We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Stayed at this hotel our first and last nights in Costa Rica - it was great. The setting was beautiful, service wonderful, everyone was very helpful. Nearby restaurants were great. Should definitely learn a little Spanish before coming to CR. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLiz0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    199
    51
    15
    4
See reviews for
206
271
59
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed here with my family of five, the night before our flight back to Canada. It was okay.

Positives - beautiful grounds, nice woman at reception, has a pool, breakfast was nice

Negatives - room kind of smelled bad, decor/bedding was a bit outdated and "old lady-ish" (as my husband likes to say), pool chairs were old and broken, restaurant they recommended was bad, and worst of all was the shower (big long sign to tell you it is eco-friendly, and how to use it, but we still couldn't get it working and what am I going to do? Get all dressed again or go to the front desk naked?). The room, which is for five people, was small with no division really between us and I was up all night listening to the sounds of my 5 year old, who is apparently a noisy sleeper.

Note that the pool is very deep and so maybe not the best for small children, but they still had fun.

The directions on the website are helpful but need to be expanded for people who are coming from other places, e.g., the caribbean coast.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advocate Harbour, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

La Rosa is a real value added accomodations when you look at what you are paying for and what you get. We stayed for a week at La Rosa on a two week vacation in Costa Rica. Set in a wonderful garden the units are clean and restful. You get secure parking for your rental vehicle if you have one. Things we enjoyed were the sound of the birds early in the morning, which abound in the many trees and shrubs on the grounds. The breakfast that was included with lots of fresh fruits, banana bread and juice and coffee. You can also have eggs and breads and if you want to head out early they make up a breakfast bag and put it outside your unit on a chair awaiting your wake-up, plus they have hot coffee outside the breakfast area if you get there before they open at 7:30 am. Just walking the grounds and enjoying the flowers, a couple of different types of mangoes growing in prufusion in a couple of the trees. The good supply of towels and the pool just outside our door with the underwater light which made for nice evenings by the pool. And of course the always helpful Robert and Grisska. As a example, when my wife got a stiff neck after a flight on one of the small planes from Golfito, they quickly arranged for a professional massage right in the room. They also arranged our car rental and had us picked up at the airport. Other things - We enjoyed being able to go get a bottle of wine and sit by the pool in the evenings after busy days exploring. The big fluffy towels were a nice touch as they were changed every day. Fresh flowers in the room another nice touch. Situated in a residential area it was nice to take the short walk to Cherry's, a local bar and restaurant which has a lot of locals that frequent it, plus of course us visitors - plus there were a number of other restaurants in walking distance.

We did have some issues with getting hot water, but they did thier best to deal with that and one night out of seven was noisy when a large group of kids arrived. But when you look at the price and all the extras, it is very much worth those minor inconveniences. You have to remember you are travelling in Central America, you arent paying big hotel rates and you are enjoying more a of a slice of real Costa Rica here. If you have spent some time travelling Latin American countries you really come to appreciate what a place like La Rosa offers - you will be aware that things are different here, as they should be!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayakdover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Stayed here upon arrival in San Jose for 2 nights and then the last night.; in doing so we also got , a tour and a pick up at the airport (see web site for packages.) What a nice surprise for a budget hotel! We got in late , after the office closed, but were greeted warmly by night staff . The grounds are lovely, the pool was fine, the room was clean and and comfortable, the breakfast was good --lots of fresh fruit-- and the owner and staff were great at answering questions and offering assistance.. The hotel is a bit out of the way if you do not have a car but there are good restaurnts close by--even in walking distance. The location seems safe and quiet. It was comforting to come back and spend our last night after touring a wonderful country for 8 days.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grover33Raleigh_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

I don’t understand why so many travelers stay only one night at Hotel la Rosa de America. Yes, it’s advertised as an alternative to “airport hotels” in Alajuela/ San Jose but it deserves a reputation for more than that.
My husband and I stayed for five nights at the beginning of February before flying back to Canada...........family emergency upon arrival back home delayed this review.
The grounds are beautiful – not large but lovely; the cabinas modern and ultra clean with wonderful bathrooms; the atmosphere relaxing; the service attentive and the staff friendly and knowledgeable (thanks, Grisska). Beds are comfy. Evenings quiet.
Breakfast is buffet style with fruit, juice, bread, cereal, scrambled eggs and Doka coffee served in a lovely dining room. Sitting around the pool is relaxing even if you don’t swim.
We did not rent a car during our month’s stay in Costa Rica so were looking for places with bus and taxi access. Taxi to the airport was $15:00 We walked around the corner and a few metres up the street to several good restaurants .Up and around that same corner, buses regularly go into Alajuela or San Jose. We walked to Zoo Ave. We hired a guide(early morning bag lunch provided by the hotel) and birded near Poas and La Pas for a day. Another day we hired a driver/guide and toured the Orosi Valley and the Route of the Saints.
It is a place that I would go back as many times as I can get to Costa Rica. Well done, Robert...a superb, small, unique hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy4Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumheller, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

I booked at the Hotel la Rosa de America for the beginning,middle and end of my holiday. The staff werevery friendly and helpful with making travel arrangements, and the grounds were beautiful and I found it a very pleasant,and relaxing. Much more to my taste than a cookie cutter American style resort hotel. Very convenient for the airport.

I am the "other traveller" referred to in a previous review. Certainly, they made a mistake with my reservation, but admitted it and immediately found an alternative place for me to stay ,and paid for my taxi there. To me , this situation was in the category of things happen, but if you admit a mistake, and take steps to rectify it, all is forgiven.
The ecofriendly, hot water on demand system is different, but works fine once you figure it out.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starfly27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Nothing special as a place to stay - we used it for our final night before heading home the next day on an early flight. Them messed up our reservation for a family suite for 4 (instead giving it to a group that had a change in numbers), so we were stuck in a tiny room. Don't know when they knew they gave our room to someone else, and if in advance they should have told us so we could decide what to do. Weren't as apologetic as I would have thought, and kind of made it seem like they were doing us a favor by only charging us the rate for the room we got, not the one they gave away. While we were there, another traveler had his reservation completely gone, and had to leave. Other small things - no hot water in room, so they charged $1.25 for a cup of tea in their office. Seems cheap. Also, safe in room cost $3/day. I've never seen a charge for a safe, and it was very small - too small for a laptop. We dealt with the owner who was a nice enough guy, said he had to recently let someone go, I believe due to problems with reservations. I'll say.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gdw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
Every once in a while, despite best efforts, some days just don't seem to "go right". Fortunately at Hotel La Rosa, we pride ourselves on having exceptionally few of these. Sadly, the day referred to by this guest was one of those days.
We have not achieved success by making excuses for our mistakes, therefore, for the error in this guest's reservation, please again accept our apologies. You are correct, we were forced to alter the room assignment due to an error from an external agency with whom we have a contract. By the time we found out, it was much too late and our hotel was already completely full. We had to make a difficult choice and we did our best to honour your reservation within our hotel. We knew that every quality hotel of similar cost and quality was already fully booked as well. In changing the room assignment we did in fact reduce the charge to the guest approximately 38% and in fact the room given was actually our largest quad room and was considered our family room prior to the creation of our suites last year.
We would be happy to have notified the guest in advance however, again, we did not have time and the guest was already in the country. With considered respect to the guest's personal feelings about the room change, and resulting customer service, it was the hotel owner personally who dealt with the problem and who took full responsibility for it. Unfortunately, there is not much more that a hotel can do after involving the Owner directly. If there was continuing dissatisfaction at that time, then as the Owner, I would have been absolutely happy to discuss it and do our best to make it right for the guest.
With reference to the charge for the cup of tea and the nominal safe charge rental, they are simply both minimal charges for a hotel. The actual cost for a cup of tea at La Rosa is $1.00 not $1.25 and that price is far below all of our local competitors for similar service. It is not known to me why the guest felt that she had to drink the tea in our reception area. There is no restriction whatsoever for eating nor drinking throughout the hotel with the exception of glass at the pool. (for this we have plastic dishes) With regard to the safe, the daily rate is $2.00 as the safes are key access, not electronic. However, any guest wishing to store virtually anything securely can do so free of cost up at reception. This is the first complaint in four years that we have received regarding our safes, however if we receive more we will certainly revisit our hotel policies on this matter.
Again the guest is correct regarding a second reservation with a different guest. As mentioned earlier, we pride ourselves on our customer service and to make an error such as what happened to the second guest is quite shocking to us - especially on the same day and we have taken immediate internal steps to ensure it doesn't happen again including retraining of existing desk staff and a reorganization of the reservation booking procedure. However, that said, I think it is far more important to focus on how a situation is resolved rather than the initial error - as no matter how hard we try, errors are... well, human.
What this guest did not see is how we handled the situation. The guest in question, was a past guest and remains a future guest at our hotel. In fact he will be returning shortly to stay with us. We believe this is a testament to our customer service and our desire to correct any mistakes made, not just by us but by other organizations as well. We really do want our guests to enjoy themselves in Costa Rica. In short, we managed to locate a single room in an area he needed to travel to, we paid for his transportation in a private transfer, and we secured a hotel level discount on that room in partial compensation for his inconvenience.

We would again like to emphasize that we do feel that this guest did not receive the level of service that we would have liked to give with respect to the required change of room from a suite to a quad room. Compounding this situation was the extreme busy nature of the afternoon in question. However we feel that we did everything reasonable to accommodate for the situation the guest found herself in - through no fault of her own. We are continuing to make changes in an effort to ensure that days like this one don't repeat themselves!

Best Regards;
Robert Hick
Owner
Hotel La Rosa de America
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
4.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#6 of 27 in Alajuela
302 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
298 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
674 reviews
3.7 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Property: Hotel La Rosa de America
Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alajuela
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing