We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (784)
Filter reviews
784 results
Traveler rating
456
244
63
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
456
244
63
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews banana bread costa rica close to the airport family suite san jose zoo ave nice pool last night superior room rental car beautiful grounds recommend hotel bunk beds ceiling fan fresh fruit quiet neighborhood next morning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 784 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, flying in from Europe. As arranged for by the hotel, the driver was waiting for us @the airport (so no hassle with taxi drivers, and yes, maybe we paid a couple of bucks more, but that was well worth it).
The hotel itself has got nice and clean rooms, a decent pool and is conveniently close to everything. The staff is really nice, the restaurant ok, but there are many places around where you can eat. We would recommend it to anyone who doesn't need or want to go into SJ.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famoffourparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel! We appreciate your comments.
We offer the private shuttle service in significant part due to the predations of may of the taxis at the airport. Our private meet and greet service costs $15.00 whereas an official taxi will cost between $14 and $16 normally and a non-official taxi will cost whatever random amount they feel like if it is not firmly per-negotiated. We are glad that you benefited from this service that Hotel La Rosa provides on an 100% at cost pricing.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at La Rosa, and that you enjoyed eating at Restaurante La Rosa as well. You are absolutely correct that there are a number of other local cuisine options - many perfect for lunch as most close quite early.
We were happy to host you! I hope you had a good flight back to France!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you're thinking of going to Costa Rica and you are landing in San Jose, La Rosa should be your first stop in the country. He staff is incredibly helpful and will help you navigate the whole country and plan your trip, especially if you are short on time there. The weather is perfect in the area, neither too cold or too hot so it's also a good place to stay for a week or so and lounge by the pool which is very often deserted during the day.

The rooms are very clean and you will not find ants and other bugs inside, which we were definitely happy about. The grounds are very well-kept and the flowers and trees are beautiful. The rooms are very cute and cozy.

The restaurant: I am a vegetarian, so I did not necessarily expected to be catered to... but I was! The food was great and very well-priced! You will find many overpriced restaurant in Costa Rica, this is not one of them.

Basically, we found this hotel was a gem and a wonderful place to stay a few days!

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawandreann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

It was our pleasure hosting you at La Rosa for the majority of your stay in Costa Rica! I hope that our recommendations for things to do and see allowed you to really enjoy the countryside while using us as a home base!
I am glad that our new restaurant was able to easily meet your desires for vegetarian choices and that you found the prices and quality correct!
I hope that your car started in the minus 30 temp you were going home to! Yikes.
I am glad to have met you in Costa Rica and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Service provided here was excellent! They arranged transport to and from the airport as well as our rental vehicle. We only stayed for breakfast our first day. It was just what we needed. Our flight home was too early for breakfast so they sent us with delicious breakfast to go. The staff was very accommodating. This lovely hotel makes a great stopping point near the airport for travelers continuing their Costa Rican journey.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kfish414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for your great review of our hotel! It was our pleasure to send you off to the airport with a breakfast to go! We hope you liked the banana bread! I am glad the rental car, organized through the hotel was a success! Best Regards and hope to see you again soon in Costa Rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

... or ... if you're exploring San Jose ... stay for a few days. The photographs are accurate. Our flight arrived at 9.30pm. Our shuttle driver (organized by Hotel La Rosa, was waiting for us at the airport with a sign with our name. The (approx 15 minute) drive through the backstreets had us wondering where we would end up, however the destination was perfect. As we were so late, we were met by the nightwatchman. He opened the gates as soon as our taxi pulled up. Carlos (the nightwatchman) showed us to our room and supplied us with water and snacks, which we paid for the following day. We slept comfortably, in air conditioning and awoke to beautiful gardens and a simple, but tasty buffet breakfast. Our rental car was delivered to Hotel la Rosa, and the next morning we happily left for our next destination and sitting by the pool in the AM. We will be back next week for our last night before leaving Costa Rica. We have a 7am flight out, and I am confident our taxi will meet us at Hotel la Rosa where we will depart with a pre-packed breakfast for the flight.

Room tip: There was a small amount of noise from 2 stroke motorcycles, so maybe wear ear plugs if that worries you. The B&B is a block back from the main street, so it's unavoidable. We had the family room. You do need to walk through the master to use the restroom.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borambil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We are very proud about our reputation as an Oasis in the Central Valley! Guests named us that a couple years ago and to see it reaffirmed in your review is gratifying! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Guest experiences and satisfaction such as yours is very important to our business and our employees take great interest in all the online reviews as well. I am glad your car rental went smoothly, as sometimes guests renting by themselves, without hotel assistance can be less positive an experience! We hope that the remainder of your trip was as positive as your experience at La Rosa! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I, with our kids and grandkids, spent our first 2 days at La Rosa before setting off for 10 days around Costa Rica, and then our last day there before flying home. "Peaceful, beautiful and welcoming" are the words which come to mind to describe our stay. I loved the elegant gardens, with their trees, shrubs flowering plants, all beautifully arranged around the whole property. "El Jardinero" Don Luis is a masterful gardener tending and nurturing the garden with his special experience, judgement and care. Amanda, Grisska, Julio were very friendly and helpful, and the chef, whose name I missed, created wonderful breakfasts and dinners and was very kind too. It was a perfect way to begin and end our adventures in Costa Rica.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Your comments about Restaurante La Rosa are the very first we have received since our recent opening of the Restaurant! Thank you! We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and we value that feedback very much as our Restaurant is so new.
We are very glad that you enjoyed staying with us this January and that my staff were able to meet all your expectations! We have shown your review to all the staff mentioned!
We hope you enjoyed Costa Rica as much as you did staying with us here at La Rosa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews