful and relaxing place this hotel is. We noticed the hotel last year, when we visited Costa Rica for the first time and we drove by it. I told my husband we had to stay here on our next trip. And we did! It turned out to be such a good decision! The hotel is very well run, very clean and quiet. The gardens are very well maintained, the hotel personnel is very friendly and the owners are doing all they can to make your stay enjoyable and relaxing. Robert has such a great personality and he was so helpful in providing information on tours, things to do and see, places to shop for souvenirs, restaurants, etc. Robert even took care of the car rental for us, so we did not have to do this on our own. We just had the car delivered at the hotel in the morning and few days later, when we were ready to return the car, Robert called the rental company and they came and picked it up. Since we had an early flight and we had to be at the airport at 5:30am, he ordered a cab for us the night before, so we would not have to deal with this in the morning. When we woke up in the morning, the cab was there, waiting for us (he even came earlier than we expected him to show up).

The rooms are good size, the beds are very comfortable and there is hot water in the bathroom, so you can take showers without freezing. Breakfast is included in the price of the room and it is good. You have few options to choose from and it is enough to keep you running until noon. A nice touch is that if you have an early flight in the morning ( like we did), Robert will give you a bag with your breakfast the night before, so you have something to eat in the morning when you wake up.

The hotel is located in a safe area and I liked the fact that it was quiet during the day and during the night. We did not get disturbed by traffic noises or any other kind of noises. You can definitely relax here if you decide to spend few hours on the porch of your room or by the pool.

The pool is very clean and well maintained. You get separate towels for the pool, so you do not have to use the towels that you will find in your room.

In the reception area you will find a computer with Internet access. It is free to use if you are a hotel guest. In case you brought your own laptop, you can use it with no problem from your room or from any place of the hotel perimeter. Again, another nice touch that counts! Oh, and BTW: guess what home page Robert choose to display when opening up the browser of the computer in the reception area :)

My only regret is that I did not have the chance (due to time constraints) to make an appointment and get a massage at the hotel. Oh, yeah, they offer this service too. And the prices are very decent!

In a nutshell, I would really recommend this hotel for any length of stay: short or long. You will not be disappointed if you decide to stay here. We will definitely be back here on our next trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monica1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

I'll add another postive comment regarding this hotel. As stated in other posts, the owners are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are neat and clean. The pool in an added bonus. There is no restaurant onsite but there are several places with local color within walking distance. There is also a bank with an ATM nearby. One should know that the hotel is not in downtown Alajuela but that lends to the peaceful setting.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank gerrysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2009

It is not easy to house 15 college students on a Costa Rica study abroad, but this place nailed it! As one of those college students not only did I dread leaving the hotel, but I cant wait to go back! The management is super nice and the views are fantastic. I would absolutely recommend this establishment to any future Costa Rica traveler.

  • Liked — Very convenient location.
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PuraVidaMaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
4.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#3 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#6 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Property: Hotel La Rosa de America
Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing