We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great first and last night in Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, MA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great first and last night in Costa Rica”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent our first night in Costa Rica at Hotel La Rosa de America. What a great choice. It is near the airport but not at the airport, and is not an airport hotel! The hotel can arrange transportation. If you pick up a rental car, the drive through Anajuela can be a little jarring as you get used to the driving rules and etiquette, and adjust to the volume of traffic. The hotel grounds are quiet and beautiful. The accommodations are excellent. The swimming pool and gardens help you to relax and know that your vacation has started. The hotel's restaurant is very good for dinner and for the great breakfast that is provided. The staff and service are wonderful.

Room Tip: We had a superior room to have the option of using air conditioning. It cooled off at night and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amherst_Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel and for letting us know that you enjoyed your time here so much! I like your description of local traffic - "jarring", and the dubious pleasures of being in downtown of Alajuela or San Jose!
We are glad that you found our new Superior Rooms to meet your needs as well as our gardens and pool area. We take great pride in the development and maintenance of our gardens throughout the changing seasons!
Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    199
    51
    15
    4
See reviews for
206
271
59
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Philip's, Newfoundland & Labrador
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent two nights at Hotel La Rosa de America on our arrival in Costa Rica, and two nights just before we departed from our 18 day trip. The hotel is situated on very beautiful grounds and is a quiet, restful place to stay. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The hotel provides a nice breakfast. The hotel also offers evening meals at its restaurant for additional cost. We ate several meals there as it was very convenient and enjoyed them all.
Where the hotel stands out is in the service it offers. We found all the staff members to be extremely friendly, pleasant and helpful. It started when we booked a room from home, Alexandra, unasked, offered to arrange transportation from the airport and a rental car for us. We accepted her offer and she provided three quotes to us for a rental vehicle. All the staff, from Robert, the owner, to room staff to wait staff, were helpful, providing directions, instructions on how to use the local buses, suggestions for sights, and all kinds of other useful information. All seemed to take pride in the hotel and in their work.
The hotel is small and has the basic amenities. If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable place to stay, close to San Jose airport, at a reasonable cost and with superior, personal, service, we recommend Hotel la Rosa de America.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stoneisland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
It was great talking to you during your stay! Return guests are very important to us as it shows we are providing a correct level of value for service!
Most especially valuable to us is that, from your review, you were able to experience the "La Rosa Difference"... from the initial contact with our webpage and reservations, to arriving at the hotel to actually enjoying our services and staying with us through to your check out. Providing a continuous high level of service from start to end, without weak links is very important to us! Again, thank you for letting us know the La Rosa Team is achieving it!
I enjoyed talking with you about Newfoundland etc! I hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My sisters, daughter and I stayed at the hotel upon arrival to Costa Rica and then 1 sister and my daughter and I stayed on our way out of the country. The gardens are wonderful and so full of flora and wee fauna.
The included breakfast was perfect with banana bread, fresh fruit, Costa Rican coffee, etc. Loved how they packed a to go breakfast for us when we had to leave for the airport early on our departure.
The dinners were good, as well, although there isn't a huge menu likely due to the boutique style of the hotel with about 10 casitas.
The rooms are fine...could benefit from some updating but who really stays in the hotel when on vacation? No a/c was needed as the fans worked fine. The showers were efficient and hot and some beds more comfortable than others (we stayed in two separate rooms).
I have recently heard that Robert has opted to replace the towels (thread bare and teeny tiny) and the sheets which will help tons. Also, I hear they are installing a railing for the pool steps (I took a tumble while enjoying the lovely pool).
The staff is lovely and very helpful.
Also we were able to walk to a great Zoo from the hotel (ZooAve) which was an incredible surprise for our last day.
I'd stay there again in a heartbeat. I encourage them to update things annually so the casitas will keep pace with the beautiful gardens.
thank you!

Room Tip: We really loved the S1 room as it slept 5 and had 2 separate type rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scd65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hello again! Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much! Our gardens and very important to us as a Central Valley Airport Hotel. We believe they are a major contributor to the ability of our guests to have great sleeps in comfort so close to both the International Airport and a major population centre.
We regret your slipping on the pool stairs as you were getting into the pool. We are planning to install a railing as the wet tiles can be rather slippery. We have received a quote to that effect and we are just waiting for comparison quotes to ensure a quality job.
The rooms at La Rosa are constantly being renovated. The hotel, being 16 years old was in significant need of refurbishment when purchased five years ago by me. In the past five years virtually every single corner of the hotel has been modernized from the garden, to rooms to underground services to contractual services! It has been a huge job but we are growing more and more satisfied and proud of the results! Although all rooms have been modernized, our Superior Rooms have significantly more alterations for guest comfort. Due to the huge popularity of these new rooms, we will be converting more Standard Rooms to the new Superior Standard this year. Our family rooms (your room) are relatively new as well, and we are very glad you enjoyed it so much!
Our Restaurante La Rosa is a private restaurant only designed to service our guests. Therefore the volume is not great. So we are unable to offer more than the 10-12 main courses that we do have. However we do have significant flexibility and we are happy to create vegetarian options or "mix and match" dishes if so desired!
Thank you for your review and your kind comments. Please be assured that we are looking into the pool rail situation and hope to have one installed before May!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I relied on Trip Advisor to book Hotel La Rosa so i had to comment. It was everything it said it would be from other reviews. We used the hotel as a starting point and ending point of our trip to Costa Rica and it was great . Once you pull in gates the grounds impress you right away. It is only a few min. shuttle from San Jose airport and staff was fantastic.
Breakfast was great and only unfortunate part was we couldnt enjoy their dinner as our final night was on Sunday when kitchen was closed.
Top marks to Robert for a very comfortable and friendly stay. We will be back when next to Costa Rica.
Cheers....Pura Vida
Bob Curtis

Room Tip: Family suite excellent...we have 3 adult children and lots of room for 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveloverNHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
It is always good to see people who rely on Tripadvisor taking the time to write in themselves. We feel it is so important for future guests to be able to read the experiences of past travelers. As the Owner of La Rosa, I am glad that what you researched and expected was what you saw and received from us! We take very seriously the accuracy of our marketing - both our promises, and the accuracy of our property photos!
It was a pleasure talking with you and hosting you! On behalf of the hotel staff, we hope to see you again soon in Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our flight doesn't leave until 2 am. We had to be out of our condo in Jaco by 9 am so we decided to book a hotel room so we could relax and rest before the long trip home. We chose the Hotel La Rosa de America. We are thrilled! The room 2S
for my Mom, Dad and I is spotless and very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and the pool was cool but crystal clean and very refreshing. We had missed breakfast as we arrived too late but were treated to aromatic coffe and home made banana bread by the lovely and very charming receptionist. We just finished supper and it was delicious.
Our server Deryn was helpful, professional, knowledgable, friendly and could not have been more charming.
A wonderful experience we would not hesitate to come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Reviews such as yours are very gratifying for us here at La Rosa to read! We all appreciate you taking the time to write your thoughts to us and also to other potential customers! We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us so much and we hope you will be able to return to Costa Rica again soon! It was a pleasure talking to you when you were here about your time in Jaco and the surrounding area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I only stayed at La Rosa for my first night in Costa Rica, but it provided the travelers respite that i needed. Relaxing, peaceful and friendly was the perfect way to begin an adventure. I was fortunate to meet another solo traveler and we explored the local dining options together (quite an adventure the busy narrow road with no sidewalks!). The breakfast was adequate and nicely presented.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to have been able to provide for you a positive experience for your entry point into Costa Rica and even have a second solo traveler available for you to go exploring!!!
The roads in Costa Rica are somewhat interesting but they are getting rapidly better throughout the country. I hope that you enjoyed your trip to Costa Rica and that it was as good or better than you hoped!
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Little cabinas throught a well groom garden. Fruit trees. Pool. Reception and restaurant building. Not recently renovated but still ok. But there was a few mishaps on our stay that make us think other accomodation might be better suited for an in/out stay near the airport.

From the website and the reservation confirmation, we were made to believe that paying with a credit card was ok, but once there, they asked for cash, which I didn't have, being the end of our trip. They pointed us to an ATM near the hotel but it was out of order once we got there. They finaly took my credit card but they were not happy about it. Same went for supper.

The light in our room didn't work. Only bedside lamp.

They advertise a shuttle service but it is not free. And in fact, it is a taxi, which ends up charging whatever he feels like because, at least on ours, there wasn't even a meter. No pre-approuved fee (I asked the font desk and they couldn't tell me a price). It ended up being close to 15-18$. And to make things worst, after double checking with the hotel staff on arrival and in the morning of departure to confirm our pickup, the taxi wasn't there. We finally got one 20 minutes late after asking for a third time for them to call a taxi.

The restaurant in the hotel was a nice service to have but the food was very average. Breakfast was nice (and free) thought. And the room itself was nice, big windows on both side, nice little table, friendly staff.

We didn't had a chance to try the pool but I found the chairs and tables around it very dirty.

The sheets in the bed were smaller than the bed.

In the end, it was an okay stay but not as amazing as I thought it would be, seing the pictures in the web site or the rating in Tripadvisor. For 25$ cheaper, you can get the same room, same pool, also a nice garden, same free breakfast, a free shuttle and acceptance of your credit card at the Brillasol which will remain our favorite in this area.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank geebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Unfortunately it seems that there were some misunderstandings with your stay at La Rosa. We regret this confusion as we know how important our service is to our guests especially in light of our responsibilities inherent in being the entry point to Costa Rica for so many guests - both new and returning.
We are glad that you found our grounds and pool areas to be to your satisfaction. Regarding the issues you had with the credit card, we are somewhat at a loss to understand what happened. We have reviewed with our staff the hotel policies on credit card acceptance. For all guests concerned, La Rosa accepts Visa and Mastercard as well as Canadian and US Dollars, and of course Costa Rican Colones. Reservations that took advantage of our Feb Special of 20% off had a requirement to pay in cash upon arrival as part of the terms of receiving the discount. This was very clearly indicated both in advertizing and in the email confirmation and was specific only to the special discount.. Regarding normal bookings, the staff have been taught to indicate, especially to Canadian guests that if they wish to save significant credit card and exchange charges from colones to CAD dollars that we recommend that they pay cash - this is one of the reasons we accept CAD dollars in Costa Rica. However, at no time are our staff permitted to deny a guest the use of their credit card if that is their preferred method of payment. To be certain of this policy we have already reviewed it with our Reception staff.
With respect to the transfer service from the airport we inform guests that it is a personal and private transfer service, not a shuttle service. More importantly, this is a service provided by an independent contractor and La Rosa does not receive any compensation for this service. We have passed your concerns to the agency in hopes that they will improve their service, which traditionally has been of a high standard. Recently they have been experiencing staffing issues - thus the periodic necessity for a taxi. We continue to assess their performance and if necessary may consider other options as we feel that transportation to and from the airport is of critical importance to our guests.
We are not certain as to why the sheets seemed to be ill fitting. All the sheets are actually imported to Costa Rica specifically for La Rosa as we are not satisfied with the quality of sheets available here. All the sheets are double or single bed sheets fitted for double or single beds. If there was a problem in the way the bed was made up by our staff then please accept our apologies. For us to be able to take corrective action, it is so important for us to know at the front desk right away.
We regret that you had problems with taxi's and the ATM's as well as with the size of our bedsheets. Please know that we take all guest concerns very seriously, and that we continue to work to ensure both our service and that of our service providers is of as high quality as possible. Thank you for your stay at La Rosa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
4.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
302 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
298 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
675 reviews
3.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Property: Hotel La Rosa de America
Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing