We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first and last night!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great first and last night!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Service provided here was excellent! They arranged transport to and from the airport as well as our rental vehicle. We only stayed for breakfast our first day. It was just what we needed. Our flight home was too early for breakfast so they sent us with delicious breakfast to go. The staff was very accommodating. This lovely hotel makes a great stopping point near the airport for travelers continuing their Costa Rican journey.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kfish414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our hotel! It was our pleasure to send you off to the airport with a breakfast to go! We hope you liked the banana bread! I am glad the rental car, organized through the hotel was a success! Best Regards and hope to see you again soon in Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    200
    51
    15
    5
See reviews for
208
273
59
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

... or ... if you're exploring San Jose ... stay for a few days. The photographs are accurate. Our flight arrived at 9.30pm. Our shuttle driver (organized by Hotel La Rosa, was waiting for us at the airport with a sign with our name. The (approx 15 minute) drive through the backstreets had us wondering where we would end up, however the destination was perfect. As we were so late, we were met by the nightwatchman. He opened the gates as soon as our taxi pulled up. Carlos (the nightwatchman) showed us to our room and supplied us with water and snacks, which we paid for the following day. We slept comfortably, in air conditioning and awoke to beautiful gardens and a simple, but tasty buffet breakfast. Our rental car was delivered to Hotel la Rosa, and the next morning we happily left for our next destination and sitting by the pool in the AM. We will be back next week for our last night before leaving Costa Rica. We have a 7am flight out, and I am confident our taxi will meet us at Hotel la Rosa where we will depart with a pre-packed breakfast for the flight.

Room Tip: There was a small amount of noise from 2 stroke motorcycles, so maybe wear ear plugs if that worries...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borambil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are very proud about our reputation as an Oasis in the Central Valley! Guests named us that a couple years ago and to see it reaffirmed in your review is gratifying! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Guest experiences and satisfaction such as yours is very important to our business and our employees take great interest in all the online reviews as well. I am glad your car rental went smoothly, as sometimes guests renting by themselves, without hotel assistance can be less positive an experience! We hope that the remainder of your trip was as positive as your experience at La Rosa! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I, with our kids and grandkids, spent our first 2 days at La Rosa before setting off for 10 days around Costa Rica, and then our last day there before flying home. "Peaceful, beautiful and welcoming" are the words which come to mind to describe our stay. I loved the elegant gardens, with their trees, shrubs flowering plants, all beautifully arranged around the whole property. "El Jardinero" Don Luis is a masterful gardener tending and nurturing the garden with his special experience, judgement and care. Amanda, Grisska, Julio were very friendly and helpful, and the chef, whose name I missed, created wonderful breakfasts and dinners and was very kind too. It was a perfect way to begin and end our adventures in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Your comments about Restaurante La Rosa are the very first we have received since our recent opening of the Restaurant! Thank you! We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and we value that feedback very much as our Restaurant is so new.
We are very glad that you enjoyed staying with us this January and that my staff were able to meet all your expectations! We have shown your review to all the staff mentioned!
We hope you enjoyed Costa Rica as much as you did staying with us here at La Rosa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at Hotel La Rosa twice ....when we arrived in Costa Rica and the night before we left. Both times we were met with clean, comfortable accommodations, relaxing atmosphere and helpful and friendly staff. Our next stop was the Osa Peninsula via early morning plane, which meant luggage restrictions. The staff arranged for an early taxi, made a "to go" breakfast for us before the office was even open, and kept one of our suitcases in secure storage until we returned three days later. They arranged a rental car for us to pick up on our return from the Osa Peninsula ... . and every step along the way was smooth and trouble free. Gorgeous grounds, relaxing atmosphere and fabulous staff ... .Thanks, Hotel La Rosa ... . we really enjoyed our time with you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GandC71187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
I wish I was there to have met you myself! Unfortunately for both of your stays with us, I was unavailable. However I am very glad that the hotel team took great care of you! We very much value the overall guest experience and we are happy that you found our service to be of a very high caliber. Travelling to the Osa can be a challenge so if we were able to make it easier for you then we are happy!
Best Regards and Happy New Years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This was a great place to spend the night after flying into San Jose late. We took a cab there ($15), and it just took a little while. Nice, simple room, with a good breakfast the next morning. They had a pool, but we hit the road to Rincon de la Vieja.

Room Tip: all rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harvey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that your time up at Volcan Rincon was equally enjoyable! If you get an opportunity to return to La Rosa, we hope you will have the time to relax at our pool!
Again thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights at the start of our one month trip around Costa Rica as it was close to the airport yet far enough from the hustle of San Jose. All I can say is what a great place to start it all off, lovely garden setting, peaceful, great food and service. As this was the start of our honeymoon we even had a bottle of fizz in our room chilled!! Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moretea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your 5 star review of your stay with us! We were happy to be a part of your month long trip to Costa Rica! I hope that the remainder of your travels fare well and that you get a chance to return to Costa Rica some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We booked this hotel for one night because it was fairly close to the airport. We had never been been to Costa Rica before, so after an exciting drive through the city we were very relieved to find the hotel was a quiet place away from the hustle-and-bustle of the city.

While making our reservations I mentioned that we planned to rent a car. The hotel offered to arrange our car rental and airport pick-up for no additional charge. We declined, but looking back it would have been much easier if we had accepted the offer. Our rental agency turned out to be 10 minutes from the airport.

All of the staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay. The property was clean and well-maintained. We had four adults, so we stayed comfortably in a quad-room with a double bed and a bunk bed. The only complaint I have is that our room was close to the entrance. The gate at the entrance locks at night and people kept honking to get someone to come open the gate.

Breakfast was delicious, buffet-style with fresh fruit, eggs, meats, breads, juice, milk, and (of course) coffee. For supper we had walked to the restaurant up the street. The gentleman that took our order did not speak English, but he had a great sense of humor and we managed to get everything we wanted. And it was delicious!

Overall, I would definitely stay here again for business in the city or as an "airport hotel."

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Probably the most important thing a guest can say to us is that they would definitely come back and stay with us! With all the other choices available, this recognition is so very important to us and lets us know that we are getting it right!
Vehicle rental in Costa Rica can be a challenge - even for us. If you return in the future, we would be happy to assist you in this endeavor.
We are aware of the periodic noise of the front gate for the cabin nearest to it. We are planning to replace the tropical style louvered windows in that cabin with sealing ones to make it more sound resistant.
Thank you for letting us know about the helpfulness of our staff and that you enjoyed the breakfast and our overall hotel location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
4.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 26 in Alajuela
849 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#6 of 26 in Alajuela
306 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#8 of 26 in Alajuela
302 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
680 reviews
3.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Property: Hotel La Rosa de America
Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing