We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Rosa de America
Nearby Hotels
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Robledal(Alajuela)
$84
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
$61
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (734)
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveler rating
430
225
58
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
225
58
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanana breadcosta ricaclose to the airportsan josefamily suitezoo avesuperior roomnice poolrental carbeautiful groundslast nightbunk bedsnext morningceiling fanrooms are smallwould definitely stay here againfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 734 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

La Rosa was where we stayed at the beginning and end of our trip to Manuel Antonio. The hotel owner (Alexandra), Amanda (at the front desk), and Ruben (front desk) were all super nice and helpful. The "tipico" breakfast was freshly made and served in a pleasant setting. We did use the A/C in the room during the rain even though the temperature was mild (in October).

Alexandra set us up with a taxi, who picked us up at the airport late at night (dozens of cab drivers offered, but someone had our name on a board) and took us through Alajuela which was not the route I had expected. I could not have made that drive in a rental car. The number of directions, lack of lighting at night, sinage, and other divers/hazards was mind boggling.

The next morning U-Save was unable to pick us up according to the rental agreement, but Amanda and Alexandra were helpful in resolving the issue. Seems like that had happened before. I recommend renting a GPS unit if you rent a car. The drive doen to Manuel Antonio was surprisingly nice on a newly paved road system.

We had a large group of inconsiderate tourists bang on our door late at night, only to show incredulity upon finding out that it was occupied. Obviously not the hotels fault, but it was unnerving to say the least.

The grounds were nicely landscaped and fun to walk around. Overall, it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9kvector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I found this hotel to be just average. It does have very friendly staff, a beautiful grounds and a good breakfast. However, there are definitely hotels closer to the airport. I also thought the cleanliness was a little sub-par: there was a highway of ants in our room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel is the place to stay in proximity to San Jose. The staff is welcoming and very professional. The food is great and service is excellent. i plan on staying here every time I visit this part of Costa Rica and will highly recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrFreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

For the past dozen years, we have stayed at another Alajuela hotel, spoiled by our satisfaction and loyalty (we thought) to the lures of any others. Hotel La Rosa de America has removed our blinders. We began and concluded our visit with stays here, so convenient to the airport, as others have noted in their reviews. Echoing similar opinions, quickly praise for the lovely undulating garden, the sparkling pool, the comfortable dining room, where a variety of music welcomes one for breakfast and dinner. The Canadian couple who own and manage the hotel have hired an exceptional staff who round out the beauty of La Rosa. The restaurant serves a solid, if small, menu of delicious meals for lunch and dinner, including chifrido, a local favorite of large diced roasted pork, rice, pinto beans, onion, basil or oregano, tomatoes, avocado and spices served in a bowl with corn chips on the side. Luscious desserts, and their wine list is quite good, as well. Breakfast is simple, ample, and typical: gallo pinto (rice and beans), scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, coffee or tea, juice, housemade banana bread and a good white bread. Ask for salsa picante and you'll get it. If you can't eat bread, ask for tortillas, and you'll get them, warm and with a smile. This feels like family through and through; the prevailing attitude is a blend of willingness to serve, graciousness in educating, and helpfulness in navigating for newcomers and returning guests alike. They encourage suggestions in order to raise the bar on themselves. Bravo! Special praise for the cook on the night of January 12th, who was packing up to go home when we arrived bedraggled and hungry after an unanticipated 7 hours on the road. She prepared us a meal without complaint; I will long remember and be grateful for her kindness. Ditto the night clerk/guard who wasn't afraid to let the cook know that we had arrived without having eating since early lunch and after all the local options were closed. As for the rooms: they are small and simple--no king-size beds--but very clean, with modern bathrooms, comfortable beds, and both fans and AC. Wake up, mosey down to the dining room for coffee, sip it by the pool, on the chairs outside your room, or at the breakfast table. Definitely pura vida.

Room Tip: There are only 14 or 15 and they're much a like. There are a couple of large rooms with bunk beds to accommodate larger families. The smaller numbered are further from the road, but this is not a particularly noisy place.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed at Hotel La Rosa for a few nights at the very beginning and end of a recent trip to CR, and highly recommend it! Its convenient location close to San Jose Int'l airport (an approx. 15-20 min drive) was appreciated when I arrived late and had to catch a couple of very early morning flights.
As a solo female traveller, I felt safe and well taken care of - La Rosa's polite, friendly and professional staff helped with airport transfers and thoughtfully provided little breakfasts to-go at early hours. The two different rooms I stayed in were clean, comfortable and charming, as was the rest of the property; the garden is a beautiful and relaxing complement to the pool!
This is a boutique hotel (only 15 rooms), set up cabana-style around the garden grounds, which provided a more personal/local feeling/setting than I'd have gotten at a large chain hotel - which I thoroughly enjoyed!
Must-tries at the restaurant: the ravioli and chifrijo. So delicious!
Enjoy your stay!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank tardy_hardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews