We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VIDA Volunteer Dec. 08 - Jan. 09”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
wilmington, nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VIDA Volunteer Dec. 08 - Jan. 09”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

I loved staying here. It is a beautiful, cozy place that made me feel right at home. The owner , Robert, and his family are very helpful and so so nice. All the staff were just as great as well. I will definitely be back and recommend this hotel to others! It is so pretty there.

  • Liked — The atmosphere and the people.
  • Disliked — Nothing---everything was great!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank glirpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    196
    51
    14
    4
See reviews for
202
264
58
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

If you are travelling to Costa Rica and looking for an excellent value--this is it! We just got back a couple of weeks ago after staying all but one night of our 8 day trip at this hotel (the other was an overnight trip to southern Costa Rica). For us, it has all the things that are attractive for a tourist (and we've travelled extensively): Neat, clean rooms; comfortable beds; a great pool; beautiful, well kept gardens; inviting atmosphere; tasty breakfast; and friendly, knowledgeable staff who were more than helpful discussing Costa Rican sights, options, best deals, and arranging tours for us. I might add that they did the latter for us both before we arrived (by e-mail) and in person during our stay.
As they say, "What's not to like!"

PS - English, Spanish and some French spoken.

  • Liked — Serene and pleasant atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank carpentersing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2008

a group of poker dealers for the latin series of poker stayed at the hotel la rosa de america for 11 days. none of us spoke spanish, knew anything about the culture, or knew our way around. robert, his wife alexandra, and their staff were extremely helpful in every way. they helped us order food, call taxis, laundered our clothes, and took care of anything else we needed while we were there. the rooms are nice, clean, and well set up. the breakfast served was delicious. but once again the best part of all of our experience was our interaction with the staff. my career requires me to live out of hotel room across the world for a minimum of 10 days a month and this was by far the best customer service i have ever experienced. thanks again to the staff a hotel la rosa de america.

Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank b__mo1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

The owners and staff will bend over backwards for you. They also know many of the cool trips to take in Costa Rica and make great recommendations. Spend a day or two here if you are in the area. Do spend some of your time on the Carribean side, however as there is more activities nearby.

  • Liked — The helpfulness of the staff
  • Disliked — The distance from major activities
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tracyahnert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Isidro
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2008

I have been working in real estate in Costa Rica for the last three years, and travel up and down to San Jose all the time. I normally stayed in the bigger hotels near the airport, but a friend of mine suggested to try La Rosa de America, because he stayed there once and he liked it a lot. So I did, and I won´t go to any other hotel anymore. The owners are great people, specially Robert, who I spend a few hours talking with. They bought the hotel a year ago, have a lot of nice ideas how to run it, and they also seem to have the energy to do it. The hotel itself is beautiful, specially the spacious garden area and the swimming pool. The rooms are not expensive, nicely decorated and very very clean, which for me is the most important thing. Breakfast is also good, and if you are a bird watcher, looking at your plate is a good start of the day.
Next time I´ll take my wife with me to this hotel, just to relax, enjoy the swimming pool and get away from every day life.
Okay guys, you´ll see me again soon, and until than.....just keep up the good work

  • Liked — The rooms were perfectly clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnnyboy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

We came by this hotel via a recommendation from another hotel in the area that was booked for the night. We found the hotel grounds to be beautiful, the rooms to be simple, but clean and comfortable and the host, Alexandra, and other employees to be very nice and helpful. We arrived here 2 nights before departing Costa Rica and after having had much of our belongings stolen in Montezuma the night before. Alexandra graciously let us use the hotel computer and phone for a few hours to try to piece things back together like passports, airline reservations, etc.

The breakfast was a beautiful array of fruit along with either toast or cereal , juice and wonderful coffee. Alexandra had many suggestions for local dining and I'm sure would've been a fantastic resource for excursions were we in the market for such. We will definitely stay at the Hotel La Rosa de America if we were to return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SueAnneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

My son and I spent two nights, our first and last, at this small hotel during our stay in Costa Rica. Above all else, the hotel offers a convenient and inexpensive alternative to the cookie cutter hotel rooms located near the airport. We were able to make it to and from the airport in less than 15 minutes (at 11:00 pm and 5:00 am) and stay in a more relaxed place with lush gardens, a nice sized pool, and be a part of a local neighborhood.

Our hosts at the hotel, made our first trip to the country go very smoothly by arranging for pickup at the airport, rental car delivery at the hotel, and a taxi early in the morning for our departure. Alexandra even packed a breakfast-to-go for us as we had to leave at 5:00 am.

The room itself was pretty basic. Two beds, a small television, a ceiling fan, clean towels, soap, and a hot water shower are about all you get. Included in the price too was breakfast that consisted of a variety of fruits, cereal or toast, juice, and coffee.

For dinner we walked about 300 meters to a typical Costa Rican soda (restaurant) that was recommended to us, Mi Tierra. We had the grilled meats plate and rice. Very good.

One small negative about staying at this hotel is that since there is no air conditioning, we had to leave the windows open with the ceiling fan running at night. The room cooled down to 75 degrees at night according to the thermometer in my alarm clock. It was comfortable enough but what made sleeping difficult were the late night guest arrivals. As they arrived, the taxi would honk its horn for the security gate to open and since our unit was close by, I was awakened each time.

Another negative point is that there is no food service after breakfast. We returned to the hotel on our last night at around 3:00 pm and decided to lounge around the pool. Since we were hungry, I asked if they could make up a fruit plate for us. We were told that they could not. I don’t know why, it would have been simple to cut up some fruit. So instead, we reached into our backpacks and found some bananas that we had been carrying around with us for the entire week and ate the mushy fruit. They did though have some cold drinks available.

Other than these two small negative points, the hotel met all of our expectations. We would definitely recommend this friendly hotel to the budget conscious traveler looking for a more unique experience.

  • Liked — Location, price, and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Noise from arriving taxis
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ka7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
4.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#8 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Property: Hotel La Rosa de America
Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing