We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel La Rosa top marks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I relied on Trip Advisor to book Hotel La Rosa so i had to comment. It was everything it said it would be from other reviews. We used the hotel as a starting point and ending point of our trip to Costa Rica and it was great . Once you pull in gates the grounds impress you right away. It is only a few min. shuttle from San Jose airport and staff was fantastic.
Breakfast was great and only unfortunate part was we couldnt enjoy their dinner as our final night was on Sunday when kitchen was closed.
Top marks to Robert for a very comfortable and friendly stay. We will be back when next to Costa Rica.
Cheers....Pura Vida
Bob Curtis

Room Tip: Family suite excellent...we have 3 adult children and lots of room for 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveloverNHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

It is always good to see people who rely on Tripadvisor taking the time to write in themselves. We feel it is so important for future guests to be able to read the experiences of past travelers. As the Owner of La Rosa, I am glad that what you researched and expected was what you saw and received from us! We take very seriously the accuracy of our marketing - both our promises, and the accuracy of our property photos!
It was a pleasure talking with you and hosting you! On behalf of the hotel staff, we hope to see you again soon in Costa Rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 679 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our flight doesn't leave until 2 am. We had to be out of our condo in Jaco by 9 am so we decided to book a hotel room so we could relax and rest before the long trip home. We chose the Hotel La Rosa de America. We are thrilled! The room 2S
for my Mom, Dad and I is spotless and very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and the pool was cool but crystal clean and very refreshing. We had missed breakfast as we arrived too late but were treated to aromatic coffe and home made banana bread by the lovely and very charming receptionist. We just finished supper and it was delicious.
Our server Deryn was helpful, professional, knowledgable, friendly and could not have been more charming.
A wonderful experience we would not hesitate to come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Reviews such as yours are very gratifying for us here at La Rosa to read! We all appreciate you taking the time to write your thoughts to us and also to other potential customers! We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us so much and we hope you will be able to return to Costa Rica again soon! It was a pleasure talking to you when you were here about your time in Jaco and the surrounding area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I only stayed at La Rosa for my first night in Costa Rica, but it provided the travelers respite that i needed. Relaxing, peaceful and friendly was the perfect way to begin an adventure. I was fortunate to meet another solo traveler and we explored the local dining options together (quite an adventure the busy narrow road with no sidewalks!). The breakfast was adequate and nicely presented.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are glad to have been able to provide for you a positive experience for your entry point into Costa Rica and even have a second solo traveler available for you to go exploring!!!
The roads in Costa Rica are somewhat interesting but they are getting rapidly better throughout the country. I hope that you enjoyed your trip to Costa Rica and that it was as good or better than you hoped!
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Little cabinas throught a well groom garden. Fruit trees. Pool. Reception and restaurant building. Not recently renovated but still ok. But there was a few mishaps on our stay that make us think other accomodation might be better suited for an in/out stay near the airport.

From the website and the reservation confirmation, we were made to believe that paying with a credit card was ok, but once there, they asked for cash, which I didn't have, being the end of our trip. They pointed us to an ATM near the hotel but it was out of order once we got there. They finaly took my credit card but they were not happy about it. Same went for supper.

The light in our room didn't work. Only bedside lamp.

They advertise a shuttle service but it is not free. And in fact, it is a taxi, which ends up charging whatever he feels like because, at least on ours, there wasn't even a meter. No pre-approuved fee (I asked the font desk and they couldn't tell me a price). It ended up being close to 15-18$. And to make things worst, after double checking with the hotel staff on arrival and in the morning of departure to confirm our pickup, the taxi wasn't there. We finally got one 20 minutes late after asking for a third time for them to call a taxi.

The restaurant in the hotel was a nice service to have but the food was very average. Breakfast was nice (and free) thought. And the room itself was nice, big windows on both side, nice little table, friendly staff.

We didn't had a chance to try the pool but I found the chairs and tables around it very dirty.

The sheets in the bed were smaller than the bed.

In the end, it was an okay stay but not as amazing as I thought it would be, seing the pictures in the web site or the rating in Tripadvisor. For 25$ cheaper, you can get the same room, same pool, also a nice garden, same free breakfast, a free shuttle and acceptance of your credit card at the Brillasol which will remain our favorite in this area.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank geebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Unfortunately it seems that there were some misunderstandings with your stay at La Rosa. We regret this confusion as we know how important our service is to our guests especially in light of our responsibilities inherent in being the entry point to Costa Rica for so many guests - both new and returning.
We are glad that you found our grounds and pool areas to be to your satisfaction. Regarding the issues you had with the credit card, we are somewhat at a loss to understand what happened. We have reviewed with our staff the hotel policies on credit card acceptance. For all guests concerned, La Rosa accepts Visa and Mastercard as well as Canadian and US Dollars, and of course Costa Rican Colones. Reservations that took advantage of our Feb Special of 20% off had a requirement to pay in cash upon arrival as part of the terms of receiving the discount. This was very clearly indicated both in advertizing and in the email confirmation and was specific only to the special discount.. Regarding normal bookings, the staff have been taught to indicate, especially to Canadian guests that if they wish to save significant credit card and exchange charges from colones to CAD dollars that we recommend that they pay cash - this is one of the reasons we accept CAD dollars in Costa Rica. However, at no time are our staff permitted to deny a guest the use of their credit card if that is their preferred method of payment. To be certain of this policy we have already reviewed it with our Reception staff.
With respect to the transfer service from the airport we inform guests that it is a personal and private transfer service, not a shuttle service. More importantly, this is a service provided by an independent contractor and La Rosa does not receive any compensation for this service. We have passed your concerns to the agency in hopes that they will improve their service, which traditionally has been of a high standard. Recently they have been experiencing staffing issues - thus the periodic necessity for a taxi. We continue to assess their performance and if necessary may consider other options as we feel that transportation to and from the airport is of critical importance to our guests.
We are not certain as to why the sheets seemed to be ill fitting. All the sheets are actually imported to Costa Rica specifically for La Rosa as we are not satisfied with the quality of sheets available here. All the sheets are double or single bed sheets fitted for double or single beds. If there was a problem in the way the bed was made up by our staff then please accept our apologies. For us to be able to take corrective action, it is so important for us to know at the front desk right away.
We regret that you had problems with taxi's and the ATM's as well as with the size of our bedsheets. Please know that we take all guest concerns very seriously, and that we continue to work to ensure both our service and that of our service providers is of as high quality as possible. Thank you for your stay at La Rosa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

La Rosa is near (but not too near!) the San José airport (SJ0) and is nicely located to visit the many attractions in the region (worth 3-4 days, depending on interests). The staff is very friendly and helpful, the hotel and grounds (with lovely swimming pool) are immaculately kept. Very welcome after a long flight, a good place to rest and get one's bearings on a new land.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be quiet, roomy and well-located
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnchri50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for writing the review! It was a pleasure talking with you in Reception and helping you with questions etc.
We feel the grounds are a very important part of being at La Rosa and in fact in Costa Rica in general. It is always gratifying for us to find like minded guests!
I hope your trip to Costa Rica was excellent and we hope to see you back here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in our first and last days in Costa Rica, the hotel is very close to the airport rooms are very nice, clean and pleasant, staff very pleasant, helpful and give you the feeling of a family hotel. We enjoyed the hotel and staff very much, the place is highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

We enjoyed hosting you at La Rosa! We appreciate our returning guests very much! Talking with you about your trip and even places in Israel was interesting. I hope you had a great (if long) flight home! Thank you for your multiple stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here on our first and last days in Costa Rica. The 'hotel' consists of chalets set in a small but well-laid out tropical garden. Rooms (S1 and 8) were adequately sized and clean with comfortable beds. Hot water in the shower, reliable toilets (not always the case in CR) and a good restaurant. No A/C (we had two cool nights), but a good room fan. A nice, clean pool which we didn't use.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Hello again! Thank you not only your very positive review but for being our guest twice! Repeat guests are very important to us. We are glad you enjoyed our Restaurante La Rosa. It is new for the current high season and is proving quite popular with guests.
Our Superior Rooms have A/C. We don't offer it in our Standard Rooms in an effort to provide greater price options for our guests. As you indicated in your note, seldom is it needed in the climate that La Rosa enjoys.
We hope you had a great vacation and we thank you for including us in your travel arrangements! Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
1.4 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
131 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
696 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
311 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range: $65 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing