We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must stay here...”
Review of Pura Vida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pura Vida Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“You must stay here...”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have stayed at Pura Vida for the past two years on our entry and departure from
our Costa Rican holidays, and have received great travel information from Bernie who
has given us excellent ideas as to where to stay and visit throughout Costa Rica.as well as
arranging car rentals etc, the Meals here were superb, rooms were great, everything extremely
well appointed and well thought out. Cant thank them enough... hope to return soon. If you plan to travel to costa Rica, don't miss this experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    80
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
222
341
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We arrived early after an overnight flight(7am) and had a delightful breakfast, then were able to check in early. The gourmet dinner later that evening, prepared and served by Nhi and Berni was superb! Room, food, service was everything we hoped for. But best of all- the help we received before we arrived, with touring ideas and suggestions. They asked our interests, then paired us up with a guide for a few days of birding before and after our planned tour. Alexis was terrific, and we saw more rare birds and butterflies than we did on our 10 day tour afterward! Many thanks for a wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: Read the descriptions and ask Berni!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alajuelanorth, Manager at Pura Vida Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thanks for the great review! Alexis is indeed a most excellent guide - he spent years in the coffee business and today, on his farm, grows pupaes for butterfly attractions in Costa Rica. His flora and fauna knowledge is often called on when someone can't identify something or needs an expert in some field - we have had the pleasure to work with him for many years and whenever I am stumped on something in the garden he's the first person I go to. Just as an example, a passion vine which does not give any fruit (but has given us 10's of thousands of flowers over the years) one day pollinated and gave us a unique form of passion fruit I had never seen. Alexis when shown the fruit immediately knew which bee likely did it and that it did not live in our area but must have been blown in on a wind some time previously.

One thing I do want to note for other future guests - we do a number of trips here that are not entirely predictable - such as the birding trip Alexis put together for you or our "my village tour" put on by another of our excellent guides. We can never guarantee what will happen with these trips which we put together based on special local knowledge. We may not know exactly where the Quetzals are but we probably know where their food is. We know about the now very rare working trapiche (ancient sugar processing with oxen driven grinder) but it doesn't run like clockwork every day. We know of a very wonderful coffee farmer doing interesting organic work but he will not be there every day as he is a coffee farmer not a formal tourist attraction. We will endeavor to put together a fabulous day based on what you tell us but unlike the crocodiles at Disney, our crocs do not open and close their snouts on queue :-)) Whatever happens on your day with one of our guides it WILL be interesting though.

Thanks again and glad we could help!
Berni
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The owner, Bernie, gave us exceptional attention; not to much, not to little. Small touches, such as fresh flowers in our room and on the dining table, were impressive. Bernie is intelligent, kind, and friendly. He is honest and frank in speech and a bit of a scholar on the history of Costa Rica. His love of the region is apparent. His small staff is equally impressive: courteous, intelligent--sort of like the butler in a P.G. Woodhouse story. I am confident you will enjoy staying at the Pura Vida.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 relatively quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alajuelanorth, Manager at Pura Vida Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
I find it very hard to disagree with a word you say :-)) Gracias and thanks for taking the time to say it!

Berni
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My mom and I visited Costa Rica in Februrary 2014. Pura Vida was our home on our first and last days there. We stayed in the Katydid cottage the first night, and the Mariposa on the last night. Both rooms were beautiful, clean, inviting, spacious and oh-so peaceful. Personal hammocks?!? Need I say more? Berni and his team facilitated our car rental with an English speaking Toyota agent - without a hitch. Both days we came in hours before the check-in time with no problems, Carlos made us comfortable in their beautiful outdoor dining area until the rooms were ready (which was not long at all!) The power went out in Alajuela the morning I was flying out (5am) and Berni came down to find me with a flashlight to ensure I got in a taxi and made my flight. The breakfasts were delicious and they even packed me a to-go lunch for my early morning. I can't imagine a more wonderful place to start and finish our Tico adventure. It was truly a wonderful experience and I will definitely be returning one day.

Felicia & Mary

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alajuelanorth, Manager at Pura Vida Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thanks Felicia & Mary for the really nice review.
We look forward to you joining the many returnees we see every year, thank you again,

Berni
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We recently stayed at the Pura Vida on our last day in Costa Rica. This small bed and breakfast has our highest recommendation and we can be particular. We stayed in the Volcano Room and could not have been more pleased. The room was spacious and well appointed. The room has a balcony overlooking the volcano.

The owner, Bernie, provides a wealth of information to all prospective guests in advance of their stay. Wifi is included at no cost. By the way, he has a delightful sense of humor and goes out of his way to make his guests comfortable. If you have an early morning flight from San Jose, Bernie will be waiting for you to call a cab and provide you with a to go breakfast. The hotel dogs are great.

Do not miss the gourmet dinner prepared by his lovely wife. It will be one of the best, if not the best,meals you will have in Costa Rica. It is a three course fixed priced feast. The meal is prepared with fresh ingredients obtained at the market that day. An intimate dinner at the hotel after a long day of travel makes the stay even more rewarding.

The property is located a short distance to the airport in Alajuela. It is located on a former coffee finca. The grounds are lush and beautiful.

The only negative is some traffic noise during rush hour. The noise dissipates as the evening progresses and does not interfere with sleep. Both the beds and pillows are well above average.

Why stay at some impersonal hotel chain when you can be engaged with hospitality and warmth by some truly kind and caring innkeepers in a lovely setting at a reasonable price?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luigi53SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed in this beautiful oasis on our last night in Costa Rica. I selected it based upon its proximity to the airport (less than 10 minute drive) as well as the wonderful reviews. It did not disappoint. In fact, the only disappointment was ours, that we did not have more time there. In hindsight, I would have scheduled our first night there as well, as they had wonderful information available about Costa Rica which I think would have been helpful in the transition to the trip. We were a family of four traveling for the week, and requested to have dinner at the hotel that evening. Knowing that we had kids in tow, they were very accommodating in the menu for that night. It was wonderful - absolutely delicious and fresh and flavorful, while also being "kid-friendly". Berni was kind enough to arrange for our taxi and send us off to the airport at an ungodly hour with bags of portable breakfast food. We very much hope to return and would recommend Pura Vida without hesitation!

Room Tip: There is some traffic noise as well as very early-rising roosters in the vicinity so you may want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katmom43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Arriving at the San Jose airport late at night, wading through the dozens and dozens of cab drivers shouting at you in spanish all trying to get you to take their taxi can be a bit daunting. Pura Vida had e-mailed explicit directions which cab to take, how to find them and a short orange taxi ride, I arrived at the hotel. I was greeted by the owner, given a quick introduction to the hotel and ushered to my room. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. The next morning I awoke refreshed and ready for further travels. The included breakfast is somewhat limited (I am allergic to dairy so the yogurt and bread/cake I could not eat), but the tropical fruit plate and fresh juice was delicious. I did not have dinner here, but from all reports the food is excellent. Take time to walk the gardens of Pura Vida, they are lovely and create a green oasis full of orchids, bougainvillea, herbs and palm trees.. I wondered why there was a basket with earplugs in the bathroom. A word of advice, use them, morning comes early to the tropics and between the loud birds, cicadas, airplanes taking off and landing and traffic noise, it will be an early start for you too, unless you are one of those people who can sleep through anything !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daanddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.1 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
844 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
662 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 27 in Alajuela
680 reviews
2.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.6 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 27 in Alajuela
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hotel

Property: Pura Vida Hotel
Address: Tuetal Sur | 4km North of SJO International Airport, Alajuela 20102, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pura Vida Hotel is located 4km north of the SJO International airport - we provide a free taxi pickup for international arrivals. Breakfast is included and an excellent dinner is available with reservations (or late meals for late arrivals). Touring services include car rentals delivered here, private vans and as much touring advice as you wish - we are experts on Costa Rica. We have arrangements with Toyota Car Rental for deals on car rentals. Our idea is simply that this is a place we would like to stay at when we travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pura Vida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Alajuela
Hotel Pura Vida
Pura Vida Hotel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing