We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make your life easier”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
South Rockwood, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Make your life easier”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My third trip to Costa Rica- and I've learned (after 66 years -and much travel), it's important to have a good night's rest before and after a long air flight for you and your entourage. La Rosa is the perfect place to stay after arrival, and before trekking about the countryside. A $15 van (arranged by the hotel) gets you to La Rosa de America from the airport with all your bags and companions- they'll even have arrange a driver who has your name on a placard meet you after clearing customs. If you rent a car, don't try to find your way around without a GPS. Street signs don't exist- and traffic rules are questionable.
Nice pool, no traffic noise and fumes, clean rooms, great staff, computer for your use, occasional exotic birds, beverages and meals available, fantastic gardens and breakfast included= its a no brainer. GARDENIAS! You can't stay at any Holiday Inn for what La Rosa charges. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as I did. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Splurge- get a bigger room for the few extra 10 or 20 bucks, you're on vacation! For a few extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganBob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We agree completely regarding the need for a good night sleep after plane travel or again before getting on a plane! We are glad to have meet your expectations in this regard!
We like Gardenias too - we call them perfume on a stick!
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciate the feedback and the fact that you found everything to your satisfaction!
Hope to see you again in Costa Rica soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    200
    52
    15
    5
See reviews for
210
274
60
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel came highly recommended to me...and it didn't disappoint. The rooms were modest and clean. The pool area and gardens are wonderful. The food is also wonderful. Like every hotel in Costa Rica, the WiFi doesn't seem to be available beyond the reception and the closest rooms to it. However, this is a very small quibble.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndsci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Recommended guests are so important to our business! Fully 20% of our guests are recommendations from past guests! We are very happy to have fulfilled both your expectations and that of the guest who recommended you!
We have been working at length with our Technical Support Contractor to create a more comprehensive WIFI at La Rosa. Normally most cabinas have good signal on their covered porches and about 70% have good signal inside the rooms. Because Hotel La Rosa is built to withstand the potential of a heavy earthquake - 8 or more, it is made of steel reinforced concrete - the perfect construction to break WIFI signals. We are currently pursuing a system that will simply beam the signal through the windows of the rooms. We hope to have this system on line soon.
We are very happy that you enjoyed our new Restaurant so much. It has only been open a short time and is primarily being run by La Rosa employees as a reward for their hard work in the past. Many of the staff have interest in, but absolutely no business experience so we felt that with La Rosa providing the opportunity and oversight this would allow the staff the chance to test their capabilities. It also allowed for two extra full time jobs for families in the La Garita area. It is gratifying to see our guests enjoying the experience!
Thank you for your review and the time you took to provide feedback to future travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, flying in from Europe. As arranged for by the hotel, the driver was waiting for us @the airport (so no hassle with taxi drivers, and yes, maybe we paid a couple of bucks more, but that was well worth it).
The hotel itself has got nice and clean rooms, a decent pool and is conveniently close to everything. The staff is really nice, the restaurant ok, but there are many places around where you can eat. We would recommend it to anyone who doesn't need or want to go into SJ.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famoffourparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel! We appreciate your comments.
We offer the private shuttle service in significant part due to the predations of may of the taxis at the airport. Our private meet and greet service costs $15.00 whereas an official taxi will cost between $14 and $16 normally and a non-official taxi will cost whatever random amount they feel like if it is not firmly per-negotiated. We are glad that you benefited from this service that Hotel La Rosa provides on an 100% at cost pricing.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at La Rosa, and that you enjoyed eating at Restaurante La Rosa as well. You are absolutely correct that there are a number of other local cuisine options - many perfect for lunch as most close quite early.
We were happy to host you! I hope you had a good flight back to France!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you're thinking of going to Costa Rica and you are landing in San Jose, La Rosa should be your first stop in the country. He staff is incredibly helpful and will help you navigate the whole country and plan your trip, especially if you are short on time there. The weather is perfect in the area, neither too cold or too hot so it's also a good place to stay for a week or so and lounge by the pool which is very often deserted during the day.

The rooms are very clean and you will not find ants and other bugs inside, which we were definitely happy about. The grounds are very well-kept and the flowers and trees are beautiful. The rooms are very cute and cozy.

The restaurant: I am a vegetarian, so I did not necessarily expected to be catered to... but I was! The food was great and very well-priced! You will find many overpriced restaurant in Costa Rica, this is not one of them.

Basically, we found this hotel was a gem and a wonderful place to stay a few days!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawandreann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
It was our pleasure hosting you at La Rosa for the majority of your stay in Costa Rica! I hope that our recommendations for things to do and see allowed you to really enjoy the countryside while using us as a home base!
I am glad that our new restaurant was able to easily meet your desires for vegetarian choices and that you found the prices and quality correct!
I hope that your car started in the minus 30 temp you were going home to! Yikes.
I am glad to have met you in Costa Rica and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Service provided here was excellent! They arranged transport to and from the airport as well as our rental vehicle. We only stayed for breakfast our first day. It was just what we needed. Our flight home was too early for breakfast so they sent us with delicious breakfast to go. The staff was very accommodating. This lovely hotel makes a great stopping point near the airport for travelers continuing their Costa Rican journey.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kfish414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our hotel! It was our pleasure to send you off to the airport with a breakfast to go! We hope you liked the banana bread! I am glad the rental car, organized through the hotel was a success! Best Regards and hope to see you again soon in Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

... or ... if you're exploring San Jose ... stay for a few days. The photographs are accurate. Our flight arrived at 9.30pm. Our shuttle driver (organized by Hotel La Rosa, was waiting for us at the airport with a sign with our name. The (approx 15 minute) drive through the backstreets had us wondering where we would end up, however the destination was perfect. As we were so late, we were met by the nightwatchman. He opened the gates as soon as our taxi pulled up. Carlos (the nightwatchman) showed us to our room and supplied us with water and snacks, which we paid for the following day. We slept comfortably, in air conditioning and awoke to beautiful gardens and a simple, but tasty buffet breakfast. Our rental car was delivered to Hotel la Rosa, and the next morning we happily left for our next destination and sitting by the pool in the AM. We will be back next week for our last night before leaving Costa Rica. We have a 7am flight out, and I am confident our taxi will meet us at Hotel la Rosa where we will depart with a pre-packed breakfast for the flight.

Room Tip: There was a small amount of noise from 2 stroke motorcycles, so maybe wear ear plugs if that worries...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borambil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are very proud about our reputation as an Oasis in the Central Valley! Guests named us that a couple years ago and to see it reaffirmed in your review is gratifying! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Guest experiences and satisfaction such as yours is very important to our business and our employees take great interest in all the online reviews as well. I am glad your car rental went smoothly, as sometimes guests renting by themselves, without hotel assistance can be less positive an experience! We hope that the remainder of your trip was as positive as your experience at La Rosa! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I, with our kids and grandkids, spent our first 2 days at La Rosa before setting off for 10 days around Costa Rica, and then our last day there before flying home. "Peaceful, beautiful and welcoming" are the words which come to mind to describe our stay. I loved the elegant gardens, with their trees, shrubs flowering plants, all beautifully arranged around the whole property. "El Jardinero" Don Luis is a masterful gardener tending and nurturing the garden with his special experience, judgement and care. Amanda, Grisska, Julio were very friendly and helpful, and the chef, whose name I missed, created wonderful breakfasts and dinners and was very kind too. It was a perfect way to begin and end our adventures in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Your comments about Restaurante La Rosa are the very first we have received since our recent opening of the Restaurant! Thank you! We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and we value that feedback very much as our Restaurant is so new.
We are very glad that you enjoyed staying with us this January and that my staff were able to meet all your expectations! We have shown your review to all the staff mentioned!
We hope you enjoyed Costa Rica as much as you did staying with us here at La Rosa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
4.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
865 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
1.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#11 of 27 in Alajuela
306 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
686 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Property: Hotel La Rosa de America
Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing