We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (795)
Filter reviews
795 results
Traveler rating
464
246
64
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
464
246
64
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews banana bread costa rica close to the airport family suite san jose zoo ave last night nice pool superior room rental car beautiful grounds recommend hotel ceiling fan fresh fruit next morning would definitely stay here again secure parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 795 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

What a nice little gem and the perfect place to stay by the airport. Hotel La Rosa de America is a peaceful little place with a friendly staff and all the amenities you need. The grounds are beautifully kept and are within walking distance to a market, a couple restaurants and the town of Alajeula. The breakfast was wonderful and included in the price. The staff was kind enough to set up a taxi the day we had to be to the airport at 4am and put together a nice little “breakfast” care package for us that morning too. We had the pleasure of visiting with Robert, the owner, for a while and he was very friendly and informative. We will definitely be back to Hotel La Rosa de America when we are in Alajuela again.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hookedontraveling22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

It was a pleasure to meet you! I hope that your entire vacation in Costa Rica was as enjoyable as your time with us at La Rosa. No problem at all with the breakfast to go - there is very little fit to eat at the airport so having this service for our guests is important!
The La Rosa breakfast has recently been redone in order to offer guests more options. We now have a breakfast buffet free of charge, which is mostly unchanged from when you stayed with us but now we also offer an extended range of for purchase plates as well designed to satisfy the majority of European, North American and Latino guests. Hopefully something for every taste!
Thank you for taking the time to express your experiences in words on this site. We really feel that traveler reviews help not only the hotels, but more importantly, future guests as well.
Hope to see you in Costa Rica again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I booked rooms in this hotel for a group of 16 colleagues that were meeting in Costa Rica for a retreat. We needed a place close to the airport to stay for one night before we took off for our retreat in Sarapiquí. La Rosa de America was a perfect location. The hotel is on beautiful grounds with meticulously maintained gardens. Rooms are clean and comfortable. They served a lovely breakfast (included) and also offer several options for dinner for those that do not want to go out due to fatigue or rain. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. I would certainly stay here again. I felt very welcome and taken care of. Rates are very reasonable, and Alexandra gave my group a special rate as well. My only regret is that I didn't have time to swim in the very inviting pool! Alexandra also arranged airport pickups for us.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Philecta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your very positive review! Your regret about not sufficient time to use our pool is the second most common regret we receive! The most common regret for guests staying with us is not staying long enough! However, we feel the best trips leave us wanting more - so we have to come back again!!!
We appreciate your recognition of our Rates and overall Value. We work extremely hard to ensure our rates are not simply competitive, but actually as low as we can make them, and comments such as yours left on forums like this help us significantly reduce costs. So we would like to pass on some of the appreciation to the hundreds of guests who have taken the time to write in and leave their thoughts over the years!
If you ever return to Costa Rica, definitely let us know! The pool will still be here waiting for you - and we are improving the pool ambiance and surrounding gardens in this moment.
Thanks again for your review. We are happy that your group enjoyed Costa Rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

For two years in a row, we've made this hotel our last stop before heading home. The grounds are lovely, the dinner was fantastic, and the banana bread is yummy. Our room was so big it fit our family of 5 with a bed to spare!

Date of stay: June 2013
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank TexasTravelGirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

The loyalty of our repeat guests is extremely valuable to us. Thank you for both your very positive review of La Rosa, and also for your repeat business! We are glad that you were able to use our increasing service options including our Restaurante La Rosa. Your positive feedback about your meal experiences are especially valuable as this is a fairly new venture for us and as such every bit of guest feedback is of great importance.
We hope that the rest of your trip was as enjoyable as your time at La Rosa and that we will see you again soon in Costa Rica!
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We flew in late to Costa Rica and booked this fairly last minute. We arrived after 10:30pm and left by 11am the next morning. This place was very quiet and very clean. Great pool! I wish we could have stayed here longer. The staff was very friendly and very helpful when we had questions about where to go, etc. Great place!

Room tip: The room we stayed in was more than we needed. More beds than needed and more space than needed. Not sure price differences but maybe just ask about that.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

It was a pleasure having you stay with us! Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed the pool so much. It has recently undergone a major service repair and is now just returning to it's original state.
No problem with the room upgrade. If we have the available space we do try to automatically bump guests to a higher quality room free of additional cost. Normally the Family Suites do cost significantly more, but that is also due to the increased number of guests usually renting a Family Suite. (thus the extra beds) We are glad that you enjoyed your large room!
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This charming jungle/garden hotel is 3,000 feet above sea level, making it cool in the evenings and comfortable during the day. The rooms are situated in bungalows and are well-appointed and very clean. The breakfast is very substantial and filling, and was the perfect fare following a hard travel day and in preparation for the-day of travel we were facing. But more importantly, the staff was extremely helpful and the front desk had USD for travelers returning to the states who were trying to get rid of their colones. The gardener was eager to show us the mango tree and the flowers in the lush tropical garden.

Room tip: All the rooms are quite nice and situated conveniently around the property.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

We appreciate your review! It was no trouble at all to provide exchange services for your colones. We understand that the local currency, not being internationally traded has no real value outside Costa Rica. However, for us, it is the preferred currency!
We are glad that you found our services and staff dedication to your satisfaction! We work hard to try to make all guests feel at home and we very much appreciate it when we get feedback such as yours! It lets us know that we are getting it right!!
Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you in Costa Rica again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews