We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pura Vida Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Rosa de America(Alajuela)
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Brilla Sol Airport(Alajuela)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$72
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
826 results
Traveler rating
707
81
23
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
81
23
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvolcano roomkatydid casitagerman shepherdslocal schoolbread puddingcosta ricalast nighttoucan roomrental carlarge germangourmet dinnersan josefarmers marketwealth of knowledgepoas volcanoyogurtclose to the airport
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 826 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2017

Our family stayed in the Katydid casita on the first and last nights of our Costa Rican adventure. The Pura Vida was a great place to do this because Berni, Nhi, and their staff made the transition easier with their newbie-friendly policies and perks. The breakfasts and dinners were wonderful, and I especially appreciated when Nhi adjusted her plans at the last minute to accommodate my vegetarian diet, which had somehow not been mentioned in our reservation! Our 9- and 11-year-old children absolutely fell in love with the dogs and couldn't wait to go back and see them at the end of our trip. We recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The Katydid was large and good for a family, but quite noisy as it's next to the road.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madameclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the Toucan room on the last night of our honeymoon which was huge and very comfortable, with its own little lounge/kitchen and patio with table and chairs. All the rooms look out on to the most amazing tropical gardens which we spent half a day exploring and lounging around before we had to leave. You wouldn't guess how big the gardens are from the outside driving past.

The owners Berni and his wife Nhi made the stay though, with Berni having us in stitches on many occasions and taking his time to give us a guided tour of the gardens. He's a real character! The lovely Nhi is the chef and made an absolutely delicious 3 course Asian fusion dinner - the best meal we had in the whole of our Costa Rican stay. The wine was great too and all the ingredients are fresh from the market that day.

What did it for us though was the two incredible alsatian dogs, Ziva and Bandito, who are super friendly and were always up for a stroke or a game of fetch. We would definitively go back next time we are in Costa Rica but stay for longer than one night and explore some of the surrounding area. If you are staying near to the airport this surely the only choice!

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alajuelanorth, Manager at Pura Vida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2017

Thanks Jeremy for the nice review, you are of course welcome back anytime and I know for sure Bandito and Ziva agree :-)) Berni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2017

Came to Costa Rica on a business trip and all of the usual chain hotels that I typically stay at were booked. Found this place to stay at the last minute and was so glad I did. Hosts were very friendly and personable. Private cottage was very spacious with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living area and full kitchen. The food was excellent as well. Wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alajuelanorth, Manager at Pura Vida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2017

Thanks for the review. We are getting more and more business travelers who when given the choice of us or the Marriott prefer a small personal place just out of town but close enough to the airport and facilities. Thanks for the review, Berni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2017

Everything you have read in the previous reviews is true. The hotel is unique, has super helpful owners, great food, and two friendly dogs. This is not your run on the mill airport hotel by any stretch of the imagination but more of an retreat that helps to ease you into the Costa Rican way of life. Bernie is a wealth of knowledge and can help you arrange just about anything. One and only minor draw back is the road noise at night, it really didn't bother us but if you are a light sleeper you might want to use the ear plugs supplied in the room. Next time we visit this beautiful country we will be sure to stay at Pura Vida again.

Room Tip: some of the rooms have outdoor sitting areas
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RaseBanun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alajuelanorth, Manager at Pura Vida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2017

We do appreciate your review Ernie and thanks for coming - we do try our darndest to help guests, particularly first timers in Costa Rica, find their way into the country. That is the kind of place we look for when we travel to new places. Thank you, Berni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017

My family and I just returned from an amazing 10 day trip to CR. And that amazing feeling kicked in from the minute we stepped into the tropical haven called Pura Vida hotel. What a magical kingdom of verdant beauty Bernie and his team have created behind the high walls and gates of PV. We got to stay in a lovely two bedroom cottage done up so very tastefully. The masterstroke was the little breakfast alcove, with its ceiling to floor glass windows, just off of the kitchen. We sat there sipping our morning tea and listening to the happy sounds of the myriad birds flitting around and watching their two dogs (Bandit and Zeba) gambol contentedly. The grounds of PV have been landscaped to create a sense of complete harmony with nature.
Bernie was a terrific host -- besides giving us restaurant recos for dinner, he took the time to discuss driving options to our next destination (and things to see on the way) and also provided us with a very valuable contact for a guide in Monteverde.
The breakfast area was charmingly done up. And the offering of fresh fruits, toast, cereal, yoghurt.. was a perfect way to start the day. In fact, I don't remember ever seeing a fruit platter presented in a more attractive manner.
In summary, absolutely LOVED this place. My biggest regret was that we got to spend just one night at this gorgeous property and had to set off on our road trip right after breakfast the next day. If I am fortunate enough to visit CR again, I will make a beeline for this place and plan to stay for at least two nights.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaliniM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alajuelanorth, Manager at Pura Vida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2017

Thanks for reviewing us Nalini, you have a delightful family and guests like yourselves make our job pretty darn cool! Thanks again, Berni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews