We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Pura Vida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pura Vida Hotel
Ranked #1 of 63 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2009

This was an excellent choice for our first and last day in country. Took a 5-10 min taxi ride to hotel. Our rental car was delivered at breakfast, all arranged by Berni. On the last day we just gave him the keys and he took are of everything. This place is amazing. I cant say enough about it. The only negative is we got spoiled on the first night in counrty and no where else compares to it. Staff was helpful and gracious. Rooms were clean, roomy, functional, with many extra special touches like magazines and ear plugs. Gardens were beautiful. Some on posts complained of noise as its near the street but after staying in the rainforest for a week (thats noisy, bugs, monkeys, dogs etc.) we didnt find the noise bothersome at all. We felt very safe and sucure. The food was simply amazing. That said all the food in CR was great but thier food really stood out. The chef could easily cook for any restaraunt in NY or LA. Great value. Highly recommend as a gateway for getting in and out of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palapas_rule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 783 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Pura Vida at the beginning and end of our trip. The rooms were really nice,very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the big dogs running around and our day trip from the hotel to Poas Volcano.. Everyone that we met that works there was really nice and very helpful. Berni is doing so much to help the local school children and we think that is really cool.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karmagrl108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alajuelanorth, Manager at Pura Vida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2009

Thanks for the nice review. I want to expand a little on the topic your raise about working with Costa Rican public schools and your visit.

Schools in Costa Rica work differently than what you may have experienced. One aspect we (and our guests) work with is the severe shortage of books - the esential unaffordability of a $15 text book in an economy that is supported by $2 an hour wages.

There are many reasons for the shortage of books and the lack of a reading habit that is an indirect spin off of the culture. Yet this is a culture that is more committed to their children than most. And a culture that is proud of it's history of pacifism, healthcare and literacy. How is it possible to have one of the highest literacy rates on the planet (around 97%) and almost no libraries and few books? But how do YOU define literacy?

The good news is that Costa Rica is currently ranked #1 in a 2009 survey of primary school enrollment.

But what has that gor to do with literacy? Here it essentially means the child can "read and write". But when mandatory schooling stops at age 15, when there is a very low graduation rate and no books what is the likelihood that you will later bump into Kafka or Marquez or understand what a 48% interest rate really means on that first refrigerator you buy?

How will you grasp the significance of the precedents for the Geneva convention or even the history of evolution.

Kids can and DO graduate from school life with very little access to books. They are just too expensive and take a beating in the wet and creature filled neo-tropics. For the last few years we have had good success cajoling our guests to bring some books for the kids along with their luggage.

These books have been donated to Escuela Tuetal Sur which is located in a small modest rural community just north of Alajuela.

We also lately have been working donations for the Escuela Poasito (destroyed in the Jan 8th 2009 earthquake epicentered near the village on the slopes of Poas volcano). Our focus at Poasito school is to find old laptops people no longer need and get a computer lab started as it is so much harder to find the correct books.

These are "almost" typical public primary schools - kindergarten through age 12. Tuetal Sur school has 350 children this year and Poasito has 250. If we get books more suitable for older kids, these are now going to Colegio Tuetal Norte - the closest high school about 1km from the hotel. The colegio has 510 children this year and a library with less than 300 old tattered useless books.

The education and literacy issue is a complex one but here are a few local factoids. In Costa Rica, the government (MEP - Ministry of Education) provides the teachers but the neighborhood must find ways to house them (build classrooms, assembly areas, toilets and the like).

Most schools do not have libraries and there is no funding for such. The children are fed their main meal of the day for the equivalent of 25 cents (US) or about 140 colones. The schools have very few supplies (by comparison to what you may be used to) and in many poor rural neighborhoods the parents are unable to afford to help. Kids drop out of "colegio (high school)" early or do not graduate in part due to the inability to afford books and uniforms.

Thanks to the efforts of the school staff and the help of some of the gringo visitors a library is now an active part of school life at Escuela Tuetal Sur. Poasito has a couple of laptops and computer supplies and luckily a local high speed internet connection but as yet no internet access.

Both schools are "model schools" in many ways but most of all through their management. The directors of both schools have a tremendous commitment to education, are leaders in their villages and are held up as models for schools for many miles around. They make a very interesting visit for anyone interested in education.

To date our guests have donated many books as well as a large amount of school supplies. Contact the hotel for a list of the things that are needed. You'd be very welcome to deliver them yourselves to either school. Escuela Tuetal Sur is 1km from the hotel gates and Escuela Poasito is on the slopes of Poas Volcano on your way back from visiting the volcano park. We'd be happy to introduce you to either. Thanks again for visiting and taking time with the kids - the future stewards of the national parks and reserves you'll be visiting this trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Within a few minutes drive of the airport Pura Vida is a hidden gem - a quiet hotel, excellently run by a caring team. Excellent, clean accomodation and superb breakfasts, what more could one ask for? A great place to start your holiday after a long flight.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DilkushaBude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Wonderful find of a hotel. I loved staying here and felt immediately welcomed and at home. Berni, Nhi and their staff go way above and beyond to make you feel comfortable and do so many little things to make your stay so great.
Berni saved me $45 in taxi fares when a taxi driver tried to rip me off because he got lost ! I was upgraded to a beautiful Casita on my first night and to a huge room on my return visit.
Nhi's food is not to be missed and rivals any 5 star restaurant and is served on their patio overlooking their lush gardens. Feels like paradise.
This is a fabulous place to have as a base or the very least to use to fly in and out of Costa Rica. Berni has some great suggestions for day trips and, as they are very involved in the community, can give you loads of information and interesting stories.
I had a very active holiday around Costa Rica and stayed in some hot, humid and out of the way places, all very enjoyable in their own way but it was blissful returning to Pura Vida for my last night. I returned to a delicious dinner and a hot shower and a very comfortable and dry! bed. Do not miss a chance to stay here!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nolauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

convenient, friendly, clean, gorgeous grounds, awesome dogs, amazing breakfast, and priced just right. a great place to start or end your vacation in costa rica. only downside is the street noise.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joesob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

There are many beautiful places to stay in Costa Rica, but this is the ONE all must visit! You'll have a free p/u from the San Jose airport and will be greeted by the friendliest dogs ever. Berni and Nhi and the consummate hosts. There is not one detail they left out. You want a romantic evening? Light the candles provided for you in the room! Not a fan of a rooster waking you up? Put in the best ear plugs ever! Need your morning coffee but want to do it naked (I don't know why, but it's fun to think about!)? Go ahead and brew some great coffee in your room (at no extra charge, mind you). Oh, and you just can't go w/o that hot shower, this is the place for you! I loved the gardens, the people, the place, everything. I was ready to just stay and be part of their staff! Oh, and Nhi cooks the most amazing meals you will have on your trip!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Berni, Nhi and the entire staff were wonderful - even the dogs were a pleasant addition. The gardens are gorgeous, the food is spectacular (breakfast comes with the room, but if you want a gourmet dinner then be sure to pay the additional fees for these meals put together by Nhi). The only downside is that it is off a busy street and you can hear the traffic some nights - but the owners have supplied you with free earplugs if needed), It truly is a garden oasis in the center of a town. And, if you can't get your GPS working, just pay a taxi cab driver to find the hotel and then follow him. We did this and it only cost $3.00US. I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noname15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
689 reviews
2.1 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
890 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#8 of 27 in Alajuela
368 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 27 in Alajuela
134 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#1 of 1 in Pilas
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hotel

Address: Tuetal Sur | 4km North of SJO International Airport, Alajuela 20101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range: $99 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pura Vida Hotel is located 4km north of the SJO International airport - we provide a free taxi pickup for international arrivals. Breakfast is included and an excellent dinner is available with reservations (or late meals for late arrivals). Touring services include car rentals delivered here, private vans and as much touring advice as you wish - we are experts on Costa Rica. We have arrangements with Toyota Car Rental for deals on car rentals. Our idea is simply that this is a place we would like to stay at when we travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pura Vida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Alajuela
Hotel Pura Vida
Pura Vida Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing